We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bavarian Lakeside”
Review of Hotel Am Hopfensee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Am Hopfensee
Ranked #14 of 40 Hotels in Fussen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We stayed for 6 nights in June,2010 The Hotel is under renovation at present but our room which was facing the beautiful lake was large, clean although dated.
It is excellent value for money and we would return as the area is so stunning, the friendly hotel staff make the stay very enjoyable. We opted for 1/2 pension which is a great deal as the meals were wholesome and large by Australian standards.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiulianaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2009

Hotel is situated right next to a lake. So out of the window we had a beautiful view on the lake and mountains. If you like jogging or just walking it is a good place for it. Furniture in the room was older, but on the other hand it was clean. Bathroom was nice, clean as well. Staff at the reception was very helpful. We stayed only over night, so didnt have to pay for parking. Breakfast was very good, wide range.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ablazkova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2009

The lady in charge (maybe owner) was very rude and unprofessional, and the staff/waiter were also not friendly. The room was not clean with heavy smoking smell and the bedding felt not changed, and many stains on the ground and walls. The smelly bathroom had no supplies except a towel. The included breakfast had very few items such as cold eggs (don't be fooled by the restaurant setting facing the lake). It had no internet connection nor wireless even though it advertised to have.

They would try to charge additional at any chance, like 10 euro for parking in front as in fact parking in the city owned lot in front (between the hotel and the lake) is free between 7pm and 9am and free 2 hour parking during daytime. The hotel is located near the beautiful lake on a road with other B&B hotels, and might be the cheapest (as it indeed feels cheap). It is about 2 miles from Fussen. I would avoid this horrible hotel and its restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank forehandwinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2008

We have stayed here twice now and enjoyed both visits. The hotel is possibly a little tired although bathrooms have been updated and everything works and beds are comfortable.

Found staff friendly and helpful and dinner in the restaurant was very satisfying, good regional food, good service etc. Breakfast was also fine with plenty of choice and a lovely view over the Hopfen See from the breakfast room.

There is also a good restaurant/bar across the road on the lake front.

I'd recommend this as an alternative to Fussen and the tourist hordes, particularly if you want a more Euro experience. You'll feel like you are holidaying with the locals here.

The area itself is very quaint with great views over the lake to the alps and back to Neuschwanstein if you walk a little way around the lake. If you are lucky you will still see cows grazing along side the road although the area has developed alot since we first visited in 2001. Looks like it got discovered!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gj80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2007

we was in the thats lovely hotel for 2 nights, our agent booked it. we; are suprised at the check in, a great location, rooms with balcony and a fantantic view over the lake and the the alps, we do not use the sauna and massagecenter. At the dinner a very friendly engl. speaking staff served a perfect meal, breakfasttime with buffetstyle in the restaurant Wintergarden is so nice, we do not understand the other typer- befor us, this is a old but very nice hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank david_rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2007

We stayed here on two occasions in April 2007. We had a room with a balcony. The views over the Hopfensee are beautiful, the food and the beer are good. the manager was nice and most helpful. We were able to put the car in a lock up garage over night. We hope to go back one day.
Good for older people too as the lakeside is very close and there is a tarmac walkway all along the shore. Other restaurants nearby. One section of the hotel is apartments but we did not see inside that part. Bus service runs past the door.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Septuagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2007

The owner and receptionist was very rude - the rooms were not remodeled very old and musty - the service was bad - bedrooms had no ammenities not even a soap in the bath room for the price you would expect a clean bath room.

The area is beautiful and other hotel around it are better. I would not recommend it.

Stayed: July 2007
Thank aidco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fussen
4.3 km away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 40 in Fussen
1,638 reviews
3.7 km away
Hotel Sommer
Hotel Sommer
#3 of 40 in Fussen
384 reviews
4.4 km away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#4 of 40 in Fussen
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Hotel Ruebezahl
Hotel Ruebezahl
#1 of 16 in Schwangau
624 reviews
4.3 km away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#11 of 40 in Fussen
462 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Geiger
Hotel Geiger
#1 of 3 in Hopfen am See
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Hopfensee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Hopfensee

Address: Uferstr. 10, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Fussen
Price Range: $162 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Am Hopfensee 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Am Hopfensee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenblick Hotel füssen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing