We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Grand Berlin
Ranked #104 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Westin for 5 nights to celebrate her birthday. The hotel is centrally placed and very convenient for many sights. The breakfast buffet is amazing, and the staff very helpful and friendly. If you usually stay in lesser places, once you get used to having a 'turn down service' which often included replacing face flannels, you can sit back and bask in luxury (or lie back on the exremely comfortable, very large beds.)
This is the first hotel we have stayed in where we haven't been able to hear other people's plumbing. I don't know how they do it but it was a real treat not to be disturbed by the usual showering/bathing noises.The concierge was extremely helpful in arranging our visit to the Reichstag. We would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden. That way you will stay in the quietest part of the hotel. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gr1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear guest, to do our utmost for a comfortable stay for our guests is our daily business. And it is one of the best comments we can have, when guests woud like to come back. Thank you very much for your comment and: please come back soon! Your Westin Grand in Berlin! Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,262
    1,049
    299
    103
    50
See reviews for
374
1,088
216
719
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

LOCATION

This hotel is situated in the best location for sightseing as one can walk to the Bundestag (book in advance), Brandeburg tor, Tiergarden, museum minsel (book on the internet to avoid hours of queue), AlexanderPlatz, checkpoint Charlie, Postdammerplatz and Gendarmenmarkt.

To acess it from Tegel Airport , the best option is the TXL bus (30 mn). Follow the bus sign in the airport , the TXL is located under sign post 2 . Don’ bother queuing at the single vending machine as tickets(2,3 euros) can be bought from the driver . This bus get crowded fast with the numerous luggages of travellers . If you’re not alone , one should buy the tickets while the other enters the bus by the middle or back door to secure seats and luggage emplacement.
Exit the bus at “unter den Linder/ friedrichstrasse” stop which is right after the “brandeburg” stop. Then cross Friedrichstrasse , the building in front of you is the Westin but the entrance is located on another corner that can be accessed by going down Friedrichstrasse for a few meters.

When travelling by subway , the closest station is Fransosichestrasse and NOT Friedrischstrasse (as can be expected).

HOTEL

The lobby is quite spectacular as others have mentioned. The check in was smooth but devoid of warmth. The room was ready and we were upgraded to a garden room despite having booked with hotels.com for 100 euros a night.

The room is as comfortable as can be expected from a 5 stars but with no ‘wow” factor . The hotel is a little old even though furniture and appliance are recent, and wear and tear is showing on the doors mainly (crooked security chain fixation, chipped bottom..) but nothing really significant . I had trouble sleeping but cannot really tell if the bed is to blame for that.
There is no tea and coffee facility in the room and no ice in the corridor, unlike the Hilton a few blocks away.

The garden view is wonderful as one wakes up in the morning to the sound of birds and the street noises are totally blocked out. The garden itself is huge with plenty of chairs and tables to enjoy a drink, weather permitting.

The spa area is quite nice with a powerful jaccuzi , a round swimming pool and a well equipped if small gym (power plate, two treadmill, other cardio training apparatus, free weights , water is available) . The area is noisy especially when shared with children

The hotel rents bicycles.
Although internet is expensive, there is a single computer dedicated to airline check in (cannot access any other website than you airline company which you select from a menu).
We did not have food at the hotel.

There is a supermarket INSIDE the Friedrischstrasse subway station which can be found further up on Friedrichstasse (cross Unter den Linden and continue for 3 blocks)
If interested in typical German food in a typical German restaurant close to the hotel , try Alt-Berliner Kneipe, 55 Mittlestrasse (off Friedrichstrasse on the left ,next treet after crossing unter den Linden)

This hotel is highly recommended , 5 star luxury for a small price

Room Tip: garden view rooms for the sound of birds as a wake up call
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldcitizenParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Guest, we thank you very much for being our guest and for your detailed description of the city and our hotel. It is useful for other users and for us too of course. You as a frequent traveller are able to compare with other locations and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Hope, your travel plans will bring back you to Berlin and us - one ay. Yours Westin Grand Berlin Team, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We picked the Westin Grand Berlin for two reasons. One because the location is absolutely perfect and two because we had great experiences with Westins while traveling in the US.

The location of the hotel couldn't be better. When arriving at the Tegel airport, you can take the TXL bus which costs you 2,30 euro single trip (price April 2012). Bus tickets can be bought at the kiosk located at the exit of the terminal. The bus makes several stops so it takes about 20 to 30 mins to arrive in the Berlin Mitte center. The stop closest to the hotel is the first on the Unter Den Linden boulevard. From that stop it is a mere 5 minutes walk. It is close to the Brandenburger Tor and the Reichstag, within walking distance from the museum island, the TV tower, the Dom, the main shopping street Friederichstrasse (with eg. Galleries Lafayette), Checkpoint Charlie.. you name it. For further exploration of the town, for instance Kurfürstendamm, traveling by underground is a perfect fit. The U6 line runs close to the hotel with metro station Französische Strasse literally next to the entrance. Compared to other European cities, getting around by public transportation is relatively cheap.

The lobby, entrance and bar of the hotel are truly majestic with their large staircase and circular atrium. The front desk staff and concierge were absolutely helpful and friendly. Unfortunately we were given a room of which the air conditioning was broken. Something we only realised during the first night ... so not much of a heavenly sleep that night. We reported this to the receptionist who made a note and a promise to send someone to check. When we returned that evening, the room was still as hot as the previous night, so we had to go back to the reception and report this again. This time, a couple of minutes later, a friendly repair man came in and - after some checking - confirmed that the A/C was broken. Not sure why they had not come to that conclusion the first time and made the necessary repairs during the day. He arranged a quick room swap and so we packed and unpacked. Despite the friendliness in which all of this was conducted, it left a bit of a bitter taste why a 5 star hotel cannot fix these things immediately.

The breakfast was an absolute festivity with an abundance of choices and quick service.

As in many high end business hotels, wifi costs are a rip-off. Luckily there is a Starbucks on the Friederichstrasse offering internet access.... Most of the many coffee shops offer some sort of free internet access, just look for a logo or sign at their entrances.
A small but nice detail was the electrical outlet in the personal safe box. Quite handy for charging your tablet or phone while out of the room.

So overall a good hotel, but again nothing extraordinary than what one can reasonably expect from a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PeterSGhent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear guest, we thank you for choosing our hotel for your Berlin stay. And we deeply regret that we have disappointed you in regards to the air condition. Unfortunately we can not understand why the service did not work in your case but please be assured that you did not experienced our normal high service level. Please accept our sincere apology for any inconveniences this may have caused. If you could give me your room number and name I would like to follow up the matter. Yours Westin Grand Berlin Team, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012 via mobile

I traveled to Berlin with my husband and 6 other friends to run the Berlin Half Marathon. While we originally wanted to rent an apartment, it became clear that with our group, a hotel was going to work best. My husband chose The Westin largely because he's a major SPG fan. However, I think his choice couldn't have been more perfect.

The location is excellent - literally blocks from the Brandenburg Gate, the metro, and an easy walk to so many other places. We took a cab from TXL; other friends found the train an easy ride from the other airport. The Westin is also a short cab ride from the main train station.

Our room was on the courtyard side of the building, so it was very quiet. As always, the bed was heavenly, and the toiletries were the same as you'd find at any other Westin. The room itself was on the smaller side, but I think that might be normal for Europe.

Within blocks of the hotel, you'll also find a drugstore, a coffee shop (with free wifi), and a Bugatti dealer (for the travel essentials...). Only complaint was that we couldn't find a grocery store or something of the like to procure some bananas or other pre-race food/snacks.

If we ever come back to Berlin, I'd definitely consider the Westin again!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CAHoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear guest, so nice to see that you did not regret your choice for our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay. We also hope your marathon run was successful. Take care and be well at Westin Hotels worldwide. Yours Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The location of the hotel so near the metro station and also main line station Friedrichstrasse was convenient for our arrival - a direct train from Schonefeld airport and a 4 minute walk. It was also great as a base for sightseeing. We sat down to eat in the restaurant at 11pm and were certainly not the only ones there. Our room was average sized but luxurious with a great bathroom and very quiet. We used the spa and pool both of which were excellent. My only quibble is the ridiculously high rate for wifi. We didn't bother with it as virtually all cafes have free wifi and sell delicious cakes and coffee to consume while you're using it!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmadmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for your stay and thank you for your comments and advises and will evalutate your comment internally to see where we can be better. We are pleased to see that you felt well.
Yours Westin Grand Berlin Team, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We spent a week at the Westin Grand in March and enjoyed the stay very much. It provided a very well-located base to explore much of Berlin's diverse cultural offerings. Within easy walking distance are some of the world's great museums, as well as numerous WWII memorials. The rear of the hotel is on Unter den Linden, Berlin's most famous street. U-Bahn and S-Bahn public transport is steps away and therefore ultra convenient. There are also excellent restaurants and shopping within walking distance.

More specifically, our hotel room and bathroom were top notch - clean, spacious and comfortable. The breakfast buffet, although very expensive, was outstanding - one of the best I've ever seen. The concierge staff was extremely helpful and went out of their way to make excellent recommendations. The one negative was having dinner at the hotel. The food was mediocre and expensive, but that was easily solved by not eating dinner there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMLLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
We just say Thank You for being our guest and for making the efforts to evaluate all experiences. Guest comments are important to us for monitoring our service. We hope our service has convinced you and you will be our guest again.
Your Westin Grand Berlin Team, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Located in the affluent part of Berlin's Freidrichstrasse, this SPG hotel formerly known as The Grand Hotel Berlin has been given a fresh new touch of contemporary by Westin. A grand staircase is the centerpiece of the lobby, one could feel almost as if the man himself was gonna trot down at any second along with his entourage. But in the evening, it morphs into another feature attraction where subtle colours are projected onto the staircase to transform the lobby into a ambient lounge with music such as Garden by the Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs playing in the background. Ist gail!

The rooms are standard European size featuring the Westin Heavenly Beds and the usuals. There are standard and feature suites such as Spa suites, for those who are into wellness and fitness.

This is a completely non-smoking hotel so smoking is only permitted outside the lobby where tables and ashtrays are provided. However, some rooms and suites have balconies so either request for one, or opt to smoke in the room and pay EUR100 so they can rid the tobacco smell after.

Room Tip: Choose a room or suite with a balcony if you are a smoker as this is a completely non-smoking hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShukorZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#56 of 634 in Berlin
4,443 reviews
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 634 in Berlin
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#10 of 634 in Berlin
1,209 reviews
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#52 of 634 in Berlin
1,917 reviews
Mitte
TITANIC Gendarmenmarkt Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Berlin

Property: The Westin Grand Berlin
Address: Friedrichstr. 158 - 164, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#45 Business Hotel in Berlin
#69 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#70 Family Hotel in Berlin
#79 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famous location in the historic city centre, trendy district "Berlin-Mitte", on the corner "Unter den Linden"/ "Friedrichstrasse" and very well connected to all public transportation.Sights like Brandenburger Tor, Checkpoint Charlie, Museumsinsel and Gendarmenmarkt within walking distance. 400 Elegant rooms and suites, lavish lobby with grand staircase, restaurant, bar, summer terrace, spacious hotel garden, spa with indoor pool, fitness area, business center, 10 function rooms. Have a little relaxation and stay well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Grand Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Berlin Hotel Berlin
Westin Hotel Berlin
Westin Berlin
Berlin Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing