We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb stay at Melia”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Melia Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Berlin
Ranked #31 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Superb stay at Melia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Stayed for 2 nights at this hotel during the middle of January. Everything about the hotel is clean, professional and well run. Staff are very friendly and keen to help. We speak a small amount of German however the staff we spoke to speak perfect English.

Our room was on Floor 7, the executive part of the hotel called "The Level". The room was extremely clean, very comfortable and well decorated. Breakfast and snacks throughout the day was served in the executive lounge, again staff were extremely helpful and keen to talk to us.

The hotel's location could not be any more perfect. Berlin has an amazing transport system and Friedrichstrasse S-Bahn and U-Bahn station is only a short 2 minute walk from the hotel's main entrance. Berlin's Schoenefeld Airport is approx 30 minutes to the hotel via train using the R2 or R7 line- getting off at Friedrichstrasse. From Friedrichstrasse, you can get to virtually every major tourist landmark using the S-Bahn or U-Bahn.

The hotel gave us a free city map also containing the city's S-Bahn and U-Bahn routes. This was very handy and much needed to get around the city easily. Staff were willing to give us their recommendations for nice restaurants, however there are plenty to choose from in the area.

We were very impressed with the Melia and will certainly not hesitate in returning if we visit Berlin again.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a room on the 7th floor known as "The Level". Offers great views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hopsolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,851
    1,514
    237
    55
    26
See reviews for
755
2,271
227
702
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

The Melia was perfect for our long weekend in Berlin, especially the location. The room was large, with a lovely bathroom. The only thing missing was a tea/coffee making facility. We managed to get a very reduced rate for the three nights we stayed, so it was definitely worth the money. We did not go for the €22 breakfast, instead we just went to one of the many cares which offer great breakfast for much less money. Another minus is the lack of free wifi in the rooms.
On the plus side, it was very quiet, comfortable, we enjoyed the pillow menu, and service was friendly and efficient,

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank F E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

this is a great location to explore Berlin - a short walk to the metro . rooms were modern , clean and of a good size . if i go to berlin again i would happliy stay in this hotel

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinfjlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
286 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

This was a fabulous hotel. On advice from other Trip Advisors we paid the extra and stayed on "The Level" which gave you late check out, drinks each evening, private breakfast room and was just wonderful. It is a great location as you can walk everywhere - Checkpoint Charlie, wall, Topography of Terror, Reichstag, Unten den Linden etc. But it is also next to Fredrichstrasse U and S Station for transport links. The staff were always very friendly

Room Tip: Go the extra for "The Level"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KCrC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
379 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

I stayed here for 2 days for a meeting. It is situated in an excellent position near public transport and within walking distance of most major tourist sites. The hotel is modern, clean and smart but lacks any real character. Rooms are larger than in the average Berlin hotel and the bathroms are excellent. The beds are comfortable and I slept well. Breakfast is very good and service is excellent. Overall a good hotel in a very good location and well worth considering if you can get a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Btter to have a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

I booked this hotel for a 3 day business trip with some time for some sightseeing. The hotel has a perfect location if you want to enjoy Berlin.The Brandenburger Tor, the Bundestag, the Museumsinsel...all the hot spots you can visit on foot. If you turn the other way, you are near the super store Kadewe and the Gendarmenmarkt and most theaters. And for other locations, the Metro and the S Bahn are 5 minutes away. The reception staff are friendly and have solutions for every problem. The rooms are comfortable with a very nice bathroom. The breakfast is included in the room price and offers everything your might desire. Melia belongs to a spanish hotel chain and this gave a special flair to my stay. There is an excellent tapas restaurant in the hotel, the rooms are decorated with pictures with spanish topics and there is often Spanish in the air but everybody also speaks German and English of course.
I took an room on the executive floor. This just costs a little more and you can enjoy the executive lounge for breakfast and snacks the rest of the day. In short, Hotel Melia Berlin is an excellent choice when visiting this exciting city.

Room Tip: Take an executive room, it is really worth the money. Register before your trip as member of their l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ludo_swinnen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

After a lot of research, I booked this hotel for my 2 night visit to Berlin with a friend. I managed to get a very good rate as I booked it as a Top Secret hotels through a site famous for its last minute deals, but I believe it is to the expensive side if you book directly. An elegant hotel right in the famous shopping street in Berlin. Many major attractions are just walking distance from the hotel and if you don't fancy walking, train station is only a two minute walk from the hotel. We did not eat from the main restaurant but tried the Tapas bar one evening and it was great. I am planning to go to Berlin again (in summer) and if I can get a good deal, I would love to stay there again. If you happen to be in the area, don't forget to try the Café Friedrichs 106 on the other side of the river which serve excellent breakfast and coffee.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pradeep M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#50 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,865 reviews
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#11 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Mitte
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Berlin

Property: Melia Berlin
Address: Friedrichstrasse 103, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Berlin
#15 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#22 Family Hotel in Berlin
#29 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#32 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Meliá Berlin! Our rooms and suites are the perfect place to switch off from the world and enjoy the fine detail. All 364 rooms are bright and spacious and the exclusive DreaMax mattress allow you to relax and to dream pleasantly. At our Restaurant Café Madrid you are awaited by fresh products and the best creative international and regional signature cuisine with views to the river Spree. Feel Spanish passion, enjoy culinary delights and let your senses be spoiled by traditional and innovative tapas in the Meliá tapas bar. Located in the heart of the German Capital, directly at Friedrichstraße and next to the River Spree it is just a few minutes walk to monuments and major attractions such as the Brandenburg Gate, Museums Island or Alexanderplatz. The Melia Berlin is the perfect choice to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing