We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Ample charm and warmth, but a refresh wouldn't hurt” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Myer's Hotel - Berlin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
Ranked #68 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ample charm and warmth, but a refresh wouldn't hurt”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

I have stayed at the Myer's Hotel many times and, perhaps I'm just getting weary, but this small, charming hotel - which has loads of potential - could use a bit of a refresh. All the ingredients are here - Myer's still has a great breakfast buffet - but I feel the hotel lately is missing something. Maybe I'm expecting too much - prices are reasonable, location terrific - but a bit of polish would be great. New bathrooms, carpeting, and bedroom furniture would be a great place to start.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WildDuckRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    79
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
28
103
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Loved the neighborhood. The place was fine, but having to pay extra for wifi (each 24 hours was around 12 euros) and breakfast (also about 12 euros per person, I think) was disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie61103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

I would recommend Myer's Hotel for anyone holidaying in Berlin. It's located in Prenzlauer Berg, close to great cafes and restaurants and walking distance to Alexanderplaz. The hotel staff were friendly and obliging. They booked an appointment for us on the internet to visit the reichstag. i would stay there again (although don't use the room phone - it's expensive!)

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MaddyA87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

I sometimes wonder about very negative reviews. We stayed at the Myers twice for three days each and found it quite pleasant. The breakfast looked good, but is a bit pricy for us. However, less than half a block away is a cafe on Prenzlauer Allee that serves a delicious breakfast (though they don't open until 9-9:30). The staff was particularly pleasant and helpful, with excellent English skills.

The rooms were small by American standards, but not by European standards. We were disappointed there was no mini-fridge in one of our rooms, and there was a charge for using the internet, but those are minor concerns. More important, he rooms were comfortable and quiet (the advantage of a residential street) and overlooked a courtyard. And there was no smell of smoke. The hotel appears to have been renovated recently and was charmingly decorated.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Putnam74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal QC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2008

Don't be fooled by the website. We stayed here in a pinch and were highly disapointed.
We paid $140 euros per night for a very small room which smelled of smoke masked with air freshener, the smell was actually nauseating and we had to leave the windows open for the entire two days we were there! Which made for a terrible nights sleep due to the fact that there was very little space between rooms and the voices carried quite late into the night.
The bathroom was not very clean, to be specific there were little black hairs all around the sink by the faucette and the towels had a musty smell.
The decor dates back to before the wall came down.
On a very small bright note, the people were friendly, the location was good & they had pleanty of selection for breakfast.

In conclusion, the value to money ratio is non existant and unless you like sharing the elevator with multiple smokers, this is probably not the place for you either!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — SMELL
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OrenmontrealQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
european londoner
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2008

i had booked leonard cohen but left the hotel 'til later - luckily! because berlin filled up for the 3rd october festivities, i took the room available here. this will be my regular base from now. it has everything you'd expect from a privately run hotel: attention to detail, lovely breakfast, friendly helpful receptionists, nice touches in the individually decorated rooms. the simplicity of the cheaper rooms was as attractive as the opulence of the mid to upper category. i found my room (1st floor courtyard) very dark and the bathroom lacked the expected bathtub - once available i was moved to a 3rd floor bright room with an amazing bathroom - so discuss the options when you book. location: perfect, tram and underground very close. the market, nice shops, great late-opening restaurants, cafes and bars of prenzlauer berg - it's all right there although the road itself is quiet. it's also worth mentioning that i felt perfectly comfortable out alone at any time.

  • Liked — the ease and comfort, unpretentious but stylish
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank milupa23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moody, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2007

Stayed here for 3 nights then moved to Alexander Plaza ( see review). Myer's is located a bit further out in Prenz'lberg and there is really no night life, cafes etc in the immediate vicinity.More like being on a residential block. It is fairly close to Kowllwitz Platz where you will find some good cafes.
The room we had was a non smoking but it was on a smoking floor and we were assaulted by smoke coming and going. The room was quite large with skylights but it was impossible to stand upright in the tub/shower due to sloping ceiling. Originally we were on a floor that was completely non smoking but the window was onto a very small interior courtyard/lightwell...rather claustrophobic so the hotel did move us. As mentioned in another review the desk staff is actually off in a small side room..there is a bar off the reception area but again it was filled with smoke. The nearest internet access was about 10 minutes walk in an area that was not very welcoming. Having said all that the breakfast at Myer's was the best we encountered in 3 weeks of travel. Lots of variety, hot eggs, cheeses, fish, assorted fruit juices and served in a very nice room looking out onto a garden.
Access by the tram was fairly easy but we felt we were just a bit too far from main sights. The decor was a mix of old and new, hotel was clean. No real problems but would not recommend for tourists with limited time to see Berlin.

  • Liked — great breakfast
  • Disliked — location, lack of internet,
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Prenzlauer Berg
Victor's Residenz Hotel Berlin
Prenzlauer Berg
Ackselhaus
Ackselhaus
#38 of 663 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg
Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg
#243 of 663 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel Pension Kastanienhof
Hotel Pension Kastanienhof
#121 of 663 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Mitte
Honigmond Hotel
Honigmond Hotel
#165 of 663 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Oderberger
Hotel Oderberger
#318 of 663 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myer's Hotel - Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myer's Hotel - Berlin

Property: Myer's Hotel - Berlin
Address: Metzer Str. 26, 10405 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#68 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Myer's Hotel - Berlin 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star boutique hotel is in a historic building in the trendy Prenzlauer Berg district of Berlin. It offers classical-style rooms, original works of art, and great transport connections. The rooms and suites of the Myer's Hotel Berlin feature high ceilings, fine wood, and paintings. Pictures by local artists are displayed in Myer's Hotel Berlin's courtyard. A big breakfast buffet is available in the hotel's Yellow Salon. Guests can also relax in the smokers' lounge, Havana-style lobby bar, and conservatory. The Senefelder Platz Underground Station is only a 3-minute walk from Myer's Hotel. The famous Alexanderplatz square is just 1 stop away. Direct trains run to the Kurfurstendamm shopping street within 20 minutes. Pankow is a great choice for travellers interested in Coffee, Cafes and Markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Myer's Hotel - Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myers Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing