We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Less than expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of andel's by Vienna House Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
andel's by Vienna House Berlin
Ranked #57 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Less than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

I was on a business trip, so this hotel was booked by the meeting organizers. Before my travel I checked this hotel in tripadvisor and it was great to find out that the hotel was ranked #24 of 663 hotels in Berlin and the reviews were good, so that upon arrival I expected a very good hotel. In general, the hotel is nice: clean, big and modern rooms with nice decoration, a lot of space, friendly staff, train and tram station just in front of the hotel. However, I was disappointed by some things: 1) there was only shower in the bathroom (I would expect the bath in a 4 star hotel); 2) the lobby is huge, but not decorated, so it looks empty and not comfortable; 3) the breakfast was ok, but I had a better one in the 3 star hotel in Munich. Overall, the hotel is good and recommended; however, I am not sure I will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andelsBerlin, Front Office Manager at andel's by Vienna House Berlin, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear guest,

we would like to thank you for having given us the pleasure of welcoming you as our guest at andel´s Hotel Berlin and for giving us a feedback regarding your stay.

The andel’s Hotel Berlin as part of the Vienna International Hotels & Resorts is permanently focused on clients’ satisfaction. Therefore your opinion is very important for us to amend our service standards.

We really regret that the hotels’ interior and design did not meet your expectations.

As one of the biggest design hotels in Berlin we are proud to offer a clear, simple, stylish and retro-modern, 4-star-superior atmosphere which our guests highly appreciate.

Whenever you return to Berlin, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to andel’s Hotel Berlin.

Your team of andel’s Hotel Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,225
    870
    187
    42
    20
See reviews for
236
981
172
519
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It was modern and funky, but not tacky! The rooms are a good size, with great bathrooms.
Staff at the front desk were friendly, however the staff in the breakfast restaurant weren't quite so.
The breakfast it's self is a big buffet, with a good selection. The sky bar is fantastic! Lovely staff, great drinks, food and view!
The public transport system is great! You have trams right outside the hotel and within 6 stops you're in Alexanderplatz.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqui S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

A great hotel, close to the center but not exactly in the tourist zone. Hotel is really huge but beeing in a bar or eating breakfast You dont even realize. EVeryone speaks english german and other languages. Hotel has a GREAT bar and a restautant with delicious food! It is very tall so the view from the roof just amazing! Rooms has normal size, they are clean, fully equipped. Breakfast is impressive, there is everything You need. In the reception at the check we were given small Berlin tourist guides with discounts to all city atracctions and a free bus tickets. The only thing I didnt like was that the hotel parking was not free of charge and we had to pay, but it is just a small detail. Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weronika_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Had read previous reviews about this hotel and thought it ticked all the boxes for my annual city break with my sister......and it lived upto expectations. Great links via the S Bahn (S9 train) from Schonfeld airport, had a lovely spacious twin room with comfortable beds, the bathroom had both a large shower cubicle and bath (this was a standard room), the Sky Bars had great views, the tram is just outside the hotel and runs to Alexanderplatz (M5) and the breakfast was good with plenty of variety.

We had a Berlin Pass so had a very exhausting 3 days trying to fit as much in as possible. The Insider Walking Tour to Potsdam was really interesting for some earlier German history, a great way to get a lot of information and see a lot in abour 6 hours, the Reichstag dome tour is a must (it is free but you need to book in advance), this is very close to the Brandenburg Gate and Jewish Memorial so we squeezed those in before going on a Fat Tire bike tour of Berlin was great, if a little hairy in the traffic at times, (but I haven't ridden a bike for about 20 years) but this is an excellent way to cover practically everything in one day, the 1 hour boat cruise was a great way to relax and see things from a different angle, the Berliner Dom was fabulous, a quick hour in the Neues Museum was interesting and a quick hour in the Pergammon Museum was also great (you can't belived the size of some of the exhibits), the Checkpoint Charlie / Wall Museum is a bit cramped but the wall excape attempts are interesting to read and the Hop On / Hop Off bus tour was a good way to get around (and see all the sights again). We also went to the Topography of Terror / Wall (which is free) but you will maybe need something to lift your spirits afterwards. I'm not sure how we fit all that in in 3 days but we did!

Room Tip: We were on the front on the 3rd floor and had no problems with any noise from inside or outside. Ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

The hotel is wonderful.
Only one small bad thing to say: the desktop computers on the lobby, where we can do the check-in online, should be in english.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariasmaldonado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

My husband booked this hotel for a surprise week away. It was stunning, Open and spacious with excellent staff who all spoke perfect English. The room was lovely with a great big shower and you could request robes if you required them. There are some spa facilities but we didn't get round to using them as we were out all day and night it seemed. Breakfast was the usual continental style with a little hot food and lots of choice of meats and cheeses and pastries. Just a two minute walk to the tram and a liitle further to the main trainline, perfect for getting in and out of berlin and very punctual and clean. The sky bar was great for a drink (quite pricey though) but the view was fabulous.

Room Tip: we had an internal room which was very quiet those on the outside rooms may have a bit of traffic or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank obankirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ub
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

The hotel is great for business travellers as the internet is free, rooms are spacious. Location is not for shoppers as the hotel is located to the east from the Berlin center, about 20-30 minutes by taxi. It is quite far from Tegel airport also. The bathroom in the suite has both shower booth and bath_tub and quite spacious. It is a very good value for money as we paid 100 euros for a suite room.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hulan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Friedrichshain
nhow Berlin
nhow Berlin
#29 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,892 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#5 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
Friedrichshain
Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz
Charlottenburg
Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andel's by Vienna House Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andel's by Vienna House Berlin

Property: andel's by Vienna House Berlin
Address: Landsberger Allee 106, 10369 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#41 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#48 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#55 Family Hotel in Berlin
#61 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — andel's by Vienna House Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star superior design hotel, with 557 rooms and suites and a 3,800 m² flexibly designable conference centre, is among the most attractive hotels in the German capital. One of the highlights is the "sky.Bar" on the 14th floor with great panoramic views over the rooftops of Berlin. The heart of the house: the a-la-carte restaurant a.Choice. Guests also have a 550 m² wellness area at their disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your andel's by Vienna House Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Andels Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing