We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inside Haeckesher Hof”
Review of Oxymoron

Oxymoron
Ranked #179 of 10,915 Restaurants in Berlin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Mitte (Borough)
Description: Zwischen Museumsinsel und lebendigem Galerie- und Modequartier liegen die Hackeschen Höfe mit einer interessanten Mischung Inhaber-geführter Läden, Manufakturen einem Kino und Varieté. Im Jugendstil-Hof bietet das mondäne Restaurant eine entspannte Atmosphäre im urbanen Getümmel. Die kreative, italienisch & französisch inspirierte Küche verarbeitet ausgesuchte frische Produkte, viele von regionalen Bio-Produzenten. Sie finden interessante Weine aus den wichtigen europäischen Anbaugebieten mit Schwerpunkt Deutschland, Frankreich, Italien und eine große Cocktail- und Spirituosenauswahl.
Reviewed October 11, 2015

This is a really fun small bistro-like restaurant that serves excellent salads, local beer, reasonable wine, and has a super waitstaff. It's small, and you'll probably eat outside, but you are inside the rabbit warren that's Haeckesher Hof, a 1905 vintage "shopping center." The view of passers-by is unbeatable. Skip the fast food eateries in the area and drop in on Oxymoron. You'll be glad you did.

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (749)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 228 of 749 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2015

We stopped here for a late drink and booked for dinner for the following night. The chef is not Italian, but creates wonderful, imaginative pasta dishes bursting with flavour. The manager Tom, selected a lovely wine for us. The presentation of the food and the service were impeccable. We returned on our last night and selected meat and fish dishes, both of which were of the highest standard. Professionally standards are combined with a warm welcome . Strongly recommended.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Cork_IrelandScm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 8, 2015

This food was extremely tasty, though the wine we were recommended was not so. We selected another one and were much more satisified with out experience.

Date of visit: June 2015
Thank Athanasia Monik... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 5, 2015 via mobile

We loved this restaurant, i had homemade ravioli which were great, for me perfect size, others might find it small. My husband had tagliatelli with mushrooms and serrano ham, excellent, and for dessert a strudel with pear marzipan. We had a bottle of wine and the bill was 60 euros. Good price for excellent food

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank Rossanagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 17, 2015

Tried this fashionable restaurant twice: the first time during business lunch time-the portions served were small yet tasty enough to make me come back the day after. The other day when I returned, it was after business lunch time was already over so I had to order a la carte-this turned out to be a rather expensive deal with a total of 25.20 EUR for a single person. Considering the fact this was Berlin, I'd say it's overpriced, not to mention that he menu is limited.

Nonetheless, the setting at Hackesche Hoeffe makes it ideal for lunch for anyone touring the inner yards in this area. It is frequented mostly by tourists, which also explains the overpricing.

Date of visit: June 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gametogenesis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Oxymoron also viewed

 

Been to Oxymoron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.