We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$214
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-04-24
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$213
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-04-24
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$214
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-04-24
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreamsUS$213
PricelineUS$213
TravelocityUS$214
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,596)
Filter reviews
1,596 results
Traveller rating
941
361
165
69
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
941
361
165
69
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews luxury hotel alster view room service deluxe room nespresso machine railway station lobby concierge doorman renovation germany gym minibar
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,596 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2020

We had a number of telephone and email exchanges with this hotel about various aspects of our booking over several weeks. Not once did the hotel state that it was undergoing significant disruptive renovation.

It was only by reading comments on TripAdvisor, later confirmed in conversation, that we learned about it and heard that the management had barred staff from advising guests in advance of the disruption. The alternative arrangements for breakfast, bar service and lobby availability were far from convincing.Luckily, we were able to rebook with another hotel at the last minute. During our visit to Hamburg, we could see the disturbances for ourselves.

This might be an old-established and reputable luxury hotel, but its apparent short-sighted willingness in allowing guests to encounter the effects of the renovation on arrival are likely to stain its reputation for years to come. Moreover, placing front-line staff in such a difficult position shows disregard for their welfare as employees.

Room tip: Make sure that the renovations are complete before booking.
Date of stay: July 2020
    • Service
Thank GlobalTravellerIJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Atlantic, Inhaber at Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2020

Dear Guest, dear "GlobalTravellerlJM",

Greetings from Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg and thank you for sharing your valuable feedback.

We regret that your stay was not as comfortable as expected. Please be ensured that we take your comments very seriously.

Hopefully see you next time in our lovely City - the renovation is now fully completed.

With our very best regards.

Your Hotel Atlantic Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2020

We booked a Deluxe Room for 4 nights at the end of May (15 days before the reopening of the border between Switzerland and Germany) in the hope to be able to visit Hamburg traveling by car. The bet worked nicely. We managed to cross the German border and on June 27th in the early evening we arrived at the property. Upon parking outside the Hotel we unfortunately faced the disappointment that the Atlantic Hotel is currently undergoing a large overhaul, probably delayed by the corona lockdown. As a matter of fact the whole ground floor currently looks like a large constructions site, with a temporary reception build in the area of the original ballrooms and a maze of construction panels to go thru to reach the elevators. During our stay there were no noises, just some strong glue smell in the lobby on one day and lack of hot water in our room on a morning. We were assigned room 343 which was large, comfortable and quiet but completely empty of any printed leaflet or information brochure. Given the current corona restrictions many services were either not available (pool) or reduced (SPA massages), anyway the hotel looked to us as being understaffed, with single staff apparently serving on long shifts. The paper burden was huge: we were requested to fill in forms with our data on each breakfast, teatime or dinner even as a hotel resident. As no breakfast buffet is currently allowed because of the corona restrictions, breakfast has to be ordered à la carte with three main choices & some extra dishes available. Our experience with the staff was always positive, nevertheless they appeared overwhelmed and some of them even unexperienced. Slow and inattentive interactions were the obvious result, requiring multiple calls to get things done (e.g: obtaining a working ironing board, laundry missing item in a bag of three, forgotten breakfast items, booking a table at the hotel’s restaurant). All in all, even in this complex times we enjoyed visiting Hamburg and Lübeck by train (the railway station is located 10 min. by walk from the hotel) but this stay was absolutely not up to par with the usual Kempinski experience.

Date of stay: June 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sekok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Atlantic, Inhaber at Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2020

Dear Guest, dear Sekok,

warm Greetings from Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg and thank you for sharing your detailed and valuable feedback.

We regret that your stay was not as comfortable as expected. The whole team is grateful for your detailed description - we will discuss all your critical points within our respective departments to improve our skills and facilities.

However we are looking forward to welcome you back soon and sending our best regards.

Your Hotel Atlantic Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2020 via mobile

First of all i hope the hospitality and leisure industry recovers, we all enjoy our trips away. As Denmark and Germany re-opened the border we planned a trip to this hotel. I wish i’d not come, it was the most underwhelming Kempinski stay i’ve ever had. As a GHA black member, there are certain standards a hotel must live upto with its lotalty members.

There was no personal greeting by letter, no local amenity, no pool open, no room service available, half the hotel under construction or closed, no room upgrade. The whole stay was just very subpar. While i appreciate the hotels been closed 11 weeks, its more inportant than ever to keep up the standards. 200 euros a night for two nights, a breakfast of 35 euros per person isnt going to make me want to return to this hotel anytime soon. On the positive side, hygiene was good.

Date of stay: June 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank crosma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticKempinski, Manager at Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2020

Dear Guest, dear "Crosma1",

warm Greetings from Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg and thank you for sharing your valuable feedback.

We regret that your recent stay was not as comfortable as expected. Most of your critical points are due to the current government restrictions, so kindly accept our apologies.

Please be ensured that we have discussed your comments internally to improve our service skills for the future.

Hopefully you have mentioned your feedback already while staying in our Hotel to find a proper solution.

We would love to see you again in our lovely city and welcome you back to Hotel Atlantic.

With our very best regards.

Your Hotel Atlantic Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2020

We stayed here during the Beachvolleyball world champs 2019 in Hamburg and we think we made the perfect choice for an awesome week of sightseeing and events such as musicals and of course the Beachvolleyball tournament. The room we got was very nice with a little living room area and large windows to give the room a lot of day light. The bathroom was extremely clean and luxurious. The hotel itself was under renovation so we couldn't use the spa and pool area but since we walked a lot through Hamburg it didn't matter. Staff in the entire hotel was extremely friendly and we will definitely come back when we go to Hamburg again.

Room tip: Get a room with a view on the water.
Date of stay: July 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ricky_Shaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticKempinski, Manager at Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2020

Dear Guest, Dear Ricky_Shaton,

warm Greetings from Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg and thank you for sharing your valuable feedback.

The whole team is glad that you have enjoyed your time in Hamburg and that you were satisfied with our service.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon and sending our best regards.

Your Hotel Atlantic Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 31, 2020 via mobile

So many things to love about this hotel.
The location is lovely
The food is outstanding
The staff goes above and beyond to ensure your stay is pleasant.
Room service was such a treat .
The building is beautiful.
All in all just a great hotel , yes you pay a bit more than your average hotel but it is really worth the money .
Would recommend highly as a great treat.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank piaboddum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticKempinski, Manager at Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2020

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Atlantic and thank you for sharing your feedback.

We are glad that you were satisfied with your recent stay and enjoyed our services.

Hopefully see you soon in our lovely City.

With our very best regards

Your Hotel Atlantic Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews