We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular hotel”
Review of Park Hyatt Hamburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Hyatt Hamburg
Ranked #5 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Colleagues told me that this was their first choice hotel in Hamburg and there is no question that it is fantastic. Staff was gracious and friendly. I wanted to spend the entire weekend in my room it was so lovely and comfortable. The bathroom was equally spectacular. Breakfast was delicious. Get it included in your room rate because otherwise it's an outrageous 32 euros. Location is perfect, right in the middle of the prime shopping area and about a block from the main train station.

Room Tip: Get breakfast included in room rate
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Houston3214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,419)
There are newer reviews for Park Hyatt Hamburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

822 - 828 of 2,419 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2012

I was introduced to this hotel some years ago and have no hesitation in booking it upon my return each time in Hamburg.

The rooms are large, well appointed and well thought out with attention to detail that you simply do not get at most hotels. Quality unctions in the bathroom, heated floor in the bathroom, plenty of power points ajacent to the desk of universal type so you easily can plug in various electronic devices that seem to form a part of travel now, without having to look for adaptors or switching over devices for recharging continuously. Large desk that you can work on. Large fluffy towels, comfortable bed and walls that do not easily transmit noise etc. etc.

The staff are universally polite and well trained and seem to have got the balance right between being helpful, respectful and with good humour without being obsequious or overly effusive as tends to happen with some hotels in USA where on occasions you feel you are moments away from receiving a marriage proposal.

The dining room is excellent and small things such as bringing a newspaper or magazine if you are dining alone, make the difference. The menu is not big, but the range and quality of foods and wines is excellent, the kitchen is open plan so you can see the food being prepared and frequently the chef will bring it to your table which is a nice touch.

The building itself is not as far as I can see historic but it is well constructed and within easy walking distance to the historic center of Hamburg and right on the main shopping street. There is a taxi rank at the front door so for all but the very early and very late hours, a taxi is available.

You arrive on ground floor but reception, bar, resatarant and coffee shop are all on 2nd floor. Your luggage is taken on ground floor and delivered to your room as soon as you have completed formalities.

It typically takes 25-35 minutes from the airport depending on traffic.

I have also driven there are they arrange a valet to take your vehicle to a parking station next door and it is delivered to the door when you depart.

There are some small details that could be improved but I believe this would be churlish to raise these when overall they do an outstanding job.

I have never given a 5 star rating before, and I am not generally given to being generous with praise as my other reviews will confirm, nevertheless in this instance I believe they have earned it and do not hesitate to give them credit.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the main shopping street provide more interesting vista, but you do tend to ge...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Singapore_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

All Park Hyatts are top end; this one is a touch better than most. Beautiful lobby, excellent restaurant and state of the art fitness center are just part of the package. The rooms are big and well-designed. No, they do not have great views of the Alster like some other luxury hotels; but you do here the chimes of the nearby cathedral and the neighborhood is one of the best in the city. The bar at the Park Hyatt deserves special mention. It was recently refurbished and now offers an amazing selection of high end vodkas and a slightly smaller selection of gins. The bartender knows his business and will make a visit most enjoyable.

I have one small beef with the Park Hyatt. The fitness center is in the basement but to get there you have to come down to the lobby, go to the other elevator and then go to the basement. May have been the only way to do it but it is mildly annoying especially if you are self-conscious about going through the lobby after a workout.

Otherwise, this is an almost perfect hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RCK52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

The location couldn't be better for shopping and exploring Hamburg.
I am ver critical when it comes to hotels, but I found no bad marks at this property.
The rooms are nice and smart. No crawling on the floor to plug in your computer, no looking for adaptors - all is readily available. The internet connection is ver fast.

The spa/ pool facilities are more than you expect from a top rated hotel. I enjoyed the large indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and experienced a BIO-sauna for the first time.

Breakfast was absolutely fantastic, and dinner a the hotel was top.

I found it surprising the hotel is charging for a second person in the room - unusual for Hyatt, but common in Germany.

I am a Diamond Member with Hyatt and have access to the Club room facilities. I was not made aware until I checked out this hotel had a Hyatt club.My room was excellent, but on the lower floors and not on the club floor as I would have expected.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eTurboNews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I have lived in the Park Hyatt for almost three years from 2003 onwards during weekdays. I mostly go back once a year for a trip "down memory lane". This hotel kept the same extremely high standards for years in a row. Almost everything is perfect. Nothing less than striking is the hospitatlity of all staff. Valet parking, reception, restaurant, bar. It does not matter where you are, there is always a smile and a nice remark. Even though I have not lived there for 8 years staff who are still there imediately remember me and even my name. This is how a hotel should be!! Remarkable place.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hansmiddelburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Very good location with the Binnenalster pond and many restaurants and shopping streets in walking distance.

The lobby is not on the ground floor, as a consequence getting a taxi can take a while. Apart from that service was impeccable and the staff were very friendly and efficient.

I had a spacious and nicely furnished room. Good gym and spa area. The cozy bar would not look out of place in a country inn. Good breakfast in a rather crowded cafeteria.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and it was a very pleasant stay. Comfortable spacious rooms, very friendly personnel, perfect location. SPA is also good - saunas and pool are worth to visit.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eleron71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#1 of 319 in Hamburg
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Le Meridien Hamburg
#29 of 319 in Hamburg
1,476 reviews
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#6 of 319 in Hamburg
1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Hamburg

Address: Bugenhagenstrasse 8, 20095 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#2 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#2 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: $266 - $758 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hyatt Hamburg is located in the historic Levantehaus building near Moenckebergstrasse shopping street offering 252 luxurious rooms and suites. The hotel features Hamburg's maritime legacy as well as contemporary design and amenities. A 1,000 sq m area is dedicated to wellness at Club Olympus Spa & Fitness featuring a 20 m pool, a sauna, a Sanarium, a steam bath, a whirlpool, a fully equipped fitness centre and a yoga studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Hyatt Hamburg
Hamburg Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing