We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little pricey - but nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade
Ranked #142 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed for a business trip in january 2012. Hotel is a little on the pricey side, nice big, clean rooms, good beds - breakfast and food a little expensive, actually quite a bit compared to cafe´s and restaurants in the city, service very good, location hmm, eventhough located in the center of Berlin - there is a bit of a walk if you want to soak up the atmosphere at the shops, restaurants and bars at Kurfürstendam - one of the main centers of Berlin. There are much closer and cheaper options if that is the pupose of the trip.
But anyway Berlin is a great city to visit and there is lot of things to see and do.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thodin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,081)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

657 - 663 of 2,081 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2012

Lovely rooms, nice staff. If you're going to have breakfast book online as it's €12 compared to €18-20 if you don't. We ate out at nearby Cafe Einstein - not much cheaper but much nicer atmosphere. Harry's Bar in the hotel is just a hotel bar, nice for an early or late drink if you're staying there but not worth a special trip.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda66611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

The executive suite (we got the buisness corner suite) was clean, very bright and comfortable. The heating system annoyed us howewer as we could not control the temperature ourselves. The in-room air condition didnt seem to have much effect, this resulting in us opening the windows at times to let some chill breezes come in to the room. I mean, come on Esplanade, who likes to sleep in 27-28 degrees heat all night in January? At least not us norwegians for sure.. There should also have been a full body mirror in the entré to the suite. 6 euro for a bottle of water, I don´t even want to comment on that. Go to a local store and buy your water for 0, 60 euros. Nice bathroom with shower and bathtub, good selection of amenities. Toothbrushes are free of charge, first time I have seen that in a hotel.

The breakfast buffet was very nice, look out for special offers on it as the standard rate of 22 euros is a tad bit to much for what you get I think.

The swimming pool/gym/spa area was quite nice.

Harrys new york bar – a safe bet if you are in need of a late night cocktail. I have read some comments here about rude staff in the bar. We were treated nicely. Only downside was that they didnt have live music on a saturday night.

The employees were polite and nice, but not "all smiles". This is afterall germany. Ordnung muss sein. Very efficient front desk. They did however charge/reserve some kind of deposit (ca 100 euros) on my stay, without letting me know. This has now been replaced. A simple notice would have been fine.

The location is ok, there is nothing much in the immidiate surrounding area but it is not far to the main attractions in Berlin. Taxis are by the way ridicioulosly inexpensive in Berlin. There is also an bus stop 2 min from the hotel. The tube station (Nollendorfplatz) is a 8-10min walk from the hotel. For choices in the area try restaurants “Maharadsja” (Indian) and “Il Valentino” (Italian). Both have gotten favourable reviews on tripadvisor. “Bar am Lützowplatz” looked like a good choice for drinks.

We paid 139 euro a night for an executive suite (about 55-60m2). That is indeed good value for money, off course not only judging by the size but foremost by quality. Exellent beds and linens! Housekeeping did their job to our satisfaction. Would probably come again given I would get the same deal, but Berlin has indeed many magnificent hotels to choose from.

Room Tip: get a room with a view of the canal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alex-the-travel-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We had a nice weekend break with friends in Berlin.A very nice hotel but doesn't quite make the 5 stars for me.Some staff a bit surly and don't reach a 5 star service.Good food but a tad pricey for what you get.Rooms comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jockhaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

we stayed there for a romantic weekend and booked a suite with our own SPA facilities. It was just superb! The suite itself was gorgeous - enough space for relaxing, sleeping, working.
The location was also great - even if we decided to most of our trips by cab but the main Berlin spots are just a few minutes away.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zum_fettigen_joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed here mid December for my boyfriend's 30th birthday and let's just say, our trip was a little bit of a let down.

Overall, the hotel is spotless, comfortable and very much lives up to its 5* rating in this respect. The rooms were cleaned every day to a high standard, the staff were helpful and the pool was really lovely, albeit slightly cold.

However, it was ludicrously expensive!! I've never stayed in a 5* hotel before so maybe I'm just naive in that department but I was under the illusion that paying a lot of money for a hotel room basically brought with it a few luxuries other than comfort?? We arrived at the hotel after a long trip and were greeted with a very pleasant receptionist. We were then showed to our room by the concierge and we settled in our lovely room for the night. My partner opened the mini bar as we were very hungry, only to find a bottle of water was 6 euro and a packet of nuts was 4 euro. Again, may be this is the norm. But seriously, they shouldn't be allowed to sell things at those prices. We ventured down to the restuarant, glanced at the menu and then left again...there was no way we were paying 20 euro for a burger.

The hotel wouldn't be that bad if there was a shop or off licence near by but there is NOTHING. We ended up walking for about 20 minutes to get something to eat or drink and ended up getting on the subway to find something. Not a great welcome to Berlin.

Admittedly, if we were that hungry we could have paid those prices but I really think that 'luxury' hotels play on the fact that wealthy businessmen stay there who can claim on expenses and unfortunately, the hotel definitely fits this bill. It is extremely 'businessy' and lacks a lot of charm and character. The hotel is huge so we very rarely saw other guests, except for a businessman spending nearly 150 euros on three beers and food in the restaurant one night. On the last night we decided to splurge and order sparkling wine on room service. I had bought this in advance during the booking stage so they bought it to our room, we opened it and it had corked. When I called them to replace it, they took an hour to bring a new one up. We'd gone to bed by this point.

The breakfast was stupidly expensive (there's no way I would ever pay 5 euros for a croissant...) so we never ordered any.

Harry's bar is very pretentious and the rude barman kept our change from a 20 euro note when our bill only came to 12. The people that go in there are snotty and stuck up so we steered clear. There was also an event taking place on one of the nights that looked akin to a film premier...lets just say that when we returned to the hotel from our day's sightseeing, we were looked up and down by photographers and glared at by the guests.

I definitely won't be staying here again but if you're a businessman looking for comfort, this is right up your street!!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river are much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

i stayed here with my spouse for three nights over the new year period. we enjoyed our stay and i would definately stay here again. however, although the hotel is rated 5 star, and there are many good points, there are also one or two areas of improvement needed.

GOOD POINTS
1. staff were always helpful and polite
2. everywhere was spotlessly clean
3. our room was very comfortable, clean, and well appointed
4. breakfast was delicious with a wide choice of hot and cold items
5. decoration of whole hotel was of an excellent standard, the style is modern
6. the bedding is very high quality and therefore very comfortable
7. the hotel is well situated, it is possible to walk to many sights in the city
8. the hotel is on the banks of the canal giving it a quiet, but reasonably central situation

POINTS FOR IMPROVEMENT
1. charge of over 6 euros for small bottle of water in room - 5 star establishments normally provide complementary water
2. heating in room wasn't operative the whole 3 days we were there, the radiator was cold, and the blown air heating appeared to be faulty, it didn't work. upon telephoning to relay this information, 2 young girls were despatched to our room with a small fan heater. they fiddled with the buttons, felt the radiator and advised us to turn everything off and use the fan heater. although we were not especially cold due to using the fan heater, and also the rest of the hotel was very warm - therefore our room contained some of the heat from the rest of the hotel - we felt that for a 5 star establishment, this was an inadequate response
3. chocolates are placed beside the bed each evening, but on our last night they did not materialise. again, for a 5 star establishment, this is unacceptable
4. no DVD player in room, again not good enough for 5 star
5. no computer access available, since tourists do not usually carry their laptops with them, it is impossible to check in for your flight on line, therefore obliging you to stand in a long line at the airport, and possibly, like us, not therefore being able to sit together on the aircraft
6. for those who do take a laptop, usually business people, the internet charges are over 6 euros per hour - perhaps hotel management feel this is acceptable for businesses to pay, however many hotels offer free internet

as i stated earlier, i would stay here again, however my husband said he would not stay again, as he felt the hotel makes unnecessary charges on top of an already high rate, which in particular, hit the tourist more than the business person, who usually have all their costs met by their company.
the hotel will provide a kettle, cups and milk if asked. we took a few teabags up from breakfast aswell, so we could enjoy a cup of tea when we returned from sight seeing.
there is a small grocery store just around the corner where you can buy water and soft drinks for a very small price, if like me, you need to carry water with you at all times.

Room Tip: pay the extra charge for a room overlooking the canal. the view is very pleasant. the city view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maddyHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof
Charlottenburg
Hotel Palace Berlin
Hotel Palace Berlin
#32 of 633 in Berlin
1,970 reviews
Charlottenburg
InterContinental Berlin
InterContinental Berlin
#30 of 633 in Berlin
2,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Kempinski Hotel Bristol
Kempinski Hotel Bristol
#167 of 633 in Berlin
1,753 reviews
Mitte
The Westin Grand Berlin
The Westin Grand Berlin
#116 of 633 in Berlin
2,893 reviews
Charlottenburg
Berlin Marriott Hotel
Berlin Marriott Hotel
#23 of 633 in Berlin
1,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade

Address: Luetzowufer 15 | 10785 Berlin, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Grand Hotel Esplanade Berlin)
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#53 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#58 Business Hotel in Berlin
#79 Family Hotel in Berlin
#104 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $130 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Grand Hotel Esplanade Berlin, the German capital's premiere lifestyle hotel. Our hotel is situated close to all the hotspots of the city: between Kurfurstendamm and Potsdamer Platz, the triumphal column 'Siegessaule' and the Tiergarten district. Experience Berlin's culture and urban style with us, because we are lively, cosmopolitan and completely individual. Enjoy the ambiance of our generously proportioned, elegantly appointed rooms and bath in the natural light streaming through the large-area panoramic windows. Relax in ergonomically designed armchairs, snuggle up in our soft and cosy feather duvets, and simply enjoy the warm and welcoming service our house has to offer. The motto for our 354 rooms and 40 suites could most certainly be 'soaring high above the city', as our large-area panoramic windows offer fantastic views of the capital. These views are surpassed only by our luxurious suites with roof terrace. Sauna and whirlpool round off this truly amazing offer. A business gala for 350 guests or a birthday dinner for 10 - we will help you plan your event and will make sure that it will be absolutely unforgettable. And of course we are very well aware of the fact that the key to success is in the minutest detail. Whatever you want - Grand Hotel Esplanade Berlin will help you put together a memorable event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing