We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have booked a nicer place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
228 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Couldn't have booked a nicer place to stay!”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Having left our travel group in Nuremberg at the end of our Budapest to Nuremburg Viking cruise early last December, four of us checked into the Markstrum for two comfortable nights. Frau Berger greeted us upon our arrival and made us feel at home immediately. Our rooms were spacious and nicely decorated, our bathroom the most recent one to be updated. The first night we were there, we were going to head out for dinner but turned back to the hotel as the skies opened up with a torrential rain storm. So, we enjoyed 'dinner' of appetizers and hot chocolate while sitting in the beautifully decorated reception area (photo). Frau Berger and her daughter usually manned the reception desk during the day while Herr Berger oversaw the restaurant in the evenings as well as the front desk. What a delightful couple. They made our stay one of the best we experienced while in Germany. We asked one of the housekeeping staff to take a photo of the two couples with Frau Berger (she's on the left wearing orange) before we went out the next evening. The photos is a reminder to us of the wonderful we stay we had at the Markstrum.

Room Tip: From viewing those rooms that were open to guests to see before new guests arrived, I would say any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank overthehill79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    147
    26
    8
    2
See reviews for
190
339
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Niteroi, RJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My train was late, so I called the hotel and the staff waited for me to get there at midnight. They were friendly and helpful and spoke good english. Breakfast was superb! My single room had a decent size, was super clean and comfy. The only thing for me was that being apparently the only single traveller made me feel a little odd.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jusoares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

This is in the historic walled town of Rothenburg and is easy walking distance to all it has to offer. The staff were all friendly / helpful. The motel uses a private car park a short stroll away but you can pull up out the front and they offered to help with our bags and parked the car for us. There is no lift, but we did not consider this a problem and it is a historic building. There were lovely items of interest/ antiques scattered about the motel which made if feel homely and was interesting to look at. The furniture and style of the rooms were also in keeping the style of the motel. They still have all the fittings we needed to make our stay comfortable. Overall, I would have no hesitation in recommending this motel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schillaci10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Like 2 years ago we managed to go on holiday to Austria and on the first day of travel we where hoping to reach Rothenburg so we could spend the first night in this hotel again. We arrived late but no problem. It was very cold outside, but a warm welcome again. The greatest surprise was that we got the same room again. A excellent breakfast in the morning gave us enough energy to make a walk through Rothenburg before driving on to Austria. Because we stayed here 2 years ago and this is the second review, I made a short video about this hotel and Rothenburg. Enjoy watching it and we highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeroenStruyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We loved this hotel close to the square. Although it was not listed in our reputable travel guide, we had seen a favorable online review and decided to try it out. We were traveling with two children and they had a family room available. In Europe these rooms are hard to come by. Our room as well as the bathroom was spacious and clean. The staff was very friendly and courteous. They went out of their way to help us with our luggage as well as park the car. Breakfast was more elaborate than expected with eggs and waffles along with the standard continental breakfast. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
169 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

After several hours on the road we arrived at Rothenberg, parked our car outside the walled village, and proceeded to walk around. Deciding to stay we began looking for lodging and found this lovely hotel. A delightful young lady gave us a chance to look at what I believe was their last available room, and we decided to stay. It was on the third floor and a bit Spartan (it may not have been quite as nice as those others have described), but it worked for us. It was large, very pleasant and clean, and had a good bathroom.

We retrieved our car, it was parked by a valet, and we had a delightful evening in this hotel and village. Wireless was free, but when we couldn't get reception in our room, so we went to the lobby where we had no trouble getting it and enjoyed beers at the same time! The hosts and hotel staff were extremely gracious and informative. Everyone spoke English, and I think the hosts speak several languages. The breakfast was excellent and the location was perfect for exploring this charming, historic town the next day.

My two suggestions would be to (if possible) provide a kettle or coffee pot in the guest room and perhaps a different style pillow. The hotel has the very flat, square pillows I have encountered in other German inns, and we find they don’t provide the head support we like.

However, on any return visit, we would definitely want to stay here again. The hotel is charming, the staff is delightful, the cost is reasonable, and the location is great.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSC06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

I booked this hotel based on the great reviews it has gotten on this site.

What a great little hotel. We arrived to friendly staff, got a fabulous room, the largest i have ever had in Europe, great to have a couch and sitting area away from the bed. Bathroom was very modern and clean.

We had one meal in the hotel restaurant and the food was very nice and the price was good too.

The receptionist was very lovely and made our stay very enjoyable. It was very quiet as we were there in winter so i am not sure what it would be like in the summer.

Great location, we walked to the hotel from the train station without any trouble, approx 10 minutes. Good access to all sites from the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelAddictPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.4 km away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
592 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
658 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 45 in Rothenburg
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 45 in Rothenburg
673 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Gotisches Haus
Hotel Gotisches Haus
#5 of 45 in Rothenburg
373 reviews
0.4 km away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel Markusturm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Markusturm

Property: Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Address: Roedergasse 1, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Romantik Hotel Markusturm 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Romantik Hotel Markusturm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing