We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for seeing the castles and surrounding area”

European Castles Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$58.63*
and up
Skip-the-Line: Neuschwanstein Castle Tour from Fuessen Including Horse-Drawn...
More Info
US$110.07*
and up
Bavaria Highlights Tour from Fuessen: Neuschwanstein, Linderhof, Oberammergau...
More Info
US$50.25*
and up
Skip the Line: Neuschwanstein Castle Afternoon Tour from Füssen
Ranked #3 of 4 Tours in Fussen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer scheduled and private day tours from Munich and Fuessen to castle, scenic, and cultural highlights in Bavaria and Austria - including Neuschwanstein and King Ludwig's other castles, Oberammergau, Rothenburg, Mt. Zugspitze, Lake Constance, Eagle's Nest, Innsbruck, Salzburg…. We also offer week-long tours in Bavaria, the Rhine region, Austria, France, Switzerland, Czech Republic, Italy, Portugal, and Ireland - with emphasis on castles, character hotels, fantastic food, and full guide services. We offer private short tours from Munich and tailor-made itineraries.
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Ruth was our tour guide, a lovely lass from Dublin, Ireland who had moved into the area a number of years ago. She was so lovely and helpful, including helping me to work out how I could get to Zugspitze the next day by myself (as they had no tours running). Full of useful information, and the kind of gossipy stories about king Ludwig that you wouldn't get on the regular tour, she's was a delight, we did Oberammergau, and Linderhof as part of the tour, and the combination as well as being driven through some delightful scenery, was worth the money. There isn't a lot to see in Oberammergau, but it was the perfect place to stop for lunch, and Ruth recommended a good Bavarian restaurant to us. We had 6 people in the morning, and then there were only 3 of us in the afternoon, so it was a perfect number to work with. I only booked my tour about a week before, while I was already in Germany, but Astrid was super helpful by email.

I will say that when visiting the castles, there are a lot of stairs within the castle itself, so be aware of that if you have mobility issues.

1  Thank Maggie2818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstridBaur, Owner at European Castles Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you very much for your comment - I am happy you enjoyed our scheduled tour with Ruth and that your day was what you had expected - and hopefully little more. Kind regards from Bavaria, Astrid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 103 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

We are from Canada and found our tour guide very easy to communication in English. Also she taught us several German words.
She clarified the meaning of some of the castle names.
Polite, courteous, and patient.
we found the information given to us prior to the tours was at times more informative than the castle tour guides.
The pace of the day suited our group to perfection!
Highly recommend this tour company and more than likely return to it in the future.
Wonderful value for the cost.
Monika und Shirley

1  Thank monika i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstridBaur, Inhaber at European Castles Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you Monika and Shirley! We are very happy your day was what you had expected and would be delighted to welcome you back! Kind regards from Bavaria, Astrid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

nice tour, it is a vary emportent to do a prereservation to avoid spending your time standing in a vary long line, you can ask for prereservation in hotel that you staing in

1  Thank Valentin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

My wife and I took the castle day tour to Neuschwanstein castle and Linderhoff. We took the English speaking tour and our guide was Kevin Creley. On the drive to Bavaria we were given a detailed and pertinent history of Bavaria and the famous people from Bavarian history and how they were related to what we were going to see and tour.

Once at Neuschwanstein, we took a walk to the gorge bridge on the back side to get the best pictures of the castle. After the castle tour, we hiked down by the river and got some great pictures.

In between the two tours, we ate in town and the food (and beer) were fantastic.

At Linderhoff, we toured the gardens, the palace and the grotto.

Working with Astrid was extremely easy and she was very flexible, as we made the reservations the day before we left the USA and two days before we took the tour. Kevin was a great tour guide, who speaks fluent English and is extremely knowledgeable about the history of Bavaria. If you want to go on a great castle tour, I highly recommend European Castle Tours.

4  Thank jims21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstridBaur, Inhaber at European Castles Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Jim, thank you so much fro your review! I am glad you so enjoyed your day with Kevin. Thank you for traveling with us!! Greetings from Bavaria, Astrid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We didn't do the Day Tour, but the Christmas Markets Tour for a week in early December, 2012. The trip was amazing! It was our first trip to Europe and my wife had long dreamed of seeing King Ludwigs castles. Pairing it with the winter backdrop and the Christmas Markets was truly a bonus.

Astrid did a great job organizing each day and making sure there was a good mix of downtime, activities and culture. Our guide for most of the week was a woman named Bridgette who was very funny and quirky, she definitely kept things lively and added an extra bit of flare to the tour. We were fortunate that our group was rather small, only 11 people, so it was very intimate and allowed us to make some nice connections and great memories.

The trip took us to some great sites, gave us a bit of culture and history of the area, and made us feel like a giant family. I would highly recommend taking a tour with Astrid or one of her guides as its 100% worry free travel. For it being our first time in Europe, we needed a bit of hand holding and have no regrets about utilizing this tour service. We had such a great time we want to go back and do it again and are recommending it to all of our friends and family.

6  Thank TaurusSaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed European Castles Tours also viewed

 
Fussen, Swabia
Fussen, Swabia
 

Been to European Castles Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing