We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth it's price”
Review of Hotel Pankow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Pankow
Ranked #488 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Malmö, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Well worth it's price”
Reviewed 6 May 2008

Hotel Berlin-Pankow was chosen because they offered family rooms at very decent prices.
Location is right next to a busy street which cause disturbing noise in most rooms if you are not used to it. Even if it is located in the northern part of Berlin it just takes 20 minutes with Tram and S-bahn to the city centre, and the station was just outside the hotel - perfect. If you come in a small group of max 5 persons you can buy a cheap group ticket for 16 EUR per day. The only rule is that you must travel together since you only have one ticket.
Room was OK but not more. No warmth or cosiness, just your furniture and no more, not a place where you like to spend more time than necessary. One small closet for 4 persons is not enough, you have to live out of your suitcase which is OK for many people. Bathroom was clean and OK, nothing to complain about but not inviting.
Good parking possibilities if you come by car, either locked parking space in the back yard or parking garage was available.
Breakfast was included in price and gave a reasonable variety to choose from, something for everybody. In the evening there was complimentary tea/coffee on self-service or cold beverages at reasonable cost available in the reception area.
Staff was friendly and helpful.
Our only problem was that we had specifically asked for (via phone and mail) a room with only real beds and no sofa beds. This was agreed on phone and confirmed via mail but still it did not work. We mentioned this every day to the reception and each time they would find a solution for us but nothing really happened. Price was the same for rooms with sofa-beds but we feel that a confirmation in writing should be a solid agreement. No excuse for the mistake was given to us and no compensation at all.
Still, Berlin-Pankow can be recommended for travelers to Berlin who seek a budget price accommodation and intend to spend more time in the city than in the hotel room.

  • Liked — Good price for family rooms
  • Disliked — Busy street outside the hotel
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank F0gel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    15
    33
    12
    7
See reviews for
11
24
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2008

Dealing with the hotel directly via email was virtually problem free and very efficient as I almost always got an immediate reply. I was promptly picked up at Tegel airport (well, my flight was a bit delayed) and I have to say it seemed like a rather long drive to the hotel. The location itself is not central but the tram station is literally right outside the door...only 2 stops to the S-Bahn and then you can hop on the train and head towards the city centre which really isn't that very far away. There is little else in the area. I noticed only a small bar down the road, an Irish one if I am not mistaken, a small pizza takeaway and a gas station across the road where you can buy some snacks, etc.

Not all the staff speak English but most of them do. Service was pretty good, the staff all very friendly and helpful so certainly no complaints in this area. My room was small and basic but comfortable and sufficiently heated even when it was snowing outside. Breakfast was good enough and honestly for the price I paid, I think overall, it was very good value for money compared to what the other mainstream hotels were charging!

My biggest dissatisfaction here was the shower which was incredibly tight. The location of the shower head and the faucet is bad to the point of it being dangerous. If you are facing the shower head, the faucet is on your left, about the height of your elbow. It is VERY VERY easy to hit the faucet when you're showering. If you hit it one way, you end up with freezing cold water (well, it was winter when I was there) but what's worse is if you hit it the other way, the water is literally scalding. Needless to say, I had to experience both scenarios several times. The water which felt like it was boiling hot (it could have been!) was not fun... So I'd just say be very careful.

All-in-all, I'd say this hotel was ok and if I were on a budget, I would most likely stay here again.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Badly designed shower
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank gemmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2007

Hotel Pankow was our first stop on a trip where my boyfriend and I stayed in Berlin, Dresden and Prague.

And what a welcome place it was! We booked the airport pickup service that the hotel offered (40 Euros from Berlin Schonenfeld), so frin the moment Tobias picked us up, to the moment we left was a real pleasure. The late evening staff got us checked in smoothly, and we were taken up to our room (luggage was carried for us), a warm, spacious and comfortable twin bed as requested. We slept well, and the main road outside was no problem whatsoever. The curtains perhaps could have been a bit thicker.
Breakfast every morning was a real treat, with fresh cold meats, cheese and breads, to yoghurt, museli and fruit washed down with delicious coffee.

Transport from the hotel was second to none - there is a Tramline (S-Bahn) DIRECTLY OUTSIDE the hotel, where we hopped on and then jumped off at the Pankow Stop (NOT Pankow Heinersdorf), to transfer onto the U-Bahn (U2 line) which got us into the heart of Berlin. From hotel to city centre, it took around 20 minutes, this was perfect for us.

  • Liked — Friendly staff who spoke wonderful english, breakfast and travel links
  • Disliked — Thin curtains in the bedroom
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank amew1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2007

The Pankow was our 2nd stop during our little wander around Europe following a stay in Utrecht, and was one of the nicest places I've ever stayed at.

Because of a slight cock-up on our part with travel arrangements, we didn't arrive in Berlin until late in the day on 3rd October 2004. Also, due to crossed wires, both me and my best mate forgot to print directions from the U-Bahn stop to the hotel! First impressions of Pankow was a bit shaky - our German was less-than-great, and anyone we bumped into on the somewhat deserted streets were somewhat wary of us. However, after an hour or so wandering about, we suddenly came across the hotel to a wonderfully warm and hospitable welcome.

The late receptionist literally welcomed us with open arms, a massive shake of the hand, and a grin that puts most English hoteliers in the shade. After checking in, we were shown to our room - nice and big, TV, shower, toilet, phone, lots of storage space, and lovely and warm (it was somewhat nippy outside!).

We met the owner the following morning at breakfast, and he was/is such a nice guy - couldn't do enough to help, friendly, hospitably, the absolute epitomy of Mein Host. He found us pouring over a couple of guide books, and came over to sit with us, gave us a few ideas and pointers, also a bit of local knowledge and shortcuts that saved us a lot of time and money.

At the end of our stay, we checked out and mentioned to the owner that we'd be back again at the end of the month for the end of our travels

Stop 2 at the Pankow was 3 weeks after the first, and the first thing that happened on arrival was the owner came straight over to us and shook us warmly by the hand, saying "Jon and Dominik! How lovely you've come back!". We had a different room this time, equally as nice if not nicer, and the stay just as great.

This hotel might be off the beaten track if you're visiting Berlin (it's about 30 mins from Zoo Station by U-Bahn & S-Bahn), but it's well worth it - you get to see a lot of old Berlin on your way there. And it's well worth the trip because the hotel is great and the staff there are among the nicest I've ever been to.

Highly recommended!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2004, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigAudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Hotel B1
#377 of 634 in Berlin
92 reviews
Businesshotel Berlin
#271 of 634 in Berlin
81 reviews
Charlottenburg
Happy Go Lucky Hotel
Happy Go Lucky Hotel
#355 of 634 in Berlin
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Hotel Lichtenberg
#365 of 634 in Berlin
299 reviews
Akademie-Hotel Berlin
#389 of 634 in Berlin
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pankow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pankow

Property: Hotel Pankow
Address: Pasewalker Str. 14-15, 13127 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #488 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pankow 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is situated in the north of Berlin and has perfect access to public transportation to reach airports, distant railway stations, underground, city railroad, tramway and coach. The house has 43 rooms, a spacious breakfast room, reception desk, lift and is handicapped accessible. Our bright modern rooms are equipped with CABLE TV and a direct dialing phone. Most rooms have a desk and a comfortable armchair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Pankow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pankow Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing