We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
19
21
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
21
6
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 47 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because Rick Steves recommended it in his travel book. The facade is unassuming on a back street. We began to wonder as we pulled up, if this was a good idea. But upon stepping inside, we knew we made the right choice. It is family run and the very friendly owner poured us something to drink and invited us in. He helped bring our luggage to the room and he then gave us an umbrella and an English map to help us find our way around the city. The hotel is centrally located and only a short walk from the Marketplatz. Rooms are small but the wifi in the rooms is complimentary. The restaurant below the hotel is charming. We had a very good supper. I would recommend the rolled beef with the potato dumpling and red kraut. We had a very good type of corn relish that was complimentary before the meal. In the morning, we had breakfast of cold cuts, cheeses, breads, fruits, and more extras than any other place during our 2 weeks of travel. If there was any downside to this hotel, it would be a little noise starting at 5am with people talking around the courtyard. (We had our windows open), as well as some delivery trucks. Still, I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed here for one night in July 2013 because of what we had read on TripAdvisor. It was good value and located in the heart of the city.

We found it pleasant, actually liked the restaurant below better than the room we had, which faced out onto a courtyard that was busy with delivery trucks very early in the morning, between 6:00 and 7:00 a.m.

The rooms was rather small, which wasn't a real problem, but we would not call it delightful either. The bathroom was fine, but also not as modern as other places we've stayed in.

There is a small lift. Municipal parking is a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel, which was an issue for us because of a downpour when we wanted to leave. The owner did lend us an umbrella, which was thoughtful. The owner couple are charming people and helpful, as is the young man who was managing the restaurant downstairs.

The breakfast buffet was fine. The WiFi connection was not so good in the room, better downstairs.

If you want a moderately-priced hotel in the center of Würzburg, you can surely stay here.

Ken and Susan

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for and get a quiet room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwissKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The Dortmunder Hof is a small, intimate family-run hotel; centrally located just a few minutes walk from the center of Wurzburg, the Marketplatz and 10 minutes to the train station. After a 5 week driving tour of Germany and Italy, this was our favorite hotel and restaurant. The staff makes the difference. The wife operates the hotel side and the husband the restaurant and wine bar. A typical small hotel, some rooms are small, some large. The rooms were immaculately clean and well furnished. There is an elevator. The internet is free and the connection is great.

Each night, the restaurant was almost full with many more locals than guests, always a sign superb, reasonably priced. A good selection of wine and over 25 flavors of Schnapps to sample. The breakfast was delicious. A nice sized buffet set out each morning in the downstairs restaurant. An assortment of juices, breads, jams, butters, cold cuts, cheeses, yogurts and cereals.

.The hotel is recommended by both Rick Steves and Lonely Planet.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil and Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is a small, family-owned hotel with attached restaurant. The room was very small, but the location, with shopping and restaurants nearby, is excellent. The owners are very friendly and helpful - the day we arrived was very hot, and they immediately offered us drinks. The internet connection in our room didn't work, but the owner immediately set me up in the restaurant, brought me a drink and some nuts. Breakfast was outstanding and plentiful. As in most German hotels, the rooms are not air-conditioned and the street noise can be loud if you leave the window open. I would definitely stay here again but upgrade to a larger room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hester52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We spent our first night in Germany here. A good location near the old part of the city. Parking is available for a reasonable price in a garage near by. The rooms are adequate and the owners friendly and helpful.
We enjoyed our best meal of the trip in the restaurant at the hotel. My husband said he also had his favorite beer here as well, a very dark smokey brew.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JUDITH L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews