We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice rooms, bad atmosphere and service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Helvetia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Helvetia
Ranked #228 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, bad atmosphere and service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

The hotel rooms are nice, and it is renovated beautifully comparing to the price.
But, there was no internet in our room. there was simply no signal, only in the hall. this was very important for us and we wanted to change the room. no other room was available.
We then agreed with the person at the from desk that we will be able to surf the internet from the hall without extra charge, but when checking out - we were asked to pay! the desk guy argued with us and was very impatient. that was not pleasant at all.
The rooms are not very clean, beneath the bed there is tons of dust, the window was small, and the cups and coffee was not cleaned and refilled every day.
Location is close to center, but the neighborhood is not so good, not for the sensitive soul.
bottom line - I am not coming back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blink188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    122
    56
    19
    13
See reviews for
33
72
25
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

You would not expect this to be such a stylish place from the look of the other seedy establishments near by but we were very pleased with the room and breakfast room.
A stones throw from the train station, metro and trams makes it a great base to go out exploring the city from. The triple was a bit tight so try to go for twins if possible.

There is not much else on offer at this hotel apart from bed and breakfast but it is good deal which leaves money for german beer.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MixMasterMoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

This was a great wee place to stay. You couldn't swing a cat in the room but there was a sort of ante-room area split off by a chalet-style beam with table and desk, leading into bathroom. It has a kind of alpine theme with frieze of skiers on the wall. All in all it was pretty modern and comfy if a bit cramped.

We got it on a deal for three nights and it was good value. Flat-screen TV, comfy bed and decent breakfast. All the fittings were new and it was spotlessly clean. It is a stones throw from the railway station and a 5 minute walk into town.

Strangely though, we were awoken during the night by a drunk American who somehow had got onto an adjacent roof amid a thunder storm and couldn't get off. That apart, it was a peaceful and tidy place to spend a few days. As long as the crazy guy is off the roof!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marvellousmarvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2011

Well this hotel is never going to win loads of awards, but...it does have a lot going for it. Mainly it's location, literally across the street from the train stations and no more than 5-10 mins walk into the Marienplatz, the city centre.

True that further down the road it is on is the more seedy parts of Munich, but just don't go down there if you're not interested. Simple.

My room was on the third floor and was good. Comfy bed, secure safe and a very nice ensuite, shower was awesome! The Walls are a little on the thin side but didn't bother me too much.

All in all, good quality small hotel situated perfectly to explore the city!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LJM1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2011

My husband and I stayed here for the last 2 nights of a 2-week trip to Bavaria, Austria, and the Czech Republic. We chose this hotel because of the proximity to the train station, price, and the fact that it seemed better than a lot of the other options in this area. Reception was friendly and it was relatively modern with nice decor, but it definitely looks nicer in the pictures than in reality. Out of all the places we stayed during this trip, this one was the least clean. That was our only real complaint, but there's no good reason why a modern hotel in this price range can't put in a little more effort in this respect. (It would have been a 4/5 if it had been clean.) Not terrible, but we probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAwesomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
253 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

Ideally located for weekenders, Helvetia is less than 2 minutes walk to the Central Station Terminus and little more than 5 to the major shopping streets and Rathaus.
Rooms are clean and modern, if a little basic and the bathrooms are very well specified.
Breakfast was a more than generous spread of the continental variety, complete with prosecco for the stronger of stomach.
So far, we were happy, with the exception of one, rather large fly in the ointment. The street the hotel is on, is the beginning of one of the seedier areas of Munich and a number of the businesses are ‘gentlemen’s club’. This was not remotely a problem except for the fact that after about 12am, ‘gentlemen’ began to fall out of the clubs, rather noisily, with quite a bit of singing and banging along the way. This continued until about 4am and meant a very bad nights sleep for my partner and I who had arrived than morning after 18 hours of travel from Singapore – not ideal.
From other reviews on this site, I think this may be a significant issue and should be noted by anyone with children or light sleepers.
Overall, if the sound could be kept out, this would be a great hotel for mid-budget travellers, but as it stands, I cannot recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Project25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

It was really the worth hotel which I ever seen. I do not understand why it has 3 stars rating. The room was extremely small. Beds were dirt - it was really some hair on the beds. After sleeping there I had itch half of the day. Very small window was somewhere in the corner and had a view on some wall, one meter from the window. Air inside room was really strange. I do not recommend to book this hotel. I prepaid for three nights but decided to leave hotel next morning after first night, because it is impossible to live there, it is a house for pigs. Don’t look on the photos of hotel’s rooms. They are really different from actual.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AAndrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 km away
Hotelisssimo Haberstock
Hotelisssimo Haberstock
#151 of 381 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.0 km away
Drei Loewen Hotel
Drei Loewen Hotel
#99 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.0 km away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#232 of 381 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Monaco
Hotel Monaco
#160 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#65 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
0.1 km away
Cocoon Stachus
Cocoon Stachus
#43 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helvetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helvetia

Property: Hotel Helvetia
Address: Schillerstr. 6, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Helvetia 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Helvetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetia Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing