We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel ever!”
Review of Wombat's Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wombat's Berlin
Ranked #9 of 346 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best hostel ever!”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

During my 1 month interrail this was the best hostel I stayed in. It was a fortunate coincidence to find this place, and I had no doubt booking their hostel when visiting Vienna.

It is clean, secure and with a very good vibe in the air, just like any hostel should be. The card was with a chip which allowed you to open the main door during the night, to open the door in your floor, your room's door and your locker in the room.

I believed each room had it's own bathroom and shower, and this was part of their concept, what I think it's great!

The only issue I had was a snoring neighbor in the bed below... It was the only thing missing for a blissful stay, but hey, it's not their fault!

The prices are the normal for a hostel, even though the product is fantastic!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luísh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    643
    323
    57
    24
    14
See reviews for
21
148
234
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Stayed here as part of a group of five for a long weekend in March. This was the second time I've stayed at Wombats and all of us left very impressed with the hostel. Impeccable cleanliness, friendly staff, great facilities, lively bar and rooftop terrace upstairs, great location (just one U-bahn stop from Alexanderplatz, a big transport hub), hearty breakfast... just an all-round great place. If you need a hostel in Berlin, look no further.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amurray87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland, Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

this place has to be the cleanest place i have stayed in.

we got a private room with own bathroom. it was small but ticked all the boxes :)

its beside all means of transport, and is surround by restaurants, pubs and supermarket.

the bar on the top floor is so fun and cheap, happy hours twice and good prices :)

staff where helpful but found not much english from the staff there when we stayed (only downfall) but they did try and understand as much as they could :)

they did breakfast which was yummy, but if looking for cheap food i would suggest st chrisophers hostel around the corner burger and chips 5Euro, and its a big portion of food when on a budget :)

Room Tip: we usually go to hotels, but this time we were on a budget and went with a private room. i had seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenmoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

This hostel was incredibly clean!!! Private nice bathrooms in every room. Fun bar on the top floor with a free drink. Safe was decent. Good location. I would stay again

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navyrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolzano, Italy
Level Contributor
84 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

The hostel is very centrally located, just few minutes walk from Alexanderplatz. Rooms are clean and spacious and at disposal of guests there is a fully furnished kitchen. Open buffet breakfast is relatively cheap. Excellent option as alternative accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paolo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Wombats was the perfect hostel for our stay in Berlin. The room was clean, as was the ensuite bathroom. We booked a triple which ended up being a room with 4 bunk beds and plenty of space. There were also lockers in the room (which are controlled by your key card).
The location of the hostel is fantastic, just a short walk to Alexander Platz and there is the U-Bahn just around the corner so its easy to get to all the major attractions.
The Hostel has free wifi which you can only access on the ground floor or at the bar upstairs, they also have a number of computers which you can access the internet on for a small fee. The upstairs bar (WomBar) has relatively cheap drinks and a good happy hour twice a night, drinks are only 1 Euro! The bar has a pool table, fussball table and rooftop terrace.
Breakfast isn't included in the cost but is available for about 3-4 Euro and is served in the restaurant downstairs. It runs til 11am each morning and was a pretty typical continental breakfast (bread, cheese, cold meat, cereal, yoghurt, fruit, coffee, tea, juice etc).
If your looking for somewhere good to eat, literally across the road is a small restaurant called "Good Morning Vietnam", this place serves awesome, low cost food, we went there on a number of occasions and were never disappointed.
Wombats was really good value for money, definitely recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank -Oz_Traveller-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Ample, large room and bathroom. Bar at highest floor. And low price. Friendly staff. Good location (near Alexanderplatz)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonGeronimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#10 of 635 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,526 reviews
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#3 of 346 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Friedrichshain
PLUS Berlin
PLUS Berlin
#10 of 346 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
Grand Hostel Berlin
Grand Hostel Berlin
#5 of 346 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
#4 of 346 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Mitte
St. Christopher's Inn Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wombat's Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wombat's Berlin

Property: Wombat's Berlin
Address: Alte Schoenhauserstr.2, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 346 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wombat's Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wombat`s Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing