We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect city-break hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ARCOTEL Velvet

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ARCOTEL Velvet
Ranked #136 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona
Level Contributor
132 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Perfect city-break hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

This hotel is perfect for a city break, being walking distance from many places and with excellent public transport connections. The rooms are modern, clean and nicely lit/decorated, the reception helpful, and the bar serves a free breakfast (filled bagels, coffee & fruit) which was perfect for us to grab on our way out somewhere.
The rooms at the front look out onto the street - if you are in front but high up this could be nice but on the lower floors you could feel a little exposed (the windows of the rooms are full-wall floor to ceiling, although of course there are drapes) - we didn't mind but I understand the rooms at the back are also quieter.

Room Tip: Take room at the back, or at the front on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparklebcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    285
    78
    27
    9
See reviews for
62
320
37
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ekero, Sweden
Level Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

My husband and I and two of our friends stayed at Arcotel Velvet for 5 nights over Silvester 2011/2012. The location is excellent, a few minutes from U-bahn Oranienburger Strasse, a few more from S-bahn Oranienburger Tor and about a 10 minute walk from Friedrichstrasse station and you can easily walk to places like Hackescher Hof and Brandenburger Tor. It’s also right next door to the ‘alternative’ art collective Tacheles which is very Berlin, but they also play loud music during the day which was a little disturbing for our friends who had a room towards the back.
We had a Superior room on the fourth floor at the end of the corridor (409) which was very nice. They have a rather unusual open plan shower layout in the room, but as long as you are OK with seeing your travel companion without clothes that’s fine. They also have rooms with separate shower so if you like I guess you can ask for one of them. The floor to ceiling windows gave us a lovely view of the street and we were not disturbed by street noise – just remember to draw the curtains before you get out of said shower. A downside of the room was the lack of storing space, only one small cupboard and anything on a hanger had to go together with our jackets. Our friend’s room did not even have a space for hanging clothes.
Some booking sites list WiFi as being part of the room, but this only true for the suites. The Superior and Comfort rooms have wired internet and WiFi is available in the foyer. Also, our booking site claimed there were coffee making facilities in the room which also was not correct – refer to the hotel web site to check what amenities are included.
The staff was very helpful and nice. We did not try the breakfast-in-a-bag but other guests seemed to either collect them to their rooms or sit in the lobby bar to eat.
We found several really good restaurants just minutes from the hotel, I will rate them on their own posts but also list them here:
Beisl am Tacheles – the Austrian restaurang right next to the hotel was cosy, the staff friendly and the food good
Bellini cocktail lounge – a few blocks towards Hackescher Markt the Bellini lounge made amazingly good cocktails (ok, and a few weird).
Restaurang Oranium – we had breakfast here 4 of our 6 mornings, a wonderful place!
Ristorante Al Dente – a cosy Italian with excellent pasta on Auguststrasse, first street left across from the hotel
Amrit – the Indian right across from Tacheles has horrible service and ok food. Not worth it.

Room Tip: Room 409 is at the end of the corridor and has a view of the street. Room 515 is slightly smaller an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomlinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VelvetBerlin, Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear Guest,

We are writing to sincerely thank you for having chosen the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin.

It was a pleasure to have you stayed with us, and we are delighted that you were satisfied with the hotel, it´s location and our helpful service team.

Thank you also for taking the time to give us a feedback.

Furthermore we are very sorry to hear that you had no WiFi on your room and no coffee making facilities, like it was claimed on our booking site. We always have some mobile routers for the WiFi at the reception, for our guest which can not use the internet with a kabel. To be sure we have made a note in your guest file, to prepare these things for you on your next stay.

We would like to wish you all the best and we hope forward to welcoming you back in our ARCOTEL Hotels in the near future.

Kind regards,


TERESA STABENOW
Feedback Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 4 days late December and the hotel was excellent.
I agree with other TA reviewers in respect of quiet rooms at the rear (courtyard) otherwise you are in full view of all the bars opposite and on the main street. There are lots of bars and restraunts on Oranienburger Strass and also further on is Hackerscher Market and Alexanderplatz which both have good atmosphere at this time of year.The hotel is well located and in walking distance of many of the tourist attractions. It is also 100 metres away from the underground train system.
You can buy a ticket for one day for up to 5 people, which covers train, bus and trams that will cover many of the tourist attractions for 15 euros, which I thought was great value.
The hotel bar did not seem to be in use at night but this was no problem as you could sit outside at the bars opposite under the heaters and watch the world go by. I would certainly recommend this hotel for a long weekend or short stay.

Room Tip: rooms that overlook the courtyard are quieter ,the front ones overlook the main st.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nazza30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VelvetBerlin, Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin, it was a pleasure to have you staying with us.

We are especially grateful for the time you have taken to give us a feedback.

We are very happy to hear that you liked the hotel and it’s location with all the bars and restaurants around. Thank you for your kind note.

We would like to wish you all the best and we are looking forward already to welcome you back at the ARCOTEL Velvet within the near future.

Kind regards,

TERESA STABENOW
Feedback Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cascais
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

I've stayed in ArcoTEL Velvet in Berlim in December of 2011 with some friends. I found the hotel nice. The staff always very friendly and helpful. The location was everything for me. Oranienburger Strasse, the street of the hotel, has lots of restaurants and pubs, it's nice for nightlife. There's a lots of public transports nearby on walking distance. The rooms are ok ... not very big but always very clean. The only true downside was the bathroom that was a bit small for me and somehow weird. Mine had the toilet separated from the rest (shower and lavatory). The toilet itself was in a cubicle very claustrophobic while the rest was on a division that had no door all in glass. Nevertheless the two together made a small bathroom.

Overall i think this hotel is very good for a city break.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaMargaridaFerreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Wien, Austria
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

The 4* brakfast comes in a small PAPER BAG. There is a cold sandwich inside, with cheese OR ham, a mandarine and a cereal bar. Coffee is in a paper cup as well, coffee to go...

It was SOOOO DISAPPOINTING!

It was written only in the SMALL LINES, in the contract. Nothing mentioned in the headline (breakfast included)

So, please DON'T BE DECEIVE by them, they don't have a 4* breakfast, they should be ashamed from what they offer. Anyway, staff was nice and room was good.

It would be MUCH BETTER NOT to offer any breakfast! Really! Because they don't even have a kitchen. Below check the picture of the 4* breakfast.

Betrailers and liers.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/35873976/4stars_Breakfast.JPG

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Was in Berlin from 7 to 10 December and being my first trip to Germany, I was a little worried initially as I don't speak German and I wasn't sure if I could get to the hotel on my own. Luckily this hotel was easy to find, being close to both the tram and Oranienburger Tor U-bahn station. The service staff who attended to me were also very friendly and helpful, pointing out the various transport options to the tourist sites I intended to visit in fluent English.

The room I was allocated faced the rear courtyard and was quiet throughout my stay. It was of decent size and had a clean, modern design. The bed was comfortable although the pillow was a tad too small for me. Also, I missed having an internet connection and wished that the hotel had WiFi connections.

On the whole, I enjoyed my stay here very much and would consider staying here again the next time I visit Berlin.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MohammadFahmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
324 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

Very modern good value hotel. The location is close to the centre of Berlin with good public transport and a variety of places to eat out. The area may be a bit noisy at night but you can ask for a quiet room at the rear. Our experience was that the rooms to the rear are very quiet and you get a good night's sleep. Problems - very limited storage space and breakfast consists of four "picnic style" options, which you pick up prepacked, having ordered the previous evening. This is probably a good idea for business travelers or people anxious to get away early, but for most people, I would recommend having breakfast in one of the nearby cafes.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeWells90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hotel Adelante Berlin-Mitte
Mitte
Leonardo Hotel Berlin Mitte
Mitte
Arcotel John F
Arcotel John F
#64 of 663 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
#45 of 663 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#42 of 663 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARCOTEL Velvet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARCOTEL Velvet

Property: ARCOTEL Velvet
Address: Oranienburger Strasse 52, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#100 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#106 Family Hotel in Berlin
#162 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ARCOTEL Velvet 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your ARCOTEL Velvet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel Velvet Berlin
Arcotel Velvet Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing