We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Just Perfect” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Altstadthotel Zum Hechten

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Altstadthotel Zum Hechten
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Fussen
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

Very good hotel with a quite helpful staff. Excellent location

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nilton F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    140
    43
    13
    9
See reviews for
113
161
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
140 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed 3 nights in this popular and very friendly, comfortable hotel. We had a double room facing the cobbled street and Castle above. We experienced no noise from the street and the hotel itself was very quiet with good soundproofing. We used the hotel’s free underground car park.
The family Pfeiffer – Tramp who own the hotel were really helpful and could not do enough for us. We had intended to eat out in the evenings but having dined in the first night because of the cold and rain and enjoyed the meal so much, we ate in the following two evenings. Very good value for money.
Breakfasts were typical Bavarian selections of the highest standards and staff were very attentive.
Overall we very much enjoyed our 3 days at the Zum Hechten and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrankyNWEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,212 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 589 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

this is a family run hotel and their attentiveness shows they care about their guests. We had a lovely double room that appeared to have been recently renovated. Our double room was adequate size, had comfortable bed, modern ensuite and was quiet. On site off street parking works fine. Hotel does not have a lift but hosts willingly provide assistance with luggage. Breakfast room has character, food selection most acceptable and staff friendly. We can also recommend the hotel's restaurant for evening meal, great food. You can't fault the location, everything in town is walking distance and not much in nearby noise.
A few tips
1. take up their offer to organise tickets if visiting Neuschwanstein, same price and will save you standing in line at the castle to pay and get viewing time as get express line at ticket counter.
2. if using GPS to navigate car to hotel, there is a trial closure of street in front of the hotel as pedestrian mall up until 6pm which means you may not be able to go where the GPS wants to take you. It is still possible to drive to the hotel carpark but you need to go a few blocks further before turning left if coming from over river bridge.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emanpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

Great location to visit the castles and local sites; however, our room was right above the main street and the noise was awful, especially on the weekend. Do ask for a room in the back to have a more pleasant stay. Overall, great location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the main streat
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmazingTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

"Why did we only stay for three nights?" is the question my husband and I kept asking each other on our way home from Fussen. The Hotel Zum Hechten made our stay in this lovely, medieval town, complete. The hosts were attentive, charming and very helpful. They spoke perfect English and made us feel completely at home.

Our room (No. 4) was beautiful and looked out over the pretty street with views of the Schloss. The room was spotlessly clean, the bathroom too. The beds were very comfortable.

The breakfast was fantastic, with a terrific choice. There was a choice of places to eat breakfast too. The dining room upstairs was lovely, unusually decorated and interesting. Downstairs, next to reception they have a great restaurant where we ate each evening. The restaurant staff were welcoming and helpful and the service was excellent. We loved the food and also the local beer.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Fussen. It was lovely just to step outside and be in the middle of this beautiful little town. Although in the centre the hotel sits on a quieter street so there was no noise after we went to bed (and we had the windows open).

We will definitely be returning to Zum Hechten.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsens, Denmark
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

My second stay at the hotel. You basically have to go through some of the pedestrian areas to get there - but they have parking in the back.
When you walk out their front door, you're in the middle og this beautiful German city.
You can by vouchers for the castles Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau at the reception desk, so you can skip the line and book a time without waiting at the castles. I bypassed at least 200m og people waiting in the sun :-)
Their breakfast is very nice, with a broad variety, and I just love how this place is run by the entire family.
Their restaurant is also very nice for evening eat-in - I prefer the veal schnitzel with roast potatoes and a nice big Weissbier on the side (or 3).
Lovely place for a vacation or even if you're just in need of a place to stay on the way to/from Italy.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesper1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

We spent one enjoyable evening here. The room was clean and comfortable with free wifi internet.

The people who run this hotel are really the best. Friendly, helpful and kind. We arrived and the main road to the hotel had just been made into a pedestrian only road--apparently that day. I walked to the hotel and asked for assistance and the young man behind the counter provided a map and thorough directions for parking. He then went and met us at the parking area and helped with our bags up several flights of steps.

No elevators, but there was assistance up the steps. The attached restaurant is also very good and the free breakfast is served in an adorably decorated room. Typical German breakfast fare--very generous selections.

We didn't enjoy the town of Fussen that much, but it was a great place to stay to visit the Ludwig Castles, which we did the next day.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Momsterof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fussen hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Fantasia
Hotel Fantasia
#2 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#3 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#11 of 39 in Fussen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Schlosskrone
Hotel Schlosskrone
#6 of 39 in Fussen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
0.2 km away
City Apart Hotel Fussen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altstadthotel Zum Hechten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altstadthotel Zum Hechten

Property: Altstadthotel Zum Hechten
Address: Ritterstr. 6, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Fussen
#8 Family Hotel in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Altstadthotel Zum Hechten 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1001 Possibilities for you!Unique as the town Fussen is also our prestigious hotel. Behind a picturesque facade, you will find an individual, snug comfort, in our recommended restaurant. One can enjoy all the specialties that have been made known through the Alps region.Experience the beauty of the area in the middle of the Neuschwanstein countryside during your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Altstadthotel Zum Hechten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altstadthotel Zum Hechten füssen
Altstadthotel Zum Hechten Hotel füssen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing