We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice, Small Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ringhotel Loew's Merkur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ringhotel Loew's Merkur
Ranked #48 of 131 Hotels in Nuremberg
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice, Small Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Was visiting Nuremberg for 4 days for business and shacked up in the hotel during my stay. Excellent staff service in the hotel, with adequate services and facilities provided in the room.

A very old hotel so do expect the hallways to be very narrow and full of staircases. Unforunately I came around during summer and there was no fan or air conditioning in the room itself (although the reception was nice enough to provide a standing fan). Room a little dusty as well from the carpeting.

Location wise, very very very near to the town area (which is a huge plus) and very accessible to all the visiting sites in Nuremberg.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TehTarikDrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    129
    71
    30
    12
See reviews for
73
86
24
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
193 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

This hotel was booked for us as part of a large tour group we were with. I found nothing disappointing with it but neither did I find it great. it is what you would expect from a tourist-class hotel. The service is good and friendly. We asked to be moved from a smoking to a non-smoking room and it was done promptly and efficiently. The layout is quite confusing with narrow halls and stairways. It did not bother my wife and me but if you have difficulty walking, I'd suggest asking for a room closer to the front of the hotel. It is located behind the train station so keep that in mind for convenience. On the downside, if you happen to have a room on that side of the hotel, you could be bothered by the announcements coming from the station's loud speakers. In addition, the hotel charges 8 euro per hour of internet access. Suggestion - check out the fruit shop a couple of blocks down the road. I should also note that I left a bag full of electronic accessories and they forwarded it to our next hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Domrcpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2009

We were 3 girls and a dog and on our way home deicded to spend 1 night in Nürnberg. The hotel is basically behind the central station, very close to the city center. The room we had (2246) was really huge and held the 4 of us easily, although there was no air-conditionning.
To find your way around this really huge hotel needs some getting used to. You do have a small free inside pool, free sauna and steam shower. We did use all of this and had a lot of fun, especially as there were not many people in the hotel. This whole relaxing area may become uncomfortable should there be a lot of people.
The staff (check-in, check-out and room service) were really nice and treated us excpetionnaly well, we had nothing to complain about.
Breakfast was good, with a variety of hot and cold choices overall a continental breakfast which was included in our room price.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zivana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
80 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2008

Stayed at this hotel for one week and had a pleasant experience. It's located at the south entrance of the main train station, so if you're arriving or leaving by train it couldn't be more convenient; plus you have all the shopping, restaurants, money exchange etc nearby. Through the station it's probably about 15 minutes to walk into the old town. The hotel is privately owned so has some quirkiness in decor and layout, but the service was hospitable and friendly. On a couple occasions the owners even greeted guests at breakfast. The breakfast buffet is good. Apparently there is a wide disparity in the quality of the rooms depending on where they're located in the hotel; a colleague of mine was initially booked into an extremely tiny room but switched easily. My room, on the first floor overlooking the train station, was average-sized for this kind of European hotel (i.e., somewhere to sleep, not hang out in) but comfortable and clean.

The hotel also has a small indoor pool, sauna and parking, but, strangely, no irons available for in-room use, although I did coerce some staff into ironing a shirt for me around 11pm for a meeting the next morning.

I was there during a trade show and so prices were jacked up, but in my opinion it was a much better choice than some other places I've stayed at in Nuremberg on business. It's perfectly reasonable for tourists as well, but I would recommend looking in the old city first, all things being equal.

  • Liked — great location near train station
  • Disliked — hit or miss room quality
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank voito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Google Translation
Lieber Gast,

es ist schon über sechs Jahre her, seit Sie Gast in unserem Hause waren. Inzwischen hat sich hier sehr viel getan und Sie wären sicherlich sehr angetan von den vielen positiven Veränderungen in unserem Hause. Besuchen Sie uns doch einmal wieder, wenn Sie in Nürnberg sind Wir würden uns freuen.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen

Peter Löw, Ihr Gastgeber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
114 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2008

Ok, so the room is small by American (or any standards). But everything works well and is sparking clean. First problem, what will I do to sleep with the klieg lights from the front of the hotel pointed in to my room? Solution, nifty metal blind that you roll down easily. The bad part? I didn't know it was morning and slept in.

Right across from the Central train station with shops and transportation galore and an easy walk to the old city.

Wireless internet is pricey. Bring your own shampoo, the liquid they provide is crap. People still can smoke in the hotel bar, if you like to do that sort of thing. Never found the pool. Nice minibar and the local water is fit to drink. The neighborhood is ok with many restaurants easy walking distance.

I suspect there are better rooms in the place. Make sure you know how big the room may be before you accept it.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Wireless Cost
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Brian Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Google Translation
Lieber Gast,

es ist schon über sechs Jahre her, seit Sie in unserem Hause zu Gast waren. Besuchen Sie uns doch einmal wieder. Sie werden überrascht sein, wie viel sich zwischenzeitlich an positiven Veränderungen ergeben hat.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen

Peter Löw, Ihr Gastgeber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2008

During the Toy Fair I needed a room for 1 night. That was not easy. But this hotel had a room. For 220 euro I got a very small, completely out of date room with a single bed of 90 cm width, too soft, sagged and at least 15 years old. The furnishings were poor, old and the room was smelly. The windows draughty.
The little tiny bathroom was renovated and clean. The whole hotel looks like a patch-work blanket with all kind of out dated furnitures and carpets. The breakfast was OK but messy ( ok it was very busy but there was plenty of staff walking around). The location of the hotel is very convenient (centre and behind the central station). But I will never ever recommand this hotel to anyone. The staff is friendly but it is a very poor place to stay.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — comfort and ambience
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank globaltheNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Google Translation
Lieber Gast,

Ihre Reiseeindrücke liegen nun über sechs Jahre zurück. Besuchen Sie doch Nürnberg wieder und lassen Sie sich überraschen, wie viel sich - auch in unserem Hause - seit Ihrem letzten Aufenthalt positiv verändert hat.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen

Peter Löw, Ihr Gastgeber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torero94
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2006

For the price, this hotel isn't worth it. Some rooms are very small and quiet. Others are newer, larger, and face the hauptbahnhof across the way. No A/C in either of the rooms I had, and having windows open across the street from the train station wasn't great.
Hallways and stairs were narrow - like an English hotel. Breakfast was included in my rate, and was good, but didn't change from day to day. Get there early or selection runs out!
The bar was tiny, and not useful for entertaining. TV in the bar was useless. Staff was pleasant and very accomodating, despite the crowds there for the World Cup.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank torero94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Google Translation
Lieber Gast,

Ihre Bewertung ist nun fast 8 Jahre alt. Besuchen Sie doch wieder einmal Nürnberg. Sie werden staunen, wie viel sich - nicht nur in unserem Hause - hier positiv verändert hat.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen

Peter Löw, Ihr Gastgeber aus Nürnberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Novotel Nuernberg Centre Ville
0.4 km away
Maritim Hotel Nurnberg
Maritim Hotel Nurnberg
#39 of 131 in Nuremberg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.6 km away
NH Collection Nurnberg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
InterCityHotel Nurnberg
InterCityHotel Nurnberg
#56 of 131 in Nuremberg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.0 km away
Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre
0.6 km away
Ibis Nuernberg Hauptbahnhof
Ibis Nuernberg Hauptbahnhof
#22 of 131 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ringhotel Loew's Merkur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringhotel Loew's Merkur

Property: Ringhotel Loew's Merkur
Address: Pillenreuther Str. 1, 90459 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg
#23 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
#24 Family Hotel in Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ringhotel Loew's Merkur 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zentraler geht es nicht! Das 4-Sterne-Haus mit Tradition und privatem Management ist direkt am Nurnberger Hauptbahnhof und Sudstadtpark gelegen. In bester Citylage ist es der ideale Ausgangspunkt fur Ihr Shopping-Vergnugen oder Ihren Spaziergang in die wunderbare Nurnberger Altstadt mit vielen interessanten Sehenswurdigkeiten.Direkte U-Bahn-Verbindung zur Messe und zum Flughafen. Tram direkt vor dem Haus.15 Veranstaltungsraume*Restaurant*Lobby-Bar "My Lord"*kostenloses W-Lan in allen Bereichen des Hotels*Hallenschwimmbad*finnische Sauna*Dampfdusche*Infrarot-Warmekabine und Dreamwater Lounge (geg.Gebuhr). Freuen Sie sich auf Gastlichkeit, die von Herzen kommt! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Ringhotel Loew's Merkur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ringhotel Loew`s Merkur Hotel Nuremberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing