We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,804)
Filter reviews
1,804 results
Traveller rating
1,424
259
72
25
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,424
259
72
25
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rocco forte beautiful hotel heated floors concierge staff separate shower star hotel train station deluxe room spa area rooms are large perfect stay minute walk hotel restaurant breakfast buffet quiet location old city beer garden
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 1,804 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2018

Very cozy family hotel with a soulful atmosphere! Special thanks for the room of the raised category! One minus - a magnificent park in front of the hotel was chosen by local drunks and emigrants. He became very dirty! I hope the authorities of Munich will solve this problem!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Seaside421637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_TCH, PA to General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review of your recent stay at The Charles Hotel in Munich.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time at our hotel to the fullest. We regret that you felt disturbed by the visitors of the Old Botanical Garden and hope you accept our apologies.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Best wishes,
The Charles Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2018

We (family of 6) flew in and out of Munich and stayed here the first two nights and the last night of our 2-week European vacation. Everyone was extremely helpful - from the front desk (the check-in process and holding my son's lost passport!), the concierge (suggested some great restaurants and places to see in Munich), and the doormen (one of which figured out how to pack 6 bags in our VW minivan, the configuration of which was INVALUABLE for the rest of the trip through Germany, Switzerland, and France). The rooms were great, the breakfast was delicious, and the front patio is a great place to relax, unwind, and drink wine. All in all, a first-class experience.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank nprepelka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_TCH, PA to General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stays at The Charles Hotel and your fantastic review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your time at our hotel to the fullest. Especially your kind comments on the service provided through our Team Member are most appreciated. How wonderful that one of our doorman was able to help you for the rest of your trip by solving your logistic challenges with the car and the luggage.

We hope you enjoyed your time in Europe and that we may welcome you back soon in a not too distant future.

Best wishes,
The Charles Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2018

We stayed here twice in March for 4 nights each stay, first stay was in a junior suite and the second stay was in a room on the top floor with a stunning view over looking the park and historical building across the park, this was an upgrade as an AMEX FHR available benefit which was greatly appreciated. The Blacklane driver from the airport to the hotel informed us that The Charles is his favorite hotel in Munich, and that in addition to the actual building and design, luxury, and attention to details, the people who worked there made it such as special place - he was so right. The hotel is gorgeous, in a perfect location - all the main sights in Munich as easily walkable, the train station is a short walk away, and there are great restaurants nearby as well. The hotel has a superb restaurant as well, where we enjoyed daily breakfast and a lovely dinner one evening.
The rooms were beautiful, perfectly outfitted, exceptionally quiet, had the most comfortable beds, and luxurious baths with separate soaking tubs and large showers.
The attention to detail was quite evident - no expense was spared with the fit and finishes in design, the finest linens, toiletries. The turn down service at night was nice. From first entering the hotel until we departed, each and every staff member we encountered and interacted with (front desk, wait staff, room service, room attendants, concierge, spa staff, bellman) was professional, kind and welcoming, and helpful. This will be the only hotel we consider staying in while visiting Munich. I cannot imagine any better experience in the area. This stay also made us take note of Rocco Forte properties, and we look forward to staying in their other properties - in Berlin in spring.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LosAngelesTraveldiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_TCH, PA to General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stays at The Charles Hotel and your wonderful review.

We are very pleased you took away such positive impressions of your time at our hotel. We are sure you will love our Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome in Berlin as well. Being your favorite hotel Munich is a big honor for us. On behalf of the whole team we would like to thank you for your kind words on our equipment, our food & beverage offers and especially on our service provided through our talented Team Member.

We hope to welcome you back soon in a not too distant future.

Best regards,
The Charles Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2018

We loved our stay here!! It was so convenient to get to from the train station. Our room was gorgeous and we had a very comfortable bed with great A/C. Also, the service was excellent from the front desk, to the restaurant, to the concierge and doormen. The lobby is also beautiful and they have comfortable chairs in the lobby to relax. Overall, I would rank the hotel number one in the city center, as we have stayed at a few other hotels before, three different five star hotels, the Charles Hotel has the edge. It is just simply a beautiful hotel with exceptional service.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Europeantraveler0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_TCH, PA to General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic review of The Charles Hotel. We hope you had a good trip back home.

We are delighted you took away such wonderful impressions during your recent stay with us. It is a special honor to be ranked as your number one hotel in the city, thank you for this great compliment.

We hope to welcome you back soon in a not too distant future.

Best regards,
The Charles Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2018

We have stayed at this hotel twice recently when flying into and out of Europe. The location is opposite the old botanical gardens which contain a large beer garden and some undesirable elements.

The hotel is modern, with large rooms, clean and all the modern conveniences. It is very quiet and all of the fittings and furnishings are high quality.

Breakfast was great in a light filled room with large windows - perfect after a 24 hour flight.

The staff were friendly, professional and a please to deal with.

Room tip: pay extra for a park view, larger room and higher floor
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belladonna01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_TCH, PA to General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic review of The Charles Hotel. We hope you had a good flight back home.

We are delighted you took away such wonderful impressions during your recent stay with us and enjoyed our central location, our large rooms as well as the friendly service provided through our Team Member.

We hope to welcome you back soon in a not too distant future.

Best regards,
The Charles Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews