We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long weekend in Hamburg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novum Hotel Graf Moltke Hamburg
Ranked #125 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed 6 July 2017

Good clean Hotel . Very central for all forms of transport. Room was good size and comfortable, a bit noisy as on a very busy junction. Breakfast was good with lots of choice and pleasant staff. would have liked tea and coffee making facilities in room and also Lounge/ bar,as Very large breakfast room wasted space after 10.30am.
Would definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: rear rooms quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank clp1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2017

The hotel was very reasonable and great price for a weekend away. It's a good central location for the train station. The area the hotel is in is a bit run down area a lot of homeless people but you can walk to the main shopping area in around 10 minutes. When we arrived at the hotel one of our rooms (Triple room for 3 adults) was made up with Twin Beds and a sofa bed suitable for a child. We did complain regarding this but nothing could be done about it as apparently all triple rooms have only this option. If you are planning on booking a triple room please be wary of this. Means an adult has to sleep on a sofa size of a child for the weekend.Twin Rooms were a mixture of room sizes. Our room in particular was very long and narrow. It was fine. Whilst we were checking in (group of 12 adults) a few of the girls were given other guests room keys and they actually entered their rooms. Not too happy re security here. Breakfast was fine. Overall this hotel was ok - But I would not use it again due to the above points.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Suzi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

Great for a quick central visit to Hamburg. Had a single room with Queen size bed. Small room but adequate for a good nights sleep. Hotel clean and tidy. It's an old building tall ceilings. Lift to all floors.
A no frills stay. Got a very good last minute £50 rate which included breakfast. The hotel is situated in an area where displaced people from Europe and Africa hang out. Some may get concerned but they don't bother you. We found a nice looking local restaurant in the square behind for dinner. Local food at good prices. Staff friendly and breakfast was ample. Good transport links railway and underground opposition hotel. Secure car park nearby for 10 euros for 24 hrs.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank SheriffBnqy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

If you need a cheap place near the central train & bus station, this is ok. Everything lese was pretty bad. Only stay here as a last resort - which was our issue as apparently everything in Hamburg was booked. Where do I start? Tiny room (7 feet by 13 feet including the bath). Run down. Noisy as it faces the square & bus station. Homeless people on door step and teenagers shouting in the square all night. Breakfast was actually good, but this is really just a basic place to sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms facing front are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LucyLu_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017 via mobile

I stayed here with a couple of friends for a few nights in May. The hotel itself, is perfectly adequate for a 'no frills' break. Our triple room was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed. The bathroom was large and there was a ready supply of fresh towels. The staff were friendly enough and the breakfast was also of a decent standard with the usual selection of breads, meats and cheeses, eggs and cereal etc. The hotel is perfectly located, about 100m from the main train station. It took us 25 mins to get from the airport to the hotel and only cost €3 on the train. The street where the hotel is situated is quite 'rough' and we were a little shocked when we first arrived. However, we were quite safe and there was no need to worry. As soon as you turn the corner, the streets improve and you feel safer. If I'm honest, I probably wouldn't come to this hotel with my partner but it's perfectly fine for a trip with friends. In summary, cheap and cheerful hotel, with everything you need. Handy location but a little rough.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017

Perfect location if you want to do a lot of sightseeing, we stayed 5 nights. It is located in a busy district with S-bahn, U-bahn, central train station, tourist information just around the corner. 10-15 minutes walk to warehouse district, city hall and other sightseeing attractions of Hamburg. Hotel building is from 1880, with an amazing staircase, renovated in 2010 so generally fairly fresh. Rooms are cleaned everyday, breakfast is ok (but I wish they had a coffee machine with a selection of coffees like cappuccino instead of breakfast coffee in jugs), reception is 24h, very friendly. You can park your car outside in a street which is a bit expensive, or park in a parking house 10 euro per 24h 3 streets away.

Room Tip: 3- person- rooms are very big, ask for one with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ReniK-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

An overall disappointing experience.
The only reason for me giving it more than one point is the central location close to main train station of Hamburg, but having said that the neighborhood is very lively at night.

The hotel is worn out, which could have be okay, but not at EUR 150 you would expect a better standard. There is no minibar, or bar in the hotel, only a vending machine in the lobby.

Asking for an iron and ironing board I was asked to pick it up myself at the reception, and when I can down to pick it up I was told that I could only use it AT the reception, meaning I would have to iron my shirt at every guests display or in the coffee room of the staff...I choose to go out an buy myself a new shirt instead!!!

Service personnel seemed friendly and tried to work under the limited conditions, but it was at if management didn't understand that running a hotel is about delivering service to the guest, and not only about maximizing profits.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Serozeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Eleazar Hamburg City Center
Hotel Terminus
#131 of 321 in Hamburg
137 reviews
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Continental Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Georg
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
#51 of 321 in Hamburg
427 reviews
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Hamburg Stadtzentrum
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Kronprinz Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Graf Moltke Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Graf Moltke Hamburg

Address: Steindamm 1, 20099 Hamburg, Germany (Formerly TOP)
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Georg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: $77 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Graf Moltke Hamburg 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novum Hotel Graf Moltke is located in a prime location between the Alster lake and the city center and close to the main train station. The hotel is characterized by a beautiful white exterior and a bright, welcoming entryway. In the immediate vicinity of the hotel you have a variety of venues and bars. To visit the maritime atmosphere of the harbor, the St. Michaelis church (Michel) or the jetties, it is only a few minutes ride by public transport, take off directly at the main station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novum Hotel Graf Moltke Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graf Moltke Top Hotel
Top Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing