We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe "Minor Royalty" but never "Queen"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Berlin City West
Ranked #230 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 10 August 2011

This hotel is located quite close to the U Bahn and most convenient. Rooms are smallish a la European style. The staff, although most pleasant, are totally unknowledgeable about the most basic questions: "Where is the closest Catholic Church?" We got directions to the closest Catholic "hospital." Where is the nearest German restaurant? "Oh, ,just walk down this or that street and you are bound to find one or two." We found Italian, Greek, Indian, but nary a German one. Do we have to validate train tickets? "Yes," was the quick reply. Of course, no such thing was necessary and I spent wasted minutes looking for the validation machine! The hotel "maps" are unreadable, and the ones that were disappeared from the supply cabinet. Breakfasts were OK, but if a tour group happened to be there early in the morning, the pickings were slim indeed. The kitchen staff seemed most relunctant to bring out food replacements. The milk was almost always close to being spoiled. I have a good measure of all this since we stayed nine days. I think I would chose hotel closer to the center of things if I ever went to Berlin again. That in itself s rather doubtful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BHSLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2011

This hotel is very close to the u-bahn which is an added bonus. The staff were all really friendly and helpful. The rooms and hotel were clean. I enjoyed the buffet breakfast, I found plenty of choices of hot and cold food, plus free newspapers each day, both in the restaurant and the lobby. Would stay here again and recommend the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zoologist78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

I stayed here in Septemebr on my first trip to Berlin. The hotel is a two minute walk from the U-Bahn which means it was great for getting around to see Berlin's museums, galleries and such-like. The area the hotel is in is a bit soul-less and dead at night but had local shops and amenities and certainly didn't feel unsafe.

I didn't eat breakfast in the hotel but there are cafes and a supermarket within walking distance.

The room was a good enough size, amply furnished and clean, with no smell of smoking. It was quiet too.

The staff on reception were polite and helpful and the cocktails served in the evening looked nice, although i didn't try one.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank There_Goes_The_Fear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

I was completely satisfied with every aspect of this hotel. My double room was quiet, clean and a nice size. The location is wonderful and there is a big health food shop around the corner.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phoebe_skywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

To be fair to the hotel, we stayed here for 1 night as part of a tour, when the tour company forgot to book a hotel - it can't have been easy accommodating 36 people at 23:00, who'd been driven around Berlin for 4 hours. Really nice barmaid who kept the bar open until 01:00 so we could at least wind down and relax for a couple of hours. Rooms were standard city style and the breakfast was nice, if you avoided the mouldy supermarket sliced bread for the toaster.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exwetherby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

The best thing about this hotel was its location: it was near a train and bus stations; also near a pharmacy, sandwich shop and about 15 minutes walk to a supermarket.

The only thing I didn't like was no aircon. I stayed a few nights during the World Cup 2006 and it was hot, and the lack of aircon was hard to take.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Balwinder_K_Dhaliwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

We just had a break between xmas and new year 2010.
Hotel is well situated for restaurants,shops and attractions i.e zoo and tiergarten.
We HIGHLY RECOMMEND restaurant ROBBENGATTER its on GRUNEWALDSTRASSE 55, 10825, excellent ambience,beer food and service.
Hotel is to a 3 star standard but it is clean and comfortable excellent reception ladies.
Good breakfast but tiny bit limited and could be hotter.
City tour tickets from reception (20 euro) each very good value for a city tour of Berlin.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oddw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
NH Berlin City West
#181 of 635 in Berlin
671 reviews
TWO Hotel Berlin by Axel
#206 of 635 in Berlin
104 reviews
Charlottenburg
Leonardo Hotel Berlin
Leonardo Hotel Berlin
#104 of 635 in Berlin
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Carolinenhof
#316 of 635 in Berlin
65 reviews
Ibis Berlin City West
#194 of 635 in Berlin
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Berlin City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Berlin City West

Address: Guentzelstr. 14, 10717 Berlin, Germany (Formerly BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel Berlin City West)
Region: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Best Value Hotel in Berlin
#142 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $72 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Berlin City West 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Berlin City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Berlin
Berlin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing