We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,945)
Filter reviews
2,945 results
Traveller rating
1,491
1,147
230
51
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,491
1,147
230
51
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews large supermarket supermarket downstairs central atrium u bahn station the ground floor very nice hotel tegel airport parking garage close to the hotel reception desk the room was nice the air conditioning reception area per day bars and restaurants comfortable rooms public transport
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 2,945 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2018

From check in to departure we were well treated. I suffer from tinnitus and always need a quiet room free from "technical" noises. This was perfectly handled and we were upgraded to a larger and so called older room . It was perfect, quiet and we saw nothing old about it. A fantastic shower and great storage. The staff were excellent and we shall be returning next month.

Room tip: Older rooms on front are great!
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChapeauHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Hotel MOA Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2018

Dear laurence,

thank you so much for your freidnly feedback.

We are happy to welcome you again next week. Your room is allready reserved:-)

Best wishes -
Rika Hundrack & the MOA Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2018 via mobile

Hotel
Nice spacious clean room with comfy beds and lovely shower.
Excellent hair dryer in the bathroom.
Good quiet aircon.
Only 6 hangers in the spacious wardrobe.
Lots of plug sockets and tea/coffee making facilities plus a handy fridge.
Good breakfast but same thing each day so it was a little boring on our 5th day.
The lifts are confusing at first as there are different lifts to use depending on which part of the building your room is.
They are extremely slow.
There was construction work on during our stay (no problem with noise) so the stairs were for emergency use only which was annoying.

Location
We arrived on a grey cloudy morning and found the area surrounding the hotel a little scruffy with street drinkers and a beggar outside the station. We later discovered that this was quite normal for most areas of Berlin.
During the evening the area lit up with a few bars and restaurants.
The hotel is in a complex with a large supermarket which was well stocked and reasonably priced.

Restaurants
Also in the complex is an Asian buffet €10 lunch and €20 dinner. We are there one night but the food was poor quality and we did not feel that it was value for money.

We found an excellent Greek restaurant less than a 10 minute walk from the hotel that we would highly recommend-
Taverna Amphipolis (separate review)
“My partner and I had the pleasure of eating at this lovely restaurant.
The mother and daughter servers could not have been more welcoming.
They both spoke good English and provided us with an English menu.
There was a wide variety of food to choose from all reasonably priced.
We were given Complimentary bread and ordered garlic bread and mushrooms to start. My parter had pork in garlic sauce with potato fries and broccoli and I had moussaka - both were absolutely delicious.
We shared a litre of red wine and was given a complimentary shot of Ouzo.
The total bill was €47.
The whole experience was very good and we would recommend this restaurant.”

Places to visit
Sacsenhausen Concentration Camp
An interesting visit with lots of history.
We had a guided tour which we would highly recommend.
Chloe from Inside Tour was fabulous.
She was very passionate about Berlin’s history and made our trip very informative.

Berlin Wall/checkpoint Charlie
Lots of information to read about the history. Free and worth a look.

Tiergarten
We hired bicycles and rode through this Beautiful large park which has a canal and lake. You can see a few animals in the adjoining zoo through the fence which is a bonus. There is a lovely cafe serving fresh food and drinks by the lake which was reasonably priced. Well worth a visit.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sparklef2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChapeauHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Hotel MOA Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2018

Hello Sparkle :-)

We hope you had a plesant trip back home. We love your detailed feedback. Thanks for your effort!

We appreciate your comments and suggestions for improvement regarding the breakfast, which I'll forward to the head chef imediately.
We would love to welcome you again to the next marathon. Then the numbering in the elevators will be adapted. At the moment we have opened the staircases for our guests. We're sorry if we didn't sharethe information with you.

We wish you all the best.

You MOA Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2018 via mobile

Spent 4 nights at the hotel and felt assured by the abundance of positive reviews. Sadly, the hotel fell short of my expectations as a visitor in Berlin for the following reasons:
1. Moabit location is a poor choice for Berlin travelers. This neighborhood is a commute away from many of the top Berlin attractions. I found the hotel vicinity to be pretty boring and pale in comparison to Mitte, shopping street area and other better choices for Berlin.
2. Lack of Hotel Vibe and feel- the Moa felt more like a big conference center. The busy conference center action overshadows the vacation and travel experience.
3. Reception availability was unacceptable for a 4 star hotel. I found myself having to "work the phones" on more than one occasion in order to reach the front desk. This is shameful service for a hotel of this class and especially one from the Mercure brand which I personally like a lot.
Alongside these drawbacks, I will favorably note some of the better parts of the stay. For one, the hotel staff were all professional, courteous and pleasant. The Moa team are fantastic!
Second, the privilege room we stayed in was spacious, well kept and clean. It's more than anyone can ask for and they even went as far as providing a spare dental kit which is not something you see in every hotel. Beds were comfortable as well.
Breakfast offered an impressive and rich variety and was more than solid. Including fresh squeezed orange juice and a waffle maker which was terrific. That said, many of the warm dishes were distasteful- including the pancakes, sausages and scrambled eggs. Breakfast could have been literally perfect had the warm dishes been carefully attended to and improved. The Moa is certainly not a bad place to stay and could be an option I would consider for business travel or at a better value and rate. However, better options likely exist for those coming to Berlin for travel.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank 140Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChapeauHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Hotel MOA Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2018

Dear Dave,

thank you for this honest and detailed feedback.

Your are right we are a conference hotel with private and bisiness events for small or big groups.
Unfortunately you didn't felt in love with Moabit on the first sight:-)
Moabit is getting more and more popular. It's the perfect choice for travellers they are looking for the authentic part of Berlin, not only the touristivc part. Also with the public transport in walking distance we have a good connection to all the sights.

We are very proud about our team. Thank you for your praise. Your comments regarding the breakfast are very helpful to improve our service and to choose carefully our products.

We would be happy to get another chance to convince you.

All the best -
your MOA Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2018 via mobile

I liked the Mercure Hotel. It is a good hotel. There is a good breakfast. Good and clean rooms. The staff is friendly. A supermarket is under the hotel. A lot of restaurants are close to the hotel. Subway and Underground station are not far.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank JeroenH666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChapeauHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Hotel MOA Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2018

Thank you for this nice feedback.

We wish you all the best-
your MOA Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2018

Nothing to report, everything was fine.
I cannot comment on the restaurant, as I did not make use of it.
Metro station nearby is definitely an advantage.
Berlin-Tegel Airport is easily reachable in 20 minutes, by public transport.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank masda65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChapeauHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Hotel MOA Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay in our hotel and your time to write this friendly review.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again


Best regards .
You MOA Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews