We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin
Nearby Hotels
US$107
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$133
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$209
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$193
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$130
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$80
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
i31 Hotel(Berlin)
US$112
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$107
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall(Berlin)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$89
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Reviews (2,936)
Filter reviews
2,936 results
Traveller rating
2,118
531
191
58
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,118
531
191
58
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub levelpotsdamer platzcurtain club barbrasserie desbrossessony centerbrandenburg gateluxury hotelturn down serviceconcierge staffhotel is beautifulholocaust memorialrooms are largethe location is perfectjunior suites bahndoormanrc
Filter
Updating list...
1,441 - 1,446 of 2,936 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We decided to treat ourselves to 2 nights here and it was well worth it. We had a corner club room which was really comfortable. The beds were devine! We also had paid the extra and had "clubroom" membership which was well worth it. Staff were extremely helpful and spoke excellent english.

Room Tip: As I stated - a clubroom is worth considering!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jude_asher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 9, 2012

What can I say? The name Ritz itself gives a sense of something grande et classy. Must say The Ritz carlton did not fail to meet its reputation. From the moment you walk in you feel like you're going to be spoilt by the good service and staff.

Upon check-in the receptionist was very polite and friendly and made sure the bellboy wasted no time in taking our luggage up. Upon entering, the table right next to the door had 4-5 fresh German gourmet chocolates waiting as a 'Welcome' gift. Delicious!

The room was very spacious with a good HD tv (which is now pretty standard in most hotels) and a good selection of movies (Pay per view of course). The internet was 20EUROS and hour though. Pretty expensive. Didn't get a chance to go check out the gym, so cannot comment on that.

Now breakfast was fit truly for a King! THE KING! A large selection of waffles, pancakes, Crepes, Donuts, Croissants, Omelette, Meats, Fruits (I could go on). And all the deliciousness can be made to order, and you swiftly get your food fresh n tasty! The staff working at the restaurant were extremely warm and welcome, which is something you need to begin your day!

The reception staff too were a delight. Always helping with suggestions of what is good in the location, and where to go. Always with a smile on their face, and extremely helpful. Nowadays I guess people perhaps give more weight-age to service than anything else, and the service at The Ritz Carlton is fantastic!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jinthereddevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Wife and I stayed at this hotel in December 2011. It was over 20 years ago that I had been in Berlin - visiting while in the service right before the wall came down, so I was excited for the opportunity to stay at Potsdamer Platz. This was an area that was a no-mans land during the cold war. The hotel is ideally situated right on the plaza, near an indoor mall and a short walk from the Brandenberg Gate and Reichstag. As far as location goes, it is suburb. Unfortunately, our expectations were not completely met. The primary disappointment was that we had reserved a room with a Potsdamer Platz view (this type of room has a price premium), but received a room facing the back of the hotel. When we returned to the front desk to ask to be accomodated, we were told that unfortunately no plaza view rooms were left, but later during our stay they would try to accomodate us by changing our room. We were informed that they accept more reservations for these rooms than exist.

The front desk personnel were courteous at all times, and a request to adjust the charge to the non-Potsdamer Platz room rate for the nights we were unaccomodated was granted. However, the fact that the front desk agent was not forthcoming with this fact upon check in was a bit disingenuous. Based on the Ritz-Carlton's motto, one would expect a hotel of this calibre to be pro-active instead of re-active to these type of things.

A pleasant surprise was the breakfast buffet at Brasserie Desbrosses, which was nothing less than spectacular. Where else would one find a crepe bar? In addition to crepes the buffet had just about everything one could possibly want or think of for breakfast. But once again, on one of the mornings, we experienced what was easily the worst service we've ever experienced at a hotel restaurant by a server who was clearly having a bad day. She had a scowl on her face and completely ignored us the whole time. Although many may chide us for not bringing this to the attention of hotel management, the reality is that it didn't really distract from the outstanding food, and everyone is entitled to an off day - even those in the service industry. Outside of this one anomaly, every other team member provided service that exemplified the high standards we expected from Ritz-Carlton.

In closing, the hotel is opulent and richly appointed (no big surprise!). While watching TV we came across a local Berlin station that was airing a documentary that was all about the construction and opening of the hotel. One can get an appreciation of how complex it might be to operate a hotel of this scale along with the expectations of its guests. Operationally, to us, it really does not need to be rocket science. Just don't take more reservations for a room type than can be accomodated. I guess it should come as no surprise that despite our follow up to provide the Ritz-Carlton a chance to make good on changing the room type to the one reserved was unfortunately not able to be granted.

Room Tip: Potsdamer Platz view
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OceansideGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 7, 2012

As all reviews tend to agree on, Ritz-Carlton is fantastic hotel on a fantastic location.
The rooms are very luxurious and tastefully decorated, with extremely comfortable beds.

Breakfast is also one of the highlights, plenty of choice and extremely good quality.

However, for the sake of this review, I must note some of the (unfortunate) shortfalls:
- No nightly turndown service (5* hotel?)
- Breakfast service is correct but “overwhelmed” when crowded
- Check-in is perfect, except that no one approached us to help us getting out of the car or to carry our luggage (2 out of 2 stays) – and brought it ourselves to the room.

And room for improvement:
- No coffee facilities in the room
- Lack of free WIFI in 2012 remains unacceptable to me – but seems to be a common practice of some luxury hotels.

Despite the above, service is all other cases impeccable and the staff does everything in their power to accommodate your needs.

Ritz Carlton remains my preferred choice in Berlin. I just hope they decide to fix the little missing details.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sebaysole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Just returned from a excellent four night stay at the Ritz Carlton Berlin from 02/5/12 to 06/05/12. Booked flights and accommodation with British Airways flying from Gatwick.

On arrival at the hotel the porters gave us a warm welcome and helped with the baggage. Check in was fast and the receptionist efficient. The room on the seventh floor was spacious and well furnished with two queen sized beds, flat screen television, trouser press, desk, minibar, internet access and heating / air conditioning. The complimentary safe, luxury chocolates and bottled water which was replaced daily was a nice touch. Beds were extremely soft and very comfortable. The lighting in the room was controlled by a touch panel which was located on the inside of the door and the draw of the bedside cabinet. The room was very quiet with no traffic noise. The bathroom was a good size with a bath / hand shower and a separate toilet and walk in shower. Bathrobes and slippers and the usual toiletries were provided. The cleanliness of the room and the hotel in general was excellent.

The interior of the hotel was very opulent with a wide sweeping staircase, marble columns and chandeliers. All of the staff members were friendly, helpful, efficient and down to earth. Did not eat in the hotel with the exception of room service. The coffee arrived on time but was luke warm, this was the only minor area for improvement. The hotel is located in a excellent location a short walk from Brandenburg Gate. Great public transport links outside the hotel by bus, metro or taxi. If you have any questions about the hotel contact me and I will try to assist.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Welshtraveller111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews