We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from European Castles Tours tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience European Castles Tours
from US$122.85
More Info
from US$63.15
More Info
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
159
3
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
3
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private tour day tour castle tour small group black forest christmas market tour three days every evening an excellent tour guide grocery store plan b christmas season mobility issues booked this tour once in a lifetime rainy day shuttle bus
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 169 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We are from Canada and found our tour guide very easy to communication in English. Also she taught us several German words.
She clarified the meaning of some of the castle names.
Polite, courteous, and patient.
we found the information given to us prior to the tours was at times more informative than the castle tour guides.
The pace of the day suited our group to perfection!
Highly recommend this tour company and more than likely return to it in the future.
Wonderful value for the cost.
Monika und Shirley

Date of experience: September 2013
1  Thank monika i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstridBaur, Inhaber at European Castles Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you Monika and Shirley! We are very happy your day was what you had expected and would be delighted to welcome you back! Kind regards from Bavaria, Astrid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2013

nice tour, it is a vary emportent to do a prereservation to avoid spending your time standing in a vary long line, you can ask for prereservation in hotel that you staing in

Date of experience: September 2013
1  Thank Valentin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My wife and I took the castle day tour to Neuschwanstein castle and Linderhoff. We took the English speaking tour and our guide was Kevin Creley. On the drive to Bavaria we were given a detailed and pertinent history of Bavaria and the famous people from Bavarian history and how they were related to what we were going to see and tour.

Once at Neuschwanstein, we took a walk to the gorge bridge on the back side to get the best pictures of the castle. After the castle tour, we hiked down by the river and got some great pictures.

In between the two tours, we ate in town and the food (and beer) were fantastic.

At Linderhoff, we toured the gardens, the palace and the grotto.

Working with Astrid was extremely easy and she was very flexible, as we made the reservations the day before we left the USA and two days before we took the tour. Kevin was a great tour guide, who speaks fluent English and is extremely knowledgeable about the history of Bavaria. If you want to go on a great castle tour, I highly recommend European Castle Tours.

Date of experience: May 2013
5  Thank jims21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstridBaur, Inhaber at European Castles Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Jim, thank you so much fro your review! I am glad you so enjoyed your day with Kevin. Thank you for traveling with us!! Greetings from Bavaria, Astrid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We didn't do the Day Tour, but the Christmas Markets Tour for a week in early December, 2012. The trip was amazing! It was our first trip to Europe and my wife had long dreamed of seeing King Ludwigs castles. Pairing it with the winter backdrop and the Christmas Markets was truly a bonus.

Astrid did a great job organizing each day and making sure there was a good mix of downtime, activities and culture. Our guide for most of the week was a woman named Bridgette who was very funny and quirky, she definitely kept things lively and added an extra bit of flare to the tour. We were fortunate that our group was rather small, only 11 people, so it was very intimate and allowed us to make some nice connections and great memories.

The trip took us to some great sites, gave us a bit of culture and history of the area, and made us feel like a giant family. I would highly recommend taking a tour with Astrid or one of her guides as its 100% worry free travel. For it being our first time in Europe, we needed a bit of hand holding and have no regrets about utilizing this tour service. We had such a great time we want to go back and do it again and are recommending it to all of our friends and family.

Date of experience: December 2012
6  Thank TaurusSaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I have been on 3 European Castles Tours: the River Castles tour; French Castles tour and the Italian Highlights tour. Each one was fantastic! Astrid Baur arranges everything so that the traveler can relax and truly enjoy these amazing trips. Hotels, food, transportation, admission to castles, museums, etc. are all taken care of and she does a spectacular job of choosing the hotels, restaurants - everything! You get to see so much and still have time on your own. My suggestion is to bring comfortable walking shoes and pack light. My hope is to go on another of these trips with European Castles Tours.

Date of experience: September 2012
16  Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews