We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New modern chic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel One Berlin-Hackescher Markt
Ranked #46 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We chose this hotel due to the closeness of the Alexanderplatz and the railway station. The motel was very new and tastefully decorated. Loved the walk in wardrobe - could fill it with 2 jackets. Breakfast was adequate, with a great variety of meats and cheeses. The staff were pleasant. We wanted to go to the Christmas Markets, they sent us to one, it was not real good, we ended up finding 2 really great Christmas Markets our selves.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbug1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (776)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 776 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2012

We chose this hotel for its easy access, as we arrived by train from Prague and took the tram to Alexanderplatz. You can nearly see the sign when you exit the station. Unlike quirky older hotels, this one is part of a well-planned system. As other reviewers mention, the room is small with no frills - but it is clean and quiet, even though we faced the train tracks.

The breakfast experience is not stellar; our days there were busy, with lineups for food and for tables. We had to wait, then clear a dirty table to sit at. The eating area is also the lobby, with only stools instead of chairs, and people waiting with luggage to check out beside us.

Location is great for walking and shopping, as well as accessing transit.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophiagoestoItaly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This is an excellent budget hotel. I stayed here twice.
- Room are very simple but are practical with a small table, TV. Confortable bed. Nice modern design.
- Fairly quiet. (I was unlucky to have a neighbour room with a guy snoring loud but it was acceptable.)
- Nice small bathroom (with marble and design sink).
- Add a small fee to have breakfast and wifi in the room.
- Location is very good, from Alexanderplatz you have public transports going to everywhere and a direct bus to Tegel airport (bus TXL).
- Lobby is big and confortable.
- The staff is very nice.

However, take warm clothes if you come during winter. The heating is minimal. I used the temperature control of the room but it didn't have an effect. I told the staff that said they would check but nothing changed. The temperature was just acceptable to me as I was just staying for sleep but I expect that some people would find it too low.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Living_in_Hotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Very comfortable, chic hotel. Excellent value, and the food and drink options were good. Great location right next to Alexanderplatz, though try to avoid getting a room on the side of the hotel which is right next to the railway line (could be noisy). All in all, a great and affordable base for seeing a great city.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwjnewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We highly recommend Motel One Alexanderplatz, after we've just had a long weekend (3 nights) in Berlin at the start of December 2011. This is a funky, modern, clean and functional hotel, ideal for a long-weekend break for sightseeing in Berlin. The Hotel is in an ideal location for the tourist visitor. Good access to transport links: the Alexanderplatz U-bahn and S-bahn station is just across the road, and buses run along nearby Karl-Liebnecht strasse/Unter den Linden. The hotel also offers a very good value breakfast buffet. Hotel is located just a few minutes walk from the famous Alexanderplatz (with the iconic Fensehturm or tv tower) in East Berlin. It's within walking distance of most of the major cultural sights and buildings off down Unter den Linden, so you can set off on a good sight-seeing walking tour of your own. It's also very close to the Hackescher Markt and Oranienburgerstrasse for a variety of restaurants, bars and shops. The Hotel staff were friendly, professional and very helpful. Our room was clean and modern, with a good shower, and it was all that we needed for a tourist visit when we tend to be out and about all day. The Hotel's motif is a funky modern design. For UK readers, in the UK the hotel would probably be a Premier Inn-type level - except the Premier Inn is not as nice. And if you're travelling as a couple for the Christmas markets (as we did), there are three or four Christmas markets within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

i stayed four nights in this property and picked it because of its crawling distance from alex. if you need to get to an S or U bahn, you can't get any closer. the room was affordable (EUR65/night), modern design, equipped with the basic essentials and clean which is perfect for travellers who need a place to sleep. If you need a proper wardrobe, bathrobes, phone in your room, bathtub and room service, you might want to consider other options.

Lovely lobby which is great for a drink but i'd avoid the morning breakfast rush with the business travellers and sneak across the road to the cafe which offers a great cooked breakfast and free wi-fi.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gabewong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

If you need a place where just sleep in a good comfort, simply but nicely styled, very easy and efficient, with no frills but the good essentials, with a very nice price, good staff, super central position (few steps from Hackesher Markt on one side and Alexander Platz on the other) well, that's the right place.
Pay attention to the price: the right acceptable range (2010-2011) is normally between Eu 65/75. But sometimes (meetings, fairs, main events, marathon) you may find it more expensive (90/100Eu): then you'd decide for other major hotels, which for the same quotation give you more "environment" and services.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank The_GarMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Motel One Berlin Spittelmarkt
Mitte
Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz
Schoneberg
Motel One Berlin-Tiergarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
Motel One Berlin Mitte
Motel One Berlin Mitte
#164 of 633 in Berlin
422 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Moabit
Motel One Berlin-Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Berlin-Hackescher Markt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Berlin-Hackescher Markt

Address: Dircksenstr. 36, 10179 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Motel One Berlin - Alexanderplatz)
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Berlin
#46 Business Hotel in Berlin
#64 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#75 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $122 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel One Berlin-Hackescher Markt 2.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Motel One Berlin-Hackescher Markt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 1 Berlin - Alexanderplatz
Motel One Berlin - Alexanderplatz Hotel Berlin
Hotel One Berlin Alexanderplatz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing