We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very comfortable business hotel, with great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
Ranked #46 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 February 2012

This was my second stay here after a several year absence from Berlin.

it is superbly located, across the river from the Berliner Dom, the restored Cathedral, built by Hollenzollerns. The crypt has the tombs of many of the Royalty that ruled Prussia and Germany. The hotel is close by the Alexanderplatz, the Hackesher Market, in the heart of Mitte, formerly East Berlin. In nice weather it is a great walk past Museum Island, Humboldt University and down Unter Der Linden to the Brandenburg Gate.

about the hotel - it is large but efficient. It hosts groups, but it doesn't affect the front desk, dining and bar areas, etc. A striking feature is the large cylindrical aquarium that stretches to the top of the atrium.

my room was nicely outfitted, with a great bed, down duvets and many pillows. There was decent closet space with built in hangars and shelves. The negative is the lack of any night light in the very blacked out room, and a number of doorways with sharp edges. I hit my head in the dark, with a minor gash to my forehead.

Despite that, my stay was serene and comfortable, with reasonable rates during a period that many hotels had upped their rates significantly and were too expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,032)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,504 - 2,510 of 5,032 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2012

My husband & I stayed here for 3 nights in Jan in a business class room overlooking the River Spreee & Cathedral. As most people have mentioned, the lobby is quite spectacular with the aquarium & it's fish providing a big wow on arrival & many more contented moments sat watching whilst sipping a nice cold beer !!
Aside from that, this hotel is well located for many of the Berlin sights- it was a pleasant stroll to Alexanderplatz and the TV tower & right next door to some of the art museums. We also used the hop on/off tour bus & there is a stop right outside the hotel, which was fab.
We had breakfast included in our room rate, which was well worth it ;the whole cheeseboard selection & smoked salmon was enough to keep me happy, but there was plenty more to choose from & even my hubby (who is normally a little disappointed when we breakfast outside the UK as he favours the cooked items) was well happy with the hot goods, which included eggs cooked any way you liked thanks to the egg station, bacon, sausages (2 kinds) meatballs, mushrooms & herby potatoes- yum!
We really liked our room. I would not say it was the height of luxury, but was modern, contemporary, well laid out and more than ample in size.The only downside you may wish to consider is that a double room is in fact 2 twin beds pushed together. I already knew this before we went so wasn't bothered & the beds were at least very comfy. We liked the Nespresso coffee machine but did miss being able to make a cup of tea (but think this is pretting standard in European hotels).
We used the swimming pool which was nicely done. It may have been a little small but was excellent for a dip and refresh before heading out for the evening. There was also a sauna & steam room, but we didn't use these.
All the members of staff we spoke to were more then polite, helpful & efficient & I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone visting Berlin !

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dancingisfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Stayed 6 days at this hotel..it was average and there are better options in Berlin.
Everyone comments about the aquarium in the lobby the reality is if you don't have an inside room to look at the aquarium the view from the lobby/bar area is not very good and can only be viewed if you want to keep looking upwards as you sit at the bar which is not really practical.
Room - clean but small, the storage closet is not very functional, there are no clocks in room, tv channels are limited,room lighting poor and desk area work space very small internet access was good. My room was on the first floor with street view only patio type doors, no windows, so if you want fresh air you have to keep one of the doors open. Room was quite with doors closed there was no noticeable outside road noise. No irons in room.
Bathroom on the other hand is very small, the tub/shower combo is very tight. Sink counter top is very small it is difficult to have your toiletries on counter top due to lack of space. Terrible sulfur type smell at times.
Bar- lobby area just ok nothing spectacular. In the morning to handle the breakfast spill over from the restaurant they set up another buffet around the bar area.
Breakfast - good selection, but if it is not included you have to pay 25 euro per person at this price it is way over rated.
Staff overall friendly and very accommodating.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgtny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Me and my Fiance had a lovely stay just before Christmas. Berlin was great at that time of year and the hotel was brill. 'Sea-view' was novel and the hotel's style was really cool.

Few points; if you do book a sea-view you won't get any day-light and the room gets very warm. Unfortunately the rooms had 2 single beds pushed together - not very romantic!!

Daniel on the front desk was excellent too!

Room Tip: See if you can get a double, not two singles. if you want to see the top of the tank you have to h...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

My mother and I had a wonderful stay here. We checked in on the 17th of December for the Christmas markets and stayed for three nights. The staff were all so friendly and very helpful. We'd booked a Business Class room, for a spot of luxury, but on arrival they advised us that there were no Business Class rooms available, but hoped we would be satisfied with a Junior Suite instead. Erm... yes please! On the second morning they were decorating the HEAT restaurant, so there was a minor delay in seating us for breakfast. We weren't too bothered about this, but during our meal a member of staff came around with a tray containing glasses of champagne, by way of an apology. Such a lovely touch, which was appreciated! We also used the hotel spa, which was lovely! There's a bar in the spa too, so I had a drink there while my mother had her treatment. Perfectly located for Mitte and if you go for the Christmas markets it's just over the road from my favourite Christmas market. Will definitely be staying her again at some point in the future!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElleJayDubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I've never spent so much time fixated on the interior of a hotel. I made sure I got a room facing the aquarium. This was a real treat. Such a fantastic and surreal view from the room!
Hotel staff were very professional and courteous, probably some of the best services I've received in a hotel. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the aquarium (no external view but it's quite surreal!)
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank KayCeeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Very interesting hotel - the huge Aquarium in the lobby is an eye cacher! Stylish location, inspired modern design, friendly staff with an helpful and well informed concierge. Didn't try the breakfast. We stayed three times in Mitte last year but Radisson Blu is still top of the list. And the view from the room - watching the fishes .... is something!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Surfer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#64 of 635 in Berlin
4,582 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Melia Berlin
Melia Berlin
#28 of 635 in Berlin
5,129 reviews
Mitte
Park Inn by Radisson Berlin Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#58 of 635 in Berlin
1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin

Address: Karl-Liebknecht-Strasse 3, 10178 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Berlin
#20 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#26 Family Hotel in Berlin
#28 Business Hotel in Berlin
#29 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#38 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $194 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 427
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel is one of the most exciting hotels in Berlin-Mitte. It is located in the historic centre directly on the bank of the river Spree and opposite to the Berlin Cathedral. Just a strolls away are restaurants, bars, boutiques, galleries and famous sights, such as Alexanderplatz, Museum Island, Boulevard Unter den Linden and the exclusive shops along Friedrichstrasse. Public transport, Berlin airport and the Messe Berlin fairground are within easy reach. A unique attraction is the AquaDom at the hotel lobby. It is the world’s largest cylindrical aquarium with a fascinating underwater world in one million litres of salt-water. 427 non-smoking guest rooms and suites combine timeless elegance with cutting edge comfort. The clear design in the puristic style reflects urban trends. The dark wood and warm tones of the high-class furniture create a homely atmosphere. All rooms are equipped with flat screen TV, trouser press, laptop-size safe, air-conditioning, minibar, tea and coffee provisions. Wireless-LAN and high-speed Internet access is included in the room rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rezidor, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin Hotel Berlin
Radisson Berlin
Berlin Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing