We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Deutsche Eiche
Ranked #94 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
93 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“great”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Just got back from 4 day holiday in Munich. This hotel was great. I arrived lat around 8pm ,, no problem,, the room I asked for on upper floors and non smoking,, as requested. It was fairly easy to find ( if you print out Google map ). The reception was clean easy and friendly , efficient and helpful. The room was amazing, great design clean and warm ( it was -5C outside). Breakfast in reasturent good and relaxed and never crowded. Good fast free wifi. Towels were changed every day ,, even though hung them up and folded them . Free bottled water,,, It would be nice to have small fridge in room , but as it was freezing outside ,, setting drinks outside was just as good. Left at 6 am again no problem reception. Its a very relaxed hotel with relaxed attitude, with couples , you and elderly mixed straight and gay .Would recommend to anyone

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors quieter and roof top view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebarav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    128
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
11
108
67
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hagley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I stayed here with my partner over a long weekend for business and pleasure. We had a standard room, which wasn't that cheap admittedly, but you could not fault it. Plenty of room, lovely modern bathroom with bath and separate shower, free internet, free minibar (limited but nice gesture). Breakfast was included and whilst basic, it was easily adequate.

The hotel is above the Eiche restaurant and bar (where breakfast is served) which is also really good, great value and a lovely atmosphere. The sauna (a gay sauna) that is also attached is great for those of that persuasion but I think they could afford a slightly better discount for hotel guests.

Location wise, you cannot beat it. Marienplatz is a 5-10 minute walk away and the Viktualienmarkt is well worth a visit (closed Sundays though).

Room Tip: Lift is slow so lower floor may be best, but then lower floors tend to be noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hillpudlian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Hotel Deutsche Eiche is a great little hotel near the center of Munich. It is only a block away from the Viktualienmarkt and easy walking distance of the Marienplatz. It is also easy to get to the hotel from the Munich Airport by taking the S Bahn 8 to Isartor and walking 3 blocks.

The room was very nice and well appointed. The room very clean and comfortable. The hotel breakfast that came with the room was very good and dinner was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed two nights, Really enjoyed the hotel and the dinner special at the restaurant was great only 6.50 Euros. The hotel was very clean and very modern. The bathroom was great with a glass sink that was lighted with a neon light and very large stand-up shower with great water pressure! I would love to stay at this hotel again. The location is great and only about 5 min walk to the glockenspiel and outdoor farmers/market area. There are two full markets at the end of the block and several places to eat in the area. I can't wait to visit again. There was no bother with the sauna in the hotel. The staff was very nice.

Room Tip: The top floor has block out window shades that made the room very dark to sleep in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justflt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I stayed here for 7nights in November 2011.
The staff were very friendly and offered advice about the local scene. The food available at breakfast was cooked to perfection. The room was uber-cool with sexy frosted glass splash-backs in the bathroom - very cool, also I liked the stone flooring, which added to the atmosphere. Great location being in the heart of gay munich, a short stroll from Marienplatz and all of its shopping, and munich central railway station.
I must say, those pillows are awesome :)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We spent 4 nights at the Deutsche Eiche and had a wonderful time! The hotel is located in the heart of the gay district, right next to Viktualienmarkt. The rooms are clean and well appointed. Thick curtains are good for late morning sleepers. There is no fridge in the standard rooms. We booked a double room and ended up with two single mattress side by side. Being just friends, this was perfect for us but can be challenging for couples. As North Americans, we're not used to this configuration. Despite the fact that the bathhouse is attached to the hotel, I would recommend this hotel to straight travellers both male and female. There is no trash feeling about it what so ever as we would expect, again as North American. The hotel restaurant is very good, filled every day with business people at lunch.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtrvler76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

I loved this place! I stayed here for 7 nights with my partner and whilst we didn't use the sauna, the staff were very friendly, the breakfast was great, rooms are nice and the location is perfect for exploring gay Munich and beyond. The only drawback is that the lift is a bit of a squeeze, especially if you have big cases but the stairs are pretty easygoing to get to the 1st or 2nd floors.

On the whole, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zack33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#17 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel am Viktualienmarkt
Hotel am Viktualienmarkt
#108 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.2 km away
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
0.4 km away
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#67 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deutsche Eiche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deutsche Eiche

Property: Hotel Deutsche Eiche
Address: Reichenbachstr. 13 | Gärtnerplatzviertel, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#61 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Deutsche Eiche 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotel.de, HRS, Priceline, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Deutsche Eiche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deutsche Eiche Hotel
Deutsche Eiche Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing