We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bedrooms not 5 star and Restaurant prices ridiculous.”
Review of Le Meridien Munich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien Munich
Ranked #101 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bedrooms not 5 star and Restaurant prices ridiculous.”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We just spent 2 nights at Le Meridien in Munich. The reception area was impressive with large floral decorations with an Easter Theme, bowls of Easter chocolates all added a nice touch. The Spa/Swimming pool is nice although was very busy as the weather was bad and there were not enough loungers or sofas. The pool was freezing. The spa receptionist sent us back to our rooms to change into our robes saying it was too busy and there were not enough lockers.She did not come across very calm or friendly. There were plenty of free lockers when we came back down from changing.
The rooms are large and decor is modern. I found the bed too firm. we had a court yard facing room which i think is slightly better than facing the street . The hotel is in a busy area across from the main Train Station and the side street has a Sleezy Strip Clubs. The bathrooms were large with seperate bath and Shower .Basic toiletries, nothing fancy i always look forward to a treat with nice lotion or a well known brand - no shower cap, basic white soap bar.
Being Easter weekend they had a Special Menu for Dinner at a cost of 72 euros .
The Breakfast cost 28 euros if not included with your booking , we found a lovey little restaurant in the train station , had a good cooked breakfast, coffee, orange juice, fresh croissants ,cheese, Jam, all for 8 euros!
19 euros a day for the internet and 20 euros a day for parking.
Overpriced Restaurant and finishing touches in the bathrooms disappointed me.

Room Tip: Ask for Court yard facing room and don't go to the over priced resturant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnapat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    977
    998
    391
    143
    84
See reviews for
470
932
159
578
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

The Hotel is very well located. Right in front of the main train station and 10 minutes walking distance from the old town. Its location allows easy access to all attraction and transportation.

The hotel is very well designed. The lobby and bar/lounge are very nice and ultra modern. The rooms are also very nice and clean. The pool and spa are very nice and well maintained. This hotel is definitely luxury hotel deserve 4 stars for it infrastructure.

However, Service is lacking professionalism and response time on any call is inexistent. I booked a room with a view on the garden. When i arrived, they told me that i would have to pay upgrade to get this type of room. Even though it was clearly written on my reservation, the receptionist did not want to hear anything. I stayed there for 2 nights. The second day we left the room around 9:00am and came back at 4:30pm. The room was not cleaned. I called room service twice and they never showed up. I eventually had to go down reception to ask for extra towels and replacement blankets.

Finally, even if the price for the room is very reasonable, the restaurant and bar are extremely expensive. A beer will cost you 7 euro and breakfast 28 euro. Also, there is no WI-FI in the room at all. Only lobby offer WI-FI and you still need to pay for it.

I am rating this hotel as 3 stars. The hotel and rooms are really nice, but poor services and non-competitive prices on services. They need to do more effort to bring their services to standard.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olivierp2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I have travelled and still do travel to many many cities and hotels every other week across europe as a business traveller. Although this brand is a good brand and this particular hotel is quite centrally located the facilities are quite outdated and old. I pay particular attention to the rooms and the facilicities and the carpet in the room is quite out of fashion ( very 1980's leopard print). The bathroom is very sterile and uninviting and the amenities put in the room are not quite what I expect within a 5 star hotel. I think for the price the hotel is fine but the hotel across the road - the sofitel is a far nicer , more comfortable and classier hotel. My recommendation is that the rooms are renovated, facilities brought to higher standards and the amenities provided of a higher quality. The carpet could do with a change. The housekeeping staff could be more attentive in how they make the rooms as well and not very haphazardly. The airconiditioning was also very noisy during the night - maintenance should review these and the phones do not work properly sometimes.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coco9090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fee Carolina W, Guest Relations at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Coco90,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at Le Méridien Munich. We appreciate that you like our brand and of course the location of the hotel is hard to beat.

We would like to let you know that we keep updating our rooms floor by floor to make sure they reflect the image of the Le Méridien brand and as part of this process we change the carpet, wallpaper, the bed, the TV’s and do some general fine tuning that certainly make a change. In fact we only just finished another floor a couple of weeks ago, where we also did some nice changes in the bathrooms- out of 8 floors we only have 3 floors which have not undergone a soft refurbishment. We am very sorry that apparently we did not make this clear enough when you checked in. Please do not hesitate to ask for a newly remodeled room for your next stay and I am sure you will find it as chic and comfortable as you would expect from a hotel like ours.

We have forwarded your comments regarding housekeeping and maintenance to the respective managers and promise to look into these issues. Thank you very much for pointing them out to us, we can only improve through feedback from our valued guests!

We hope to welcome you again very soon and remain with best regards from sunny Munich,

Carolina Wahl
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Le Meridien in Munich is top of their class - top service, good location and trendy design.
I felt very pleasant in hotel bar playing lounge music, enjoyed breakfast and my room.
Coming back from beergarten after midnight - and packing for departure early next morning - my safe got blocked - night porter came to my room within minutes - and as he was not able to open it promised he would call technician early in the morning. 6.30. Technician was in my room - and safe opened.
I have to admit I was worried he would be late and I might have problems with my flight - but all was as promised and I really appreciate it.
Reliable service is what puts this hotel over other hotels in the Starwood group I stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nama j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fee Carolina W, Guest Relations at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear nama j,
We were delighted to read your review, thank you very much! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our services and hope that you got back home safely.
We have forwarded your comments to the night staff and the engineers – they were glad they could help!
It would be fantastic to have you back again soon!
All the best,

Fee Carolina Wahl
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

A hotel with excellent location just in front of the main railway station in Munich. The double room was quite spacious and well equipped with necessities. The only drawback in the room is lack of wireless internet and also charging guests for the internet. The cost of the room included enjoying a breakfast buffet which was quite satisfying. When using the business center which was a bit cozy, you also needed to pay for the internet apart from the first 15 minutes.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NanaMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Recently stayed at Le Meridien and was extremely impressed by the service received starting with the check-in and continuing throughout my stay in the restaurant and bar. Stayed in one of their upgraded rooms overlooking the courtyard. The room was extremely nice and very quiet. The train station is immediately across the street and within walking distance of most of the major attractions within Munich. Probably the only disappointment was the lack of Wi-Fi in the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fee Carolina W, Guest Relations at Le Meridien Munich, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear James R,

Thank you very much for your review! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time here at the Le Méridien and that we delivered excellent service in all departments!

I am pleased to let you know that we are working on a solution for the Wi-Fi in the rooms and will get it installed very soon!

We hope to welcome you back soon again and wish you all the best.

Best regards,
Carolina Wahl
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

If coming from airport get the train (10 euros each). Taxi 61 euros and station is right across street.

Rooms have opening doors for fresh air but book garden view. Reception were very frienfly and Consierge was fantastic. for the quiet.

Don't have breakfast - too expensive. Eat in Karstatd restaurant just up road - two breakfast for less than one at hotel

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Creswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 km away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.5 km away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#21 of 382 in Munich
580 reviews
0.1 km away
Aloft Munich
Aloft Munich
#22 of 382 in Munich
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 382 in Munich
1,539 reviews
0.2 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center
3.2 km away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 382 in Munich
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Munich

Property: Le Meridien Munich
Address: Bayerstr. 41, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Munich
#44 Business Hotel in Munich
#53 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#54 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#77 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Munich 5*
Number of rooms: 381
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Meridien Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Munich Hotel Munich
Munich Le Meridien
Meridien Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing