We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located in shopping district, nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Grand Berlin
Ranked #117 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2012

The hotel is perfectly located close to shopping district, sightseeing areas and has subway connection a few steps away. Friendly staff, nice rooms and the fantastic Westin bed. Nothing to say against this place, I enjoyed the place and especially the charme and the atmosphere they maintained from the past.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank j75fr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Dear guest - thank you for your evaluation. Should your travel plans bring you back to Berlin - please remember that here is the place to be! Thank you again. The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,505 - 1,511 of 2,916 reviews

Reviewed 29 February 2012

went to this hotel with my parents as a birthday treat, was beyond lovely, worth the 5 stars, not over priced for what you get. the beds, oh the beds, they are definitely 'heavenly' i was attempting to figure out a way to take the mattress home with me!! worth it just for those beds! very close to everything, twenty minute walk to the flea markets on a sunday, 5-10 minutes for most other attractions. the zoo was a bit further out and we were feeling lazy and got a taxi, that was only 10 euros. and to the airport was about 20 euros each way! all the staff are very friendly, and the breakfasts were amazing! i literally have nothing bad to say about the hotel at all!

Room Tip: try and request a higher up room, we were on the third floor and had a view of well, nothing, we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Located just next to Franzosiche Strabe subway station.
As it is in the center it is in middle way and the same distance from Tegel and BER ( Berlin Brandenburg opening JUN 2012)
I was for BBB and it is few subway station from Tempelhof airport ( main event place in Berlin).

Around there is a lot of stores ( fashion especially).

I take it as a free night reward from SPG loyality program.

There is pool and gym but I do not use it:(

The hotel is huge, the staff was good and pleasant. Maybe not so eloquent and helpful.

Room Tip: I do not recomend 1st floor rooms ( I have changed uppon my request) - really long distance to lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ieasabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

We thank you very much for being our guest and for evaluation. It would be a pleasure to have you here on the next occasion as our valued guest.. The Westin Grand Berlin Team, Andrea W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We had a two day conference at the hotel. We have these kind of meetings about 3 times per year at different locations in Europe. We choose the Westin Grand Berlin because of its location in Berlin, the good reviews and because the offer/meeting room met our budget and needs. Once the decision on venue was made, the biggest challenge in the organisational phase was getting information/answers from the sales manager who seemed to be overworked. This is the first meeting where I did not get to meet the sales manager and where there was no follow-up of the sales manager during and after the meeting on how everything was going. Nevertheless, we were in very good hands as all our wishes during the meeting were fulfilled thanks to the wonderful catering staff and especially thanks to Frau Kiki who was very accommodating to all our needs.
Thank you very much, Frau Kiki! You made this meeting a success!

I would absolutely recommand the Westin Grand Berlin for business meetings and for pleasure. Location is great, within walking distance of the Brandenburger Tor, Checkpoint Charlie, many shops, malls, restaurants and bars. Breakfast can be taken in the hotel or there are plenty of breakfast places in Friedrichstrasse.

The hotel lobby is beautiful and impressive. There are plenty of tables and comfy seating to have something to eat or do some work on your computer. The guest room is spacious and clean; the bed is truly heavenly, the bathroom has nice toiletries and the shower is great. No need to bring your own hair dryer as the Westin's one works just great!
Minor complaints: rather expensive internet fee and the room was a bit too hot during the night. will definitely return!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SP MD 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Myself and family stayed at this hotel recently for a long weekend. We chose it due to it's central location and facilities i.e. indoor pool because our 5 year old son just loves swimming.
Although the condition of the hotel is excellent and our Junior Suite was very good what lets the hotel down in our opinion are the dining options.
Most evenings we chose to eat in the bar/lounge area due to the fact that the main restaurant was always empty not surprisingly considering it is an open area at the end of the bar/lounge area with about a dozen tables - not exactly enticing and no amotsphere at all! We found breakfast to be most unstaisfactory. It is held in a breakfast room with bright orange plastic chairs at tables with no cloths. Nobody showed us to a table so we just sat down at one and waited about 15 minutes before we were able to attract anybodys attention. When we finally did get to spaek to somebody they told us in quite an abrupt fashion that it was "buffett style" and would be 32 Euros per head. A bit over the top for a self serve breakfast in a room resembling a 2/3 star hotel rather than a 4/5 star hotel. We asked if there was a menu option and a menu was provided that you could choose items from - although this was not advertised at all. We ordered several seperate items cereals, juices, drinks etc. which were bought to our table but we were advised by the waitress that in future we would have to collect these ourselves. Needless to say we did not return for breakfast for the rest of our stay but found somewhere else to eat in the mornings.
The service in the bar/lounge area was at times not of the standard required - hardly a smile offered by the staff and on each occasion we had to wait ages at the end of our meal to sign the bill.
In summary if you are after a good location and a clean room this is the place to stay - but do not expect a great dining experience.
Westin really need to take a look at this aspect and until they do we will not be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank june576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Dear Guest, constructive reviews are always welcome as we could have a better monitoring on our service standard. It is our aim to offer our service on a high level. Therefore we thank you very much for comments; we will evaluate your impressions with the concerned manager and associates. But we can also assure you that you did not experienced our normal high quality standard. We really regret if we could not meet your expectations during your stay and will do our utmost to improve. Perhaps we get opportunity to convince you during your next Berlin-stay? We would be pleased! The Westin Grand Berlin Teams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

The Westin was in a great location. We were only minutes walking distance away from the Brandenburg Gate and many other attractions. There were plenty of restaurants around the corner as well as cafes and trinket shops. The staff was very helpful and friendly and actually helped us out when we forgot some clothes when we checked out. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Berlin.

Room Tip: You are in Berlin; don't worry about a room with a view. Get out and explore!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

We thank you so much and hope you will come back to us! The Westin Grand Berlin Team, Andrea W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I stayed back in December and still cannot sing the praises of this hotel enough. They really have something special.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJCMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#68 of 634 in Berlin
4,719 reviews
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#18 of 634 in Berlin
3,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#15 of 634 in Berlin
3,615 reviews
Charlottenburg
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
#22 of 634 in Berlin
1,575 reviews
Mitte
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Berlin

Address: Friedrichstr. 158 - 164, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#45 Family Hotel in Berlin
#45 Business Hotel in Berlin
#69 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#87 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $157 - $484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famous location in the historic city centre, trendy district "Berlin-Mitte", on the corner "Unter den Linden"/ "Friedrichstrasse" and very well connected to all public transportation.Sights like Brandenburger Tor, Checkpoint Charlie, Museumsinsel and Gendarmenmarkt within walking distance. 400 Elegant rooms and suites, lavish lobby with grand staircase, restaurant, bar, summer terrace, spacious hotel garden, spa with indoor pool, fitness area, business center, 10 function rooms. Have a little relaxation and stay well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Grand Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Berlin Hotel Berlin
Westin Hotel Berlin
Westin Berlin
Berlin Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing