We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly priced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel OTTO

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel OTTO
Ranked #21 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Mersin, Turkey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Highly priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

If you are on a business trip this might not be the best place to stay in Berlin. For the same value you can get better located hotels, with more amenities. The one thing that bothered me the most was the fresh paint smell.
The Dining lounge in the top floor was the nicest thing about the hotel. The breakfast served was very good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mnassduce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    743
    358
    37
    13
    2
See reviews for
279
382
117
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

I just returned from a four-day trip to Berlin. I've always stayed in the area near Savignyplatz, but this was my first time at the Hotel Otto. It was incredibly easy to get there by bus (X9) from Tegel Airport, and there are good public transportation connections nearby from Ernst-Reuter-Platz (U-Bahn) as well as Savignyplatz (S-Bahn). The hotel is also on a street with several cafes and bookshops.

The Otto staff was always very helpful and friendly. I had a spacious single room facing the back that included a kitchenette. Mineral water is free and you can get a new bottle each day if you request it. If you're allergic to down duvets/pillows, they offer a synthetic option. The room was clean and quiet and the entire hotel is well maintained. I didn't eat breakfast there since the cost was pretty high, which I would say is the only downside of the Otto. Thankfully there are many inexpensive food options throughout the city, so that's not a huge issue. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EBS5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

We spent a week in Berlin, enjoying studio room in Hotel Otto. It has great location 200m from U-Bahn station, with lots of nice food restaurants next to it. Value for money was great and staff was always helpful and nice. Breakfast is 15€/prsn, which is too expensive, as near by coffee houses serve 2 persons easily under 13€. But they have afternoon and evenings free coffee/tea/cake at 7th floor.

I can stronly recommend this hotel, if you want good quality accommodation and you are not looking for 'normal' hotel.

Room Tip: Look for studio, its really big and has also small kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tejaask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

my husband and i stayed at hotel otto for three nights in may 2011 and had a great experience. we didn't wind up using it, but our room had a great little kitchen in addition to a nice, very clean bath and plenty of space. i always expect european hotel rooms to be super tiny and this was among the largest rooms i've stayed in anywhere. our room also had huge windows that let in lots of natural light and gave us a nice view of the street below.

coming from new york, my husband and i are always fearful of staying in the times square of whatever city we're visiting. and that was also a nice perk of being at hotel otto. we really liked the location, it felt more real and neighborhood-y, not in the heart of tourism but still very accessible to it.

our flight got into berlin fairly early in the morning, sooner than we expected to be able to check in, but the staff let us borrow a room to change our clothes and rearrange our things before leaving them at reception for the day.

oh! hotel otto also has free snacks in the afternoon, a perfect pick-me-up for the weary traveler. it wasn't quite warm enough when we were there, but there was a nice outdoor terrace to sit out on and enjoy a tea or coffee.

it was an overall great experience, one i'd definitely recommend!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sarahfromnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Just got back from Berlin and Hotel Otto. Location is fantastic,a few minutes from Ernst Reuter u bahn,which is only one stop from the Zoo station,which is on the Airport Express line from Schonefeld.Easy with a three day berlin pass.We had comfort rooms,which we all agreed were excellent,really spacious by Euro standards.We didn't eat breakfast,we found brunch at a place called Jules Verne less than ten minutes walk away for six euros less,which was excellent.My only criticism of Otto is that because there isn't a bar and reception is away from the entrance,it felt more like apartments than a hotel.We hardly met any staff on our entire trip!When we did, they were courteous and helpful.We slept well here and the free bottled water was a nice touch.Missing the free cake in the afternoon was our only regret!Five stars if it had a bar.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andymb100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

The best part about this hotel was the italian restaurant across the street. I arrived after 11pm which apparently the reception desk is closed. I was prompted by the man behind the buzzer what my room number was and he slid a key through a slot. There was no one at the desk to greet me just a buzz with a key. I was a woman traveling alone and did not feel safe at all by this!! There is no where that this states this is how you will be greeted. I then got to my room and wanted to get on to the internet to tell my family I was safe (even though I did not feel very safe in this hotel!) I called the reception line where they didn't understand me speaking in english and the man could not help me with the internet and told me he was hanging up the phone. RUDE customer service!! The next morning I found out that the internet does not support MAC products so beware when booking this hotel. After asking they did suggest an internet cafe 10 minutes away. The reception desk is not always available even in the daytime. Please be advised when booking this hotel. If you are okay with these things than you will find a clean hotel otherwise. I will not be staying here again. It ruined my Berlin experience! Thank you hotel otto.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOTTO, Leiter Front Office at Hotel OTTO, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Dear Rebecca,

thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback.

I do formally apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced with the obviously non-english speaking employee of the security company we work with.

On our homepage and all booking channels we work with it is clearly visible that the reception is not staffed around the clock (Reception times are from 7 am to 11 pm). Even in some comments on this site former guests have pointet that out.

The security company is an additional service for our guests in case of emergency (as written in your guest information where you found the extension of the reception).
In case of a late arrival we always suggest our guests to inform us about that so we may prepare everything that may be needed (internet access code, key for the parking lot ...).

During the day our reception staff is either at the desk or available through the phone on the reception desk. During these times of absence our staff is assisting other guests in their rooms or in the lounge.

Our internet access works with Microsoft als well as Apple computers, there is no difference in the availability or speed of connection. Usually personal settings like e.g. a firewall are responsible for internet inconnectivity.

We are very sorry that we were not abe to fulfill your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Your hotel OTTO team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Stayed here over New Year and was very impressed with the hotel. Bedrooms were very large and were simple but modern, and staff were friendly and helpful. The location was perfect, with the train line (that runs through the main stations) just 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Also the street the hotel is on is full of lovely restaurants, so you will never have a problem finding somewhere to eat! The hotel also provides free drinks and cakes/biscuits in the afternoon which is an added bonus!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#5 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Charlottenburg
Hotel Q!
Hotel Q!
#11 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Charlottenburg
Louisa's Place
Louisa's Place
#6 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel OTTO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel OTTO

Property: Hotel OTTO
Address: Knesebeckstrasse 10, 10623 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Berlin
#9 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#14 Family Hotel in Berlin
#19 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel OTTO 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our privately run Hotel OTTO is only minutes away from the famous Kurfurstendamm. Surrounded by theatres, museums, restaurant, bars and boutiques it is the ideal starting point to explore Germany's pulsating capital. For short trips as well as business. 46 Rooms and studios offer you functional design and highest comfort. Greet the day in the breakfast lounge "Etage07" with an extraordinary view over the rooftops of Berlin. Our very favourite place: the sundeck! Our Hotel OTTO is only minutes away by taxi from the Berlin convention centre. The Undergound Station (Ernst-Reuter-Platz), the S-Bahn Station (Savignyplatz) and several busses are only minutes of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel OTTO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Otto Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing