We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Have the builders finished”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz
Ranked #43 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
skipton
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Have the builders finished”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

The hotel may have a ultra modern design but traditional values should be applied to the climatic controls in the bedrooms. The room settings ( set via the TV) are unresponsive and summer must be a real problem since setting room temperature at 19 mukes the system unbearably noisy.
The decor looks like he builders have forgot to take the masking tape off the mirrors and the corridor carpets look like the painters have placed leaking paint cans along the carpet. Breakfast choice is extensive and is quickly replaced. Staff keep a clean and efficient dining room .Well one sfc team. Reception staff very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask about climatic contols. Rooms do not suffer from outsde noise, apart from plumbing noise from ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,471
    1,069
    215
    59
    33
See reviews for
587
953
125
722
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Great Value, Great Location, Great Staff, Nice clean rooms. We enjoyed our stay. This not a 5 star hotel but it is well worthy of it, just for the location.
Food here was OK, but there are plently of places in this area.
Excellent underground parking at 22 euros/24hrs.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Galaxy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid,Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed here mid April for a week & thought it was wonderful!

Rooms were ideal size, clean & comfortable (our room was internal facing, so quieter).

Breakfast was excellent - loads to choose from: hots were great from soft/hard boiled eggs to sausages, bacon, beans, scrambled eggs, to pastries, to colds including: fresh fruits to cereals to eco friendly brekkie (if you wished).
The only issue for some people, seemed to be that although there would be tables free, they would hover over one that had the remnants of the previous diner until they caught the eye of a staff member (poor show).

The bar was good, if a little laid back.

We ate at the restaurant on our third night, then a further 2 times, as it was much to our liking!
We did venture out to sample a bit of Germany, but found it had mostly gone "West" (Mexican, Indian, Chinese.. you get the drift).

Front-of-house staff at the hotel were very helpful & as per, multi-lingual.
We didn't get the chance, but the hotel also let out bikes for 4 hours FREE of charge (Berlin being so flat, it makes it fairly effortless to get around) so well done on that one folks!!

All in all, a very peaceful time in this hotel & though it does get a LOT of tour buses & business meetings, I would consider staying at another Scandic elsewhere, if this one is anything to go by.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the sleep! Also, if arriving by U-Bahn, there is one just to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norriebhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leer, Germany
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

The hotel has a very good located a few minutes from the Potsdam Place in the city center of Berlin. The hotel is pretty new and offers very good rooms with all amenities. The location is quit so overall it was a good experience until - yes until we got to the breakfast. Latest here you know that the hotel is booked strongly by groups (as the busses in front of the hotel remind you) and when you enter the restaurant the noise level is VERY strong. No matter when you arrive between 07:30 and 09:30h the place is so crowded that you have difficulty to find a place.
The breakfast buffet themselves is OK and offers everything what you want and its filled up quickly. BUT the real problem is that the tables will be cleaned badly. In 45 minutes nearly no service cleaned the tables and when one of the unexperienced (I think outsourced) waiters comes, they took a few things and they're gone.
The coffee pots didn't hanve handles so when filled with coffee you wasn't able to hold them? I think none of the management tried to have breakfast here?
While I was able to give a 4* rating to the hotel the breakfast situation downgrade the hotel at least by one star. Hopefully they will be able to improve this shortly.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reise-Profi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

My family and I stayed at the Scandic hotel at Potsdamer Platz from the 10th of april to the 13th. The stay was in every way excellent!
When we arrived at 10am we were able to get our rooms early, and the rooms were very homely. The breakfast the next day was terrific with a large range of different breakfast food.
What was the best thing about the hotel was it's central location. It was barely a 5 minutes walk up to Potsdamer Platz and U-bahn was just around the corner! We noticed that the U-bahn acctually went in to the building, but lucky you could not hear it at all during the nights!
My entire family were very pleased with our stay at this hotel, and I think that if we ever return to Berlin, this is the hotel that we'll stay at!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astrid95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2012

excellent is the only word to describe the hotel.

location - heart of the city, Postdamer Platz - besides railway station.
room - spacious, clean, comfortable.
toilet - really nice and beautiful
break fast - awesome
interior - too good, vibrant, luminous
service - excellent
smoking - yes
value for money.

Room Tip: Just go and tell what you want from them, they will assist you. Otherwise, mail them; if you have an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank choibabu2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My husband and I have just returned from 7 nights at the Scandic Berlin.
Hotel is in a perfect location for exploring all the main tourist attractions on foot. There is also the option of using the hotel bikes or getting the metro; there is a U Bahn station (U2) next door to the hotel.
Hotel room is a good size with comfortable beds, a fridge you can stock yourself (either from the hotels shop or from the Lidl at the back of the hotel, just cut through the metro entrance). There is handwash and shower gel provided, any other toiletries you have to supply yourself. The room also has a safe, iron and board, hairdryer and ample wardrobe space.
Reception staff were helpful. In reception there are 2 computers where you can access the internet for free.
As others have stated the breakfast can be busy and a bit hectic (especially if there is a bus trip in) but the staff work hard to keep the place clean, clear tables and ensure that the food (of which there is a huge choice) is replenished frequently. The hotel was busy when we were there but we always managed to get a table and the food we wanted was always available.
The hotel bar is modern and prices are about the same as the rest of Berlin. We ate in the restaurant 3 times (we wouldnt normally eat in our hotel, preferring to go out and about but we found it difficult to find 'nice' restaurants in Berlin) and although the menu isn't large the food was excellent.
Postdam is lovely and well worth a visit, you can get the U Bahn next to the hotel 3 stops and then get the S Bahn direct to Postdam.
We did the Fat Tyre bike tour on our first full day and would highly recommend this as it is a great fun way to learn about Berlins history and find your way about the city.
Would recommend this hotel to friends and family, and if we return to Berlin would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CazzD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
Grimm's am Potsdamer Platz
Kreuzberg
Movenpick Hotel Berlin
Movenpick Hotel Berlin
#34 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#11 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
Charlottenburg
Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Charlottenburg
Fjord Hotel Berlin
Fjord Hotel Berlin
#74 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz

Property: Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz
Address: Gabriele-Tergit-Promenade 19, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Berlin
#28 Family Hotel in Berlin
#36 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#37 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#40 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz 4*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Back in 1993, Scandic started developing what has become the industry's leading sustainability program. Inteligent services and barrier free hotels are focus of Scandic as well as healthy food and fitness in an inspirational surrounding. Up from 2009 strong relationship to Jamie Oliver.Short Facts - 561 rooms, 1 ball room (up to 500 people) and 17 function rooms, restaurant, bar, lobby bar, kids corner, gym and Holmes Place Life Fitness.7 Event locations for up to 1500 delegates are within walking distance.Connection to ICC congress center and Olympic stadium via underground close by the hotel. Most of Berlin's sights are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing