We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got things stollen (probably by their cleaning service)!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Metropol Hostel Berlin
Ranked #214 of 360 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Very bad and unprofessional experience!
I stayed there in December, sharing room only with colleagues (we always left and came back together). I got shopping bag full of new stuff stolen from the room, either by their cleaning service or somebody else (since when we returned, the room was cleaned and the door left open)!!! I reported the theft immediately but the manager refused to refund any money, saying I can’t prove anything. He said he talked to their stuff and they are saying nobody took anything. I wanted to check on cameras (which are probably not filming at all) but they say cameras can’t show if the door was really left opened but it can be seen that when cleaning lady returned from my room, she wasn’t having any new bags (it’s like a very bad joke). At the end they blamed the theft on me and stopped all the communication.
I’m very disappointed, I have never experienced such an attitude to guests before and I strongly recommend staying away from this hostel! Disaster!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pomaranca99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

I visited here on my own for 3 nights and it was as I expected. I stayed in a mixed dorm; most were male but there was one other female guest in the room. The hostel is located close to the city centre and the underground etc. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a great little bonus too! I didn't have any problems whatsoever so I would stay again. Thanks guys!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Francess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

we stayed there for a weekend trip to Berlin. It is located very cloe to an U6 and U7 metro station, which is very conveniant as thise to lines can be used to reach the Tegel airport. we had a double room with provate bathroom and everything was just fine. the room very basic but big and clean. the breakfast was also very basic, but ok./ it seems local currywurst and kebab bars are famous. the hostel is in a nightime party area. it is cvlose to a bio-vegan supermarket with a nica bar, ideal for coffee. the tempelhof airport site is also very close, it was a spontaneous decision toi visit it, it is very surprising, one of highlights of the stay.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

I stayed here for one night and it was good for the night. The rooms are spacious and clean. Beds are comfortable and clean. Showers and toilets are basic, don´t expect much. Staff is really nice and always helpful. Check in was easy and quick and even the wifi was working in the room. If you come late no problem they open 24/7.
All in all it was a perfect place if you don´t waste your time staying in the room the whole day. The hostel is located in kreuzberg next to the metro station 'Mehringdamm' and in front of the hostel is the famous 'Mustafa´s Gemüse Kebab'.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank 18christopho
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

I stayed here during a weekend in high season. Although I found the price relatively high (€75 for a double), we could still arange a room 1 day in advance, which was a good thing.
The other good thing is that the room was neat, large and had a working bathroom. The water comming out of the shower could be better though, because it was cold most of the time we wanted to take a shower.
The best thing about the hostel was the location for me. It was right next to Kreutzberg (the cool neighborhood) and loads of famous food stalls right outside it's door. Bicycling and public transport from here on is easy as well. Overall a recommendation!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank lukas023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016

The entrance to Metropol Hostel is on the third floor of the building. When I got there, there was no working lift, so I had to drag my luggage up several flights of stairs. When I finally got to the front desk, I asked about the wi-fi and they told me it was broken. The room I booked had eight beds, but only two power outlets and six lockers. After navigating the labyrinthine hallways to find the bathroom, I realized that there were no soap dispensers. I've stayed in cheaper hostels in other cities that had much better living conditions. The central location does not justify the price - staying at Metropol is barely a step above being homeless.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank vidlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
Acama Kreuzberg Hotel+Hostel
Kreuzberg
Happy Bed Hostel
Happy Bed Hostel
#49 of 360 in Berlin
198 reviews
Kreuzberg
Die Fabrik
Die Fabrik
#166 of 360 in Berlin
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
Three Little Pigs Hostel
Three Little Pigs Hostel
#22 of 360 in Berlin
697 reviews
Mitte
St. Christopher's Inn Berlin
Kreuzberg
Grand Hostel Berlin
Grand Hostel Berlin
#6 of 360 in Berlin
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropol Hostel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropol Hostel Berlin

Address: Mehringdamm 32, 10961 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 360 Speciality Lodging in Berlin
Price Range: $37 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Metropol Hostel Berlin 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
My place to stay – central, adventurous, relaxedOur Metropol Hostel Berlin is located in the unique, vibrant and alternative district of Kreuzberg. Besides the sharp but lovable Berlin tongue and air, you will find a multicultural flair and night life.It is situated in a quiet backyard and with view towards the TV tower. You will reach us by a underground station in front of our hostel quick and easy from all sides of Berlin.Only a stone throw away you will find the Postdamer Platz and Checkpoint Charlie for your sight seeing- and shopping tours. Just around the corner the very charming „Bergmannkiez“ will enchant you with its international cafés, restaurants and bars. Going out is a simple task, no matter if you like Electro- Rock or Jazz.Metropol Hostel Berlin is brand new with a modern design. Our single, double and dorm rooms offer with a bathroom en suite, TV and breakfast all you need for a relaxed trip to the capital.Our spacious dorm rooms are ideal for small and big groups and can be booked with their own or shared bathroom.Breakfast, linen and towels are included. We also offer rooms with half-board.In our lobby you can enjoy a cocktail at the bar, a table soccer match with new backpacker friends or surf the net. Our multilingual staff are happy to provide you with tips for hip clubs and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Metropol Hostel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropol Hostel Berlin Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing