We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,454)
Filter reviews
2,454 results
Traveller rating
1,057
1,048
260
52
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,057
1,048
260
52
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tram stop church bells great hotel minutes walk from alexanderplatz deluxe room mini fridge public transport prenzlauer berg comfortable hotel around the corner breakfast was excellent stayed here for nights city break nice bar tv tower hotel bar wi fi
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 2,454 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2018

This was our first ever holiday in Europe outside UK. We wanted to show our children all the historical places in Berlin during the half term. Having browsed a few hotels in the city on internet, we chose Leonardo Royal because of the excellent reviews by our fellow TA members.
They all are right because Leonardo Royal is an excellent hotel. The first thing I have noticed when arrived was how courteous and friendly the staff were. They all speaks excellent English so British visitors would feel at home. are smartly dressed in suits and waist coats not a button out of place . They take pride in their jobs and are great ambassadors to hotel. Nicholas the receptionist who checked us in was very friendly and explained everything we needed to know . He also asked us to join the Leonardo club and get 10% discount from hotel meals which we did.
We stayed in Classic room ( double bed and sofa bed ) and a deluxe room (Double bed and sofa bed ) they were Comfortable modern very clean rooms with kettle, coffee maker and small fridge and free safe. Powerful shower and a hairdryer in the bathroom. (The hotel also have A room to leave cases if you need to check out before your journey home.) The room was clean and comfortable. There were complementary water bottle in each room and toiletries . A few TA members have complained about 8am church bell but may be we were on the other side as we did not hear any noise. We had 4 comfortable nights there
The breakfast was superb with variety of dishes ( Eggs, bacon , sausages , cheese, 7 different breads not to mention fruits Yogurts, tea, coffee and juices. The chefs were constantly refilling the containers to make sure guests did not run out of any things. We also had dinner at the hotel one night. The food was superb. Their vegetable soup is out of this world .
What is the best feature at this hotel is the concierge service . (This has relived the receptionists the burden of answering guest’s non stop queries) . I have not seen this kind of service in any other hotel. It is like a mini tourist information centre. The lady who worked there in our first morning explained to us how to travel to Berlin wall , dome, war memorial and other important places and advised us to buy Berlin welcome travel card. Any traveller to Berlin must have this discounted ticket which allow you to travel by train, underground, bus and trams. It also gives 25 % off from the entrance fees of all the important places Concierge had all the free tourist information brochures and books . We paid about £100 for 5 Berlin Welcome cards valid for 3 days and saved about £100 .
Since we had an early plane to catch to Gatwick the lady did book a taxi for us and it arrived on time
The area around the hotel is nice and has some good restaurants and bars which are worth checking out,( Try Malvina restaurant a few yards from the hotel .) It has great food also it was great seeing the comparison of East and West Germany architecture when walking around too. I would recommend everybody to visit Berlin as there is literally something for everybody, whether you're looking to party or immerse yourself in history with the family you'll be more than satisfied with what Berlin has to offer
I would have given the hotel 100 out of 100 if it was not for two short comings.
First one is that the hotel did not give us complimentary water bottles on second and third days. I have left a note asking for water but the house keeping staff ignored the request . If a guest is staying in a hotel more than one night and pay the same rate every day, the hotel should treat him as a new guest each day . they should replenish all the used complementary water and toiletries. Perhaps hotel manager should make a note of this
Other thing my family was not comfortable with the fact that there was no wall between the bath room and the room.( I have seen some other guests have mentioned it too) Even the members of same family need privacy when taking a bath . But the Classic room we stayed in was too “open plan “ room which made it very awkward at bath time . However, the Deluxe room had shower and there was a door to separate it from the room. Unfortunately the Classic room was too open . The management should at least install screens to separate these open bath rooms from the bed room
Because of those two things, I am sorry I would have to give this hotel only 99.98 out of 100%
I have no doubt that Leonardo is one of the best hotels in Berlin because they are superb with Customer service . As I said before the Concierge service is an exceptional value for you. We had a very enjoyable and happy stay there . I would highly recommend this superb hotel to all the British visitors to Berlin

Date of stay: October 2018
2  Thank LankaLean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela D, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2018

Dear LankaLean,
Thank you very much for your positive review. Our team and I are happy that you had a wonderful time in Berlin and that you enjoyed your stay at the Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz. Thank you for praising our friendly staff, our breakfast and our good location. We are glad to welcome you again to our hotel.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 2, 2018 via mobile

I shall say right away, i was really surprised. Everyone who is looking for great hotel for good price, try this hotel.
From airport Shönenfeld it’s like 50 minutes ride with S-Bahn S9. Hotel is situated 2 minutes walk from Alexanderplatz. Also you can use public transport. Bus and tram stop is next to the hotel. Whole day tickets for public transport is 7€ per person. It’s valid till next day 3am. There is a beautiful park close by, you can enjoy peaceful atmosphere during your morning run or walk. In autumn park looks incredible beautiful. Near the hotel you can find groceries such as Netto, Edeka and Kaufland. Also shopping malls are at Alexanderplatz as well. Let’s move to hotel. Front desk is really kind and they can help you with almost anything. We had a standard room booked. Hotel has five floors and lots of rooms. Standard room is cozy but well equipped. Room and bathroom was very clean. You’ll have bottle of water free of charge in you room as a gift. Also there’s a coffee machine you can use everyday for free. This was very nice from them. On little minus is the view from the room. We were basically opposite of apartment building. Breakfast i have nothing to say, simply delicious and plenty to choose from. We had an early flight and they gave us breakfast bag full of goodies for ride to the airport. Hotel have front desk open 24/7 and hotel’s restaurant is open i thing till 10pm. We really enjoyed our stay. We’re looking forward to visit this hotel again.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mr_ROBOTTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela D, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2018

Dear Robert,
Thank you very much for visiting and providing us with your impressions of the Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz. Guest comments are extremely useful for improving our performance. We do our best to accommodate our guests and make sure they will experience a memorable and comfortable stay. We are really glad to know that you enjoyed our service, the central location and the comfortable room. I have forwarded your lovely feedback to the hotel team. With great pleasure we would like to welcome you again as a guest in Berlin and wish you all the best. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2018

We arrived at the Hotel around 11am and were delighted to get checked in early as our room was ready. The room was spacious, clean and modern - it had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable.

The amenities at the Hotel were great - lovely bar and Sauna/ Steam rooms to help relax after a busy day shopping and sight seeing! The staff were super helpful and helped with booking tickets and giving advice on where to visit and how to get around etc.

For us, the Hotel was ideal. The tram stop was outside the hotel and was only 2 stops away from the busy Alexanderplatz area. We also walked to Alexanderplatz as the weather was glorious and it only took us about 10 mins. If you don't fancy going into the centre again, there are lots of great restaurants and bars within easy walking distance.

I would definitely stay at the hotel again and recommend it to anyone.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela D, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2018

Dear Carol C,

Thank you very much for your great feedback!
We do our best to accommodate our guests and make sure they will experience a memorable and comfortable stay. We are really glad to know that you enjoyed our service.
I have forwarded your lovely feedback to the hotel team.
With great pleasure we would like to welcome you again at the Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz and to convince you of our commitment to provide you with our top-notch service.
Best regards
Daniela Degenhart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 23, 2018

We were allowed to check in 3 hours early as our room was ready. We had a deluxe double which ticked every box. My only small gripe is that the huge bed was made up of two smaller beds with two small duvets. The room was spacious, clean and welcoming, the staff were super friendly, printing off various tickets for us etc. The breakfast is superb, the bar is lovely, not much more I can say really. I'd definitely stay here again.

Room tip: We were at the front, no real no noise issues but we're used to a bit of traffic.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela D, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2018

Dear Karyn D,

Thank you very much for your great feedback!
We are very happy that you enjoyed our service.
With great pleasure we would like to welcome you back soon again at the Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz.
Best regards
Daniela Degenhart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2018

Well located hotel for touring Berlin with good transport links nearby. Rooms were very comfortable and clean. Mini bar and pod coffee machine included. Bar and room cleaning staff were very efficient and friendly.
Reception staff could be friendlier - a smile when booking in would have been nice.
Have stayed in other hotels in the chain before, and Berlin Royal as good as the others.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lirium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela D, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2018

Dear lirium,

Thank you very much for visiting and providing us with your impressions of our hotel. It is our goal to make each of our guests feel special. Guest comments and feedback are extremely useful for improving our performance. I have forwarded your feedback regarding the reception to the responsible head of department.
With great pleasure we would like to welcome you again as a guest in Berlin and to convince you of our ever improving commitment to excellent service.
Best regards
Daniela Degenhart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews