We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for that 1st class weekend away - 4 Star indeed :)”
Review of Melia Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Berlin
Ranked #26 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Hopefully this review will help those looking to find a top notch hotel with easy access to all the tourist spots.

We looked through similar reviews and were still unsure of where to stay, but staying in the Mitte area of the city was a briliant choice.

LOCATION
After landing, the train station is right next to the airport, just a 2 minute walk. There is an express train every half an hour that stops at most of the major tourist sposts and costs just 2-3 euros each (the same trip by taxi is 50 euros per cab, no comparison), four stops and just another 20 mins later you get off at the station; "Friedrichstraße". Walk out of the station and 150 yards towards the river and you get the the Melia hotel, close enough for easy commuting and yet far enough never to hear one single train.
The transport system as a whole is great, you can buy a day pass if you wish which costs about 6 euros each and this alows unlimited travel on buses, trains and the underground. To be honest though, depending on your itinery, most of the areas area accesable by a 20 min walk. Checkpoint Charlie, the Brandenburg Gate, TV Tower, The Reichstag and many more are even less. My advice is don't waste your money on the open top bus tours, take a 1 hour boat trip up the River Spree and you will get to see where the main highlights are situated (the stop for this is right outside the hotel lobby, the 4 hour one would be too long as there isn;'t enough sites to fill the time).

HOTEL ROOM
You probably know now that i loved the location so onto the hotel itself. From the moment you walk into the lobby untill the second you check out you will see that there is little or nothing to complian about. The checking in part was simple and quick and the hotel is imaculately clean.
We booked into a Comfort room but as i had heard reviews on the Level Rooms i decided to enquire on arrival. The receptionist explained that the suppliment for this room was 60 euros a night which i was reluctant to pay as the hotel had already cost us enough but i asked to be shown the room available. The standard rooms are all on floors 1-6 whilst the Level (executive) is on the 7th. The rooms are spacious, recently modernised, air conditioned and kept spotless. They are also realy well insulated and stop any noise passing through the walls. These rooms are larger, they face the river, they have complimentary bath robes etc and best of all you get use of the executive Lounge.

EXECTUTIVE LOUNGE
The lounge provides breakfast up until 10 am where continental, British and Spanish
foods are available along with a selection of inclusive hot and cold drinks, including champagne. From 11am untill 6pm they put out and top up a wide selection of soft drinks, hot and also beers. Finally from 6pm to 11pm they provide the same but also spirits and a wide selection of Spanish snacks which always differ and taste outstanding.
Through the exec restaraunt there is a relaxing lounge whhich is just like being at home with great views. In here there is a TV and lots of different daily newspapers. A point to make is that i never saw any children on the Level or in the lounge areas so it may be worth checking out if they are permitted.
If you arent in the exec rooms then you have to eat on the ground floor, the times to do so are shorter and there is a lot less choice. Also a free newspaper is sent to your room everyday. BOOK IT

RESTARAUNTS
If i'm honest the first of our three nights, we arrived late-ish so just sat in the exec lounge and filled up on the snacks supplied. However, the second night, we decided to eat in one of the hotels restaraunts. We chose the Spanish tapas one which was a typical type but the quality, presentation and value was well worth it. There was a second international restaraunt on the 1st floor but we never got to try it, don't be put off this hotel if you read bad reports of the food because we can vouch for it and if Spanish isn't your choice then there are pleanty of places to eat outside the hotel, all within a five minute walk.

NIGHTLIFE
If you are like us and enjoy a leisurly stroll at night, eat out and try a few bars then this place is perfect. As i say places to eat are close and easy to find (Saturday was rather busy so not a bad day to eat in), and on the other side of the river Spree there is a quaint river side street with several bars to sit back relax and drink, or dine if you so wish.
BEWARE!!!!! On the other side of the river is a restaraunt called The Grill which is a really lovely looking place but be prepared to pay the earth, it cost 70 euros for a Steak and Vodka with Cranberry Juice, and to be honest the steak was discusting. I made the mistake of not checking the prices first and got caught. For that i wanted a cow. Apart from this all the rest were fine and value for money so don't be afraid to try the local cuisine.

POINTS TO NOTE:
1) 1hr cruise, not the 4hr.
2) Don't take the night one as there isn't much light along the river so you won't see many sights.
3) Tell the hotel staff its a special occasion and they will treat you like royalty.
4) Visit the TV tower in the day as the views are great.
5) Stay away from taxis.
6) Stay in the Level if you like peace and quiet.
7) Try the hotels food on the Saturday as twn is busy.
8) Pay a trip to Alexanderplatz for hustle and bustle and also the museums.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cbrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,243 - 2,249 of 5,325 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2010

This hotel in the heart of Berlin is in perfect location next to trainstop Friedrichstraße, about 15 easy minutes nice walk to Brandenburger Tor. Take a room to the inside, this might not be nice, but very quite and the view to the river Spree costs extra.
The breakfast buffet is excellent and can be well recommended. They even have 4 different newspapers (some English).
As this is a Spanish hotel chain, a lot of Spanish is spoken there. If you are a Spanish speaker - this is the hotel to go to.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sir_felix1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

It's our third visit of this hotel,great location,great breakfast and friendly stuff.
Remember to book this hotel few months in advance so you'll get great rates for your
stay,plus breakfast incl. ! (you can save up to half price...)
Ask also for membership at "Mas",it's free and it will get you free newspaper in the morning,
free breakfast for your partner(in case you didn't get free breakfast incl.) and possibility to check out at 4 pm.
What we don't like is that the hotel charge 4€ for 1/2 hour internet (6€ for one hour). I think that this service should be free of charge.
Second thing is that they don't have the possibility to make Tea/Coffee in the room.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amnonvekill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Best place, best stuff, best rooms, everything perfect! If my english was good, I would write something more but I rated this hotel with a few words!

Stayed: July 2010
Thank Eleni X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Stayed for four nights - very nice modern hotel. Having a MAS card promotes the breakfast buffet (very extensive - delicious!) at 'two for one' cost. At check-in this was stated as 11 euro. At check out - 22 euro! This confusion lead to some disenchantment with the hotel. Definitely clarify the total cost of the buffet at check in!! There are alternative places for a quick light breakfast outside the hotel. Also, the Tapas restaurant attached to the hotel ... menu beyond tapas - not great.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ready2travel06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We spent a long week end in this hotel. Melia top quality in the best part of berlin. We booked the Level. impressive.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Huyggens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

The best choice a family could make to be able to have a really excellent and comfortable stay in berlin especially when having teenage children with them.
The hotel is perfect very comfortable and within walking distance to everywhere.
Unter den Linden and all historical sights can be reached in moments on foot or
by S-bahn,U-bahn and buses100 and 200 which go everywhere and are a stone away from the hotel.The trams which also run to the east side of Berlin go up and down Friedrichstrasse in front of the hotel. Boats up and down the Spree river also begin next to the hotel bridge. And of course coming from the airport and having to carry your luggage only 50 metres to your hotel is very relaxing.
Dont bother taking the breakfast deal ,15 euros per person is a lot of money when you
have everything around you.Great breakfast and lunch room just next the hotel a
great Starbucks a few steps away a fantastic bakery across the street all open all day
long. And Rossman supermarket just across the street.No problem about having breakfast or coffee anytime you wake up!
The only very annoying thing I must rever to about the hotel is the very late cleaning of the rooms. When you return exhausted from your daily sightseeing at about 4.30 it is very
annoying to find the staff in your room still working and needing about an hour more to
finish without you being able to go even to the toilet!!!!!When I complained at the reception and said that the children needed to rest they apologised and noted down that they will tell the staff to do our rooms earlier since we go out very early in the morning and return this time. The next day the same situation ended up with me having to find the lady in charge of the cleaning staff on the second floor who of course was very embarised and apologised and sent someone right away when I explained that I had kindly asked the reception for a second time to send someone and had been waiting for over an hour to have the childrens room cleaned and keeping them meanwhile in my room without them being able to take their shoes off. All the family wasent able to rest that afternoon the time was nearly 6oclock in the afternoon and because of the outragious behaviour of the reception training boy?????? we had lost our afternoon rest which is very important when you are on vacation and have made a program which has to be kept if you want your family to have a nice time. I thought of mentioning it to the hotel manager but that would probably mean losing even more precious time. Anyway we only had two more days left so we put our DO NOT DISTURB signs outside our rooms for the rest of our stay to find some peace at last!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stavySalonika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#64 of 634 in Berlin
1,995 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#68 of 634 in Berlin
4,719 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Berlin

Address: Friedrichstrasse 103, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Berlin
#15 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#19 Family Hotel in Berlin
#23 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#32 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $132 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Meliá Berlin! Our rooms and suites are the perfect place to switch off from the world and enjoy the fine detail. All 364 rooms are bright and spacious and offer a seating area as well as bidet and heated bathroom floors. At our Restaurant Café Madrid you can expect fresh products and the best creative international and regional signature cuisine with views to the river Spree. Feel Spanish passion, enjoy culinary delights and let your senses be spoiled by traditional and innovative tapas in the Meliá tapas bar. Located in the heart of the German Capital, directly at Friedrichstraße and next to the River Spree it is just a few minutes walk to monuments and major attractions such as the Brandenburg Gate, Museums Island or Alexanderplatz. The Melia Berlin is the perfect choice to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing