We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Melia Berlin
Ranked #30 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

This hotel is near to everything. The underground and overground station are conveniently near the hotel allowing you to get everywhere. Room is very comfortable. Great shower. Very good breakfast (don't purchase before hand- in the room you'll find a loyalty card which when filled out gives you 50% off) with different tastes catered for through the large selection. Service great - I emailed them from room asking to print off my BA Boarding Pass and 2 minutes later someone was at the door. Only thing at all negative is the internet access - have to purchase T Mobile Hotspot sessions (Unsecure), which I had to keep buying despite logging out each time. Would be great if the hotel could provide its own secure internet connection which you could purchase.
I bought via hotwire.com 2 days before and got room for 59euro per night, far cheaper than elsewhere on the internet.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyC5975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,767
    1,457
    229
    55
    25
See reviews for
720
2,190
224
690
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

This is a fantastic hotel in an ideal location for sightseeing. The staff could not have been more helpful, and I would recommend staying on "The Level" for the excellent amenity of the lounge.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeeTheBee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We booked this hotel on the strength of the reviews on here and weren't disappointed. We got the train from Schönefeld airport to Bahnhof Friedrichstraße – a 30-40 minute journey at €3 each – and were pleasantly surprised to find we only had to walk across the road to the hotel, which is smack bang in the middle of town in the Mitte district. You are just round the corner from museum island (get a museum pass and go to all 5 of the museums, as they're all great and at €20 each the pass pays for itself) and a ten minute walk from both the Reichstag building and Brandenburg gate. Friedrichstraße is just a large, but beautiful, shopping street like Oxford street in London and leads down to Unter den Linden, which is the main boulevard in Berlin much like Champs-Élysées in Paris.

We upgraded to The Level at Melia and it was definitely worth the very small amount extra. Being on floor 7 (The Level) means you have a lounge that's open all day until 10pm where you eat breakfast away from the busyness of the downstairs buffet breakfast. The food and drink at breakfast were delicious and very good quality and we wanted for nothing. You can also pop in for a drink – beer, spirits, wine, soft drinks, tea and coffee – all day for free. Then from 6pm to 10pm there is complimentary tapas to nibble on whilst having a drink. There are also two computers with internet access that are available for guests of that floor at no extra cost.

Our room was lovely and clean with a huge bed, excellent TV, safe etc and even a Nespresso machine. Staff were brilliant with any request and spoke perfect English. We were also granted late check-out for 3pm, which made our last day much more useful.

We loved Berlin and Melia and would recommend both without reservation. Berlin is one of the most historically and culturally saturated cities I've ever visited.

Room Tip: Upgrade to The Level. Our room looked out onto Friedrichstraße and was still quiet enough for a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AndyDrewPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
119 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I cant recommend this hotel enough. It's in a fantastic location and the front of house staff are superb.
The facilities are excellent too. My only complaint was about the very slow level of service between courses in the Cafe Madrid. However, the service int he tapas bar more than made up for this.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowCross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

This hotel really surpassed our expectations. We booked it on the basis of the reviews on here and really were not disappointed. The room was modern, and spotless, with all mod cons. The breakfast buffet had everything you could need. The hotel staff were accommodating on several requests - to book a restaurant for one evening, to print off boarding passes. And also as we were celebrating a birthday whilst staying, a friend organised a bottle of champagne to be left in the room, they delivered this request on the day of my birthday which was lovely. We also ate one meal in the tapas bar which I would defintely recommend. The hotel is close to all the great shops and restaurants that Berlin has to offer. We loved staying here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stace15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

This hotel is very well located, right in the center on Alexanderstrasse, very close to a train station and along the Spree river. Just make sure your room is not on main street side and you will be extremely happy: size of the room and bathroom, comfort, cleanliness, kindness of a helpful and well trained staff. Affordable prices if you book in advance. Internet is somewhat too expensive though. We'v been staying at this hotel every year since 2009.

Room Tip: Avoid Alexanderstrasse side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank markhenry2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

staff at the hotel were exceptionally polite, friendly and helpful, rooms very spacious, beds extremely comfortable, bathroom spotless - only negatives were no tea & coffee making facilities and some noise from the trams outside (but to be fair this was pretty minimal)
would stay there again.
excellent location - walking distance to Unter den Linten, Brandenburg Gate Reichstag and shops.
if flying to Schoenfeld i would highly recommend taking the train to the city - it is only 3 euros and stops at the main stations through the city - the Melia Hotel is less than a minute walk from Freidrichstrase Station.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#5 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#46 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,836 reviews
Mitte
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#10 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Berlin

Property: Melia Berlin
Address: Friedrichstrasse 103, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Berlin
#15 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#22 Family Hotel in Berlin
#27 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#32 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Meliá Berlin! Our rooms and suites are the perfect place to switch off from the world and enjoy the fine detail. All 364 rooms are bright and spacious and the exclusive DreaMax mattress allow you to relax and to dream pleasantly. At our Restaurant Café Madrid you are awaited by fresh products and the best creative international and regional signature cuisine with views to the river Spree. Feel Spanish passion, enjoy culinary delights and let your senses be spoiled by traditional and innovative tapas in the Meliá tapas bar. Located in the heart of the German Capital, directly at Friedrichstraße and next to the River Spree it is just a few minutes walk to monuments and major attractions such as the Brandenburg Gate, Museums Island or Alexanderplatz. The Melia Berlin is the perfect choice to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Melia Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing