We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel One Berlin Mitte
Ranked #150 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 19 November 2011

During my 5 days stay at this motel, Couldn't ask for anything better. Price very reasonable, 95 Euro per night. very clean, nice size room and excelent service. staff very friendly and very convenient location. very comfortable.I recomant this to anyone travelling to Berlin.

Room Tip: Rooms to back of the hotel might be much quiter. not street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shahpour t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    198
    46
    13
    7
See reviews for
25
107
57
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

My boyfriend and i stayed here for four nights. We wanted to fully explore Berlin, and in particular Kreuzberg. We found this hotel to be the perfect location for what we wanted. Located at the top of Oranienstrasse, with it's many bars, restaurants and laid back vibe, (think along the lines of Camden in London, or any of the more bohemian areas of major cities) we could also walk to the River Spree and see the remainder of the Berlin Wall/EastSide gallery, the 02 World arena and we also visited the Berghain club in this area.
Aside from this location, Moritzplatz U-bahn is literally outside the door so everywhere was more or less easily accessible and so visiting the major tourist sites and areas was not a problem.
The hotel itself was basic, but clean and comfortable. my only gripe would be when we went to check in at 1pm, we were told it was a 3pm check in and the left luggage room was full, so we had to leave out luggage in the reception area, unsecured. I would stay here again but would probably email the hotel before arrival to request an earlier check in - none of our booking confirmation documents specified the check in time.
I would recommend this hotel if you are looking to explore Kreuzberg, a very cool, pretty (almost Parisian in parts) and reasonably priced area, with a definite edgy feel. If you are looking for a base in a more traditional tourist area it's probably not for you, but I would definitely stay here again and am already planning my next trip!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misstee83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

The snazzy lobby makes a nice initial impression, once you've gotten over the entrance from the street which feels like the Middle-of-Nowhere, Berlin. But it's downhill from here. The 'double' room is cramped and my child and I are falling over each other and our bags whenever we try to move around. The air conditioning only works if the outside temperature is over 21 degrees but hey, at least the window opens. Though I heard a guy at the front desk complaining because his window didn't even open. Poor man.

Biggest complaint is the misleading 'free internet' - only free in the lobby. Heads up that you must pay 5 euros per day to get it in your room. Their system is further complicated by vouchers and login information that must be renewed daily, even for the free lobby Internet.

All this added to the fact that the hotel is located on an unusually barren strip of Printzenstrasse, with no interesting shops, restaurants or cafes nearby, yet close to the entrance to the U-bahn Moritzplatz. I think you can definitely find better value for money - and better location - elsewhere.

I would not book here again. Though the rooms are clean, I'll give them that.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beesknees369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

My first night here was fine because no one was above me, but the second night was not so nice. The person above me was snoring and it kept me up most of the night, it was terrible. The breakfast was nice in the morning, but got crowded as the morning went on, but i was able to find a table. The hotel is in a good location not far from S Bahn. I was able to walk to a lot of locations including German resistance museum, i walked to the topography of terror exhibit, checkpoint charlie. It was a little bit of a walk, but i enjoyed the walk, you can also take the metro. There is free internet in the lobby. The hotel was nice and clean and new and good up until the point where the guest above me snored loudly and kept me up all night.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bavavia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

ecellent location, right on the former border between East and West Berlin (Heinrich Heine Strasse checkpoint), only 3 subway stops (approx. 5 minutes) away from Alexanderplatz and three bus stops from Checkpoint Charlie and one S-Bahn stop to Potsdammer Platz; very friendly and helpful staff, free luggage storage; quiet and safe at night;
downsides: aircondition wasn't working properly, WiFi only free in the lobby, unless you pay for the overpriced breakfast (EUR 7,5 , approx. USD 11); there are lots of nice and budget bakeries within 3 minute walking distance where you can get all sorts of breakfast for under EUR 4,-

Room Tip: book online, get's you the best rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Maitland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Motel One Berlin Mitte is a good clean motel near Moritzplatz U-bahn station.
The motel is very modern with good clean rooms. The rooms are small but adequate for a short stay.
The area around the motel does not have much to offer but as the U-bahn is close by the center of the city is not far. It is only 2 stops to Alexanderplaz.

The cost of accommodation is moderate for Berlin as with most European cities accommodation can be very expensive.

If you are looking for a good moderate priced motel close to public transport then this motel is good value.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I went to berlin for the bread & butter fair and chose this hotel becasue the organizers recommended it. After paying 100euros for the room per night, the least i was expecting is a comfortable stay. However, the room was tiny and the AC was not working on all 3days. Even after repeated compaints nothing was done about it. The breakfast was very basic and the place was not even close to the fair. All in all a very annoying and disappointing stay.

Room Tip: Better to look for hotels like novotel which are ventrally located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arpita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Motel One Berlin Spittelmarkt
Mitte
NH Berlin Kreuzberg
NH Berlin Kreuzberg
#180 of 634 in Berlin
325 reviews
Mitte
Motel One Berlin-Hackescher Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Motel One Berlin-Ku'damm
Motel One Berlin-Ku'damm
#157 of 634 in Berlin
390 reviews
Moabit
Motel One Berlin-Hauptbahnhof
Kreuzberg
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Berlin City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Berlin Mitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Berlin Mitte

Property: Motel One Berlin Mitte
Address: Prinzenstr. 40, 10969 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Berlin
#81 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel One Berlin Mitte 2.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Motel One Berlin Mitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 1 Berlin Mitte
Motel One Berlin Mitte Hotel Berlin
Hotel One Berlin Mitte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing