We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$222
View deal
Hotels.comUS$223
Expedia.comUS$223
PricelineUS$222
eDreamsUS$222
Westin.comUS$222
Orbitz.comUS$223
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (965)
Filter reviews
965 results
Traveller rating
447
235
156
77
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
447
235
156
77
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews concert hall floor to ceiling windows viewing platform beautiful property the club lounge breakfast restaurant direct access the upper floors early check spa area hotel is located an upgrade city design elbe sauna garage
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 965 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2020

Very disappointed! Not what we expected from a 5 Star hotel at all. Here are the top failures:
1. No water on our arrival day - one of the hottest days of the year, in the Covid time and in the afternoon / evening, when most guests are in their rooms. After the long journey we could not even use the bathroom in our suite. And to top it off, the letter warning about this situation that was left on the desk in our room wished us a "refreshing stay".
2. Despite booking an extra bed for our child, it was not prepared and we had to go down to reception and ask for it because
3. The phone in our room was broken and no technician came to fix it, as promised by receptionists.
4. We booked a Hamburg Public Transport card as part of the Elbstrand package (offered on the homepage), but the hotel staff had no clue how to issue it and we were even asked, whether we had no money to buy it ourselves.
5. The booking confirmation did not mention, that pool times needed to be booked ahead of time. If it would have, we could have pre-booked times at the pool. The pool was one of the criteria why we booked the hotel.
6. The Lounge location changed and was now in the lobby and no food was offered - only drinks.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Honza09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja Plattner, Gästeservice/Empfang at The Westin Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2020

Dear guest,

First of all, thank you for taking the time for a detailed evaluation.

I regret that the stay did not suit you 100%.

Unfortunately there was an unforeseen repair in the building on your arrival day. The water had to be turned off for 4 hours - so I can understand your annoyance.

I apologize for the inconvenience with the extra bed and the phone in your room.

Unfortunately we cannot undo your negative impression of our house, but we would be pleased if you would give us another chance to convince you of our services.

With kind regards,

Anja Plattner,
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2020 via mobile

The hotel is located at one of the best places in town and very convenient to get around the waterside in Hamburg. The views from the rooms are the reason to stay here as you can not get closer to water and ships. The hotel sells itself as 5* but unfortunately it is not. Breakfast was good, fitness center equipped well and the bar had a good selection. The biggest downside is the service culture in the house. While staff is trying they do not have a 5* attitude and drive by management. We stayed for a week and had endless incidents not suppose to happen in a house like this. In short go for the view (look for best rooms = suite rooms) but don’t expect great service.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank HKZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja Plattner, Gästeservice/Empfang at The Westin Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2020

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time for an evaluation. First of all, we are pleased to read that the central location in the Hafencity - not far from many sights - and the great view as well as the breakfast have pleased you.

However, we regret that we could not convince you 100%.

We work daily on optimizing communication and new processes to meet our very high standards and to continue to make the experience for our guests as positive as possible. I assure you that I will address your comments on service internally as well.

Nevertheless, we would be pleased if you would visit us again soon.

With best regards,

Anja Plattner,
Guest relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2020 via mobile

Nice view but in all not as expected.

We upgraded beforehand (after luring mails from the hotel) to a junior suite but it was not at all clear that we lost the included breakfast in the upgrading process.
Breakfast was € 30 per person.
Even though we understand the difficulties and challenges this special corona situation is bringing, € 30 per person for the breakfast served is overpriced.

The room was very worn from use all though the hotel only just opened in 2017.
The closed lounge was not mentioned at all at the website and we only learned about it as we asked for it at check in. More information pre booking about the current limits in terms of using the hotels facilities would be highly recommended and appreciated.

The staff was friendly and accommodating and the view stunning.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kyndiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja Plattner, Gästeservice/Empfang at The Westin Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2020

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate your stay with us at The Westin Hamburg.

First of all, we are pleased that the unique view appealed to you.
We regret that we could not convince you 100% of our services.

The measures taken to contain Covid-19 also demand a great deal from the hotel industry. Our highest goal is that each of our guests feels welcome and can spend a pleasant stay in our hotel. In these times, however, we have to adapt processes and react at short notice. We work daily on optimizing communication and new processes to meet our very high standards and to continue to make the experience for our guests as positive as possible.

Since, due to official regulations, breakfast buffets are currently not possible in Hamburg, we have decided to offer an Etageren breakfast, which includes many components of the breakfast buffet that can be reordered at any time. Additionally we serve freshly prepared egg dishes and coffee specialities. The price for the breakfast served at the table is comparatively high, as the staffing in the background as well as at the guest is much higher than with a breakfast buffet.

Unfortunately we cannot undo your negative impression of our house, but we would be pleased if you would give us another chance to convince you of our services.

With kind regards,

Anja Plattner,
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2020

Stayed here for 4 nights. We had booked 3 nights, but loved the hotel and the city, so we stayed one more night.
We got a room on the 17th floor, with a amazing view.
When we arrived was there a welcome gift, wine and strawberrys. On the last day we got a gift more, champagne.
Pool and breakfast is good, with Covid 19 restrictions. Only 5 persons in the pool and no buffet for breakfast.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mesl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja Plattner, Gästeservice/Empfang at The Westin Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2020

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time for such a positive evaluation. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed Hamburg and your stay at The Westin so much.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,

Collin Ten Dam
Hotelmanager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2020 via mobile

This hotel offers an exclusive design, great location with less than 20 minutes walk to the center of the city.
Nice and friendly staff.
The rooms are comfortable and big.

I am though unsatisfied with the sleeping quality in the room. Even though there’s air conditioning in the room, it’s working so insufficient that the room never had either fresh air or normal temperature. I assume that in a cold German winter that it’s nice to have room temperature on 26 degrees. However in the summer and at night it would be nice to be able to regulate the room temperature. With the old fashioned and insufficient air conditions in this hotel, it is not possible to regulate the temperature at all. You can not even set the air conditioning to cool to a certain level. The only settings is on/off hot/cold. And obviously the cold setting doesn’t work. This makes sleeping in the room, like sleeping in a hot tub and the experience with the hotel to an unpleasant experience. We complained twice about the air conditioner. The first time they promised to fix it in our room and nothing happened and they never even tried. The second time we were offered a new room. The new room was the room next door with the exact same poor room temperature regulating system. We then told them that the new room is not better and they promised to regulate the room temperature from their central regulationssystem. It’s not a surprise that it didn’t work either.

Peak this hotel if you want to enjoy exclusive design and beautiful view, but if you want to sleep good in the night, peak somewhere else.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ShimaFresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja Plattner, Gästeservice/Empfang at The Westin Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2020

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time for an evaluation. We regret all the more that you were not satisfied with the air conditioning in your room.

Please be assured that we have forwarded your comments internally.

It is our greatest endeavour to ensure that our guests can enjoy a completely satisfied stay.

Unfortunately we cannot undo your experience. However, we would be happy to welcome you again as a guest and to convince you of our service and good air conditioning.

With kind regards

Madeleine Marx
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews