We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay restaurant, but not really special”
Review of Oxymoron

Oxymoron
Ranked #180 of 10,891 Restaurants in Berlin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Mitte (Borough)
Description: Zwischen Museumsinsel und lebendigem Galerie- und Modequartier liegen die Hackeschen Höfe mit einer interessanten Mischung Inhaber-geführter Läden, Manufakturen einem Kino und Varieté. Im Jugendstil-Hof bietet das mondäne Restaurant eine entspannte Atmosphäre im urbanen Getümmel. Die kreative, italienisch & französisch inspirierte Küche verarbeitet ausgesuchte frische Produkte, viele von regionalen Bio-Produzenten. Sie finden interessante Weine aus den wichtigen europäischen Anbaugebieten mit Schwerpunkt Deutschland, Frankreich, Italien und eine große Cocktail- und Spirituosenauswahl.
Reviewed April 1, 2024 via mobile

The surrounding area is beautiful! Worth a visit. We expected more from Oxymoron. Food was okay, but not as beautiful as advertised. Too many waiters managing too many tables. They were friendly however. The atmosphere represented in the pictures looks nice… but reality is ‘so so’. For a nice plate of food it’s okay, but pricey.

Date of visit: April 2024
Thank Walther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (749)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 749 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2024

This place had real charm, a stylish cocktail slurping clientele without being stuffy or pretentious. The wine was superb as was the curated tasty menu. The service was efficient and attentive but unobtrusive. The little square the restaurant is in by the picture house is pretty with a hint of the magical. I’d highly try this restaurant.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 20, 2023 via mobile

My partner and I had the most disappointing meal at this restaurant in what is a most beautiful building. The food was pretty tasteless. Okay so we could taste salt sweet sour and salt but beyond that the food was bland without any particular and nuanced flavour - so disappointing, and at 100 euros with wine overpriced for what we received. The view was nice but not worth the tag!

Date of visit: September 2023
1  Thank shelley k
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 20, 2023

We spend summers in Berlin for personal and work reasons. We tried Oxymoron for the first time as we usually go to the other restaurant right nearby. My husband's vichyssoise was wonderful. My chicken Cesar salad with wasabi and krupuk (Indonesian shrimp crackers) was swimming in too much dressing. I love krupuk but it didn't fully make sense to have that rather than a Japanese cracker in keeping with the Japanese wasabi. There were just a few pieces of chicken---delicious but not very much. The wait time for our drinks was very long and for our food was too long. The waiter was very solicitous and nice. When we paid and I added several Euros to the total, making it 59, the waiter stated that 10 percent would be 61 Euros. I was shocked---this has never happened before in a German cafe or restaurant. The two Euros difference is not the issue---it's the expectation of a certain amount which is not the case in other German restaurants. We'll go back to the other restaurant next time and have croutons with Cesar salad instead.

Date of visit: July 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank dianelwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Restaurant Oxymoron, Owner at Oxymoron, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2023

Dear Diane,
we are verry sorry for that experience concerning the tip especially .
This is also not in our sense and we will clarify this again with the team.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2023

The food and staff were great but the wandering around this complex was a real eye opener. Just to walk around the various shops and courtyards was very interesting. Worth while a visit

Date of visit: June 2023
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Oxymoron also viewed

 

Been to Oxymoron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.