We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg
Ranked #33 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 9 February 2012

this hotel is a colossus in it's surroundings, but it gives you a great view of Hamburg. Location isn't smack in the middle, but it's next door to the congress center, which is great if you have business there. From the hotel you can reach the city center with a 20 min walk or 5 min with the S-bahn (subway). The S-bahn also go all the way (change at Hauptbahnhof) to the airport. On a busy day this is much more convenient, compared to taxi.

The rooms are very fresh, recently refurbished and have all the amenities you need. Wifi is also included in the room price. Breakfast buffet is very extensive and will probably have your hunger settled until late afternoon.

Overall a good stay

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plq1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,095)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

767 - 773 of 2,095 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2012

Nice hotel, right next to Dammtor station (S bahn), about 30 mins from the aiport by train. We had a room right on the top floor (27th floor) - absolutely amazing views.

Pros
- Friendly staff
- Modern, clean rooms
- Very comfortable beds
- Great location, a bit out of the 'centre' (i.e the Rathaus) but nice walk through the gardens into the centre. If you wants bars/restaurants on your doorstep I would suggest a hotel in the Old Town instead
- Good food in the Filini restaurant
- BBC 1 and BBC 2 for all the Brits!

Cons
- A bit impersonal - the bar area especially is a bit stark and not very ambient
- small bathrooms. Even in our deluxe room the bathroom was tiny! However, the shower was fantastic.

All in all a good hotel in a lovely city. I would recommend.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the Old Town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Net1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I stayed in this hotel for two nights, had to leave VERY early the second night. Extra early breakfast was available for me, and a very good quality for an 'early bird' breakfast. Regular breakfast was outstanding as well!
Room service gave me off-menu items without any problems for a much lower price than I expected. Staff is friendly, rooms are clean, comfortable and tasteful. View from my room was amazing (23rd floor overlooking the Alster). City center within a few minutes' walk finishes it all.
I stay in Radisson Blu hotels in more places, this one is my favorite.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joozd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I have stayed at the hotel several times since 2004. After the renovation are the rooms nice and welcoming. I prefer staying in a business class rooms, as they include a coffee machine.

This stay was for a weekend stay for sale shopping. The size of the room is fair, the bathroom is ok in size, and there is everything you need, including a very nice shower. The room was spotless clean. The location of the hotel is good, with a shopping and good restaurants in walking distance. The connected Park "Planten und Blumen" is nice place to have a walk for all seasons, and my daughter loves the large playgrounds in the park.

The hotel can look cold by distance, but the employees has always been welcoming and helpful. I like the drinks in lobby bar, they are always very tasteful, but look forward to the "top of town bar" reopens at the top level of the hotel.

I had dinner in restaurant Trades Vic this time. The food was served very quickly and was very tasteful.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnt35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Access to the hotel is not easy - with baggage-unless you walk from Damtor station. In the car park some joker decided which ever way you went you have to negotiate stairs.
The room was small and very noisy, one could hear the elevators and the next room alarm going off.
The shower room was tiny BUT the shower itself was excellent.
On trying to get a table in the restaurant we were told sorry all resaurants are fully booked. I demanded to see the food & beverage manager who very courtesly found a table for AL-a-carte only which fitted our needs.
A very disapointing experience and NOT a cheap hotel.

Room Tip: Not sure how one would get a decent room here unless you fork out for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swampy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Excellent location in the middle of the City but still not in a hectic area. Train station Dammtor just next to it. Very convenient to do city-tour by foot or by public transportation.
Hotel employees are very trained and friendly and do all kind or reservations.
Very good hotel infrastructure.
Only the hotel bar is nothing special and quite overpriced.

Room Tip: room 2309 was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artegam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Very Modern. Centrally located, only 5 min walk to city center. The room was very nice and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and gave good advice on what to do while in Hamburg. Fantastic breakfast buffet. Quite and good climate control. Good WiFi transfer in room.
Restaurants are expensive. Roomservice tried to clean the room early morning!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pawel_WRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#13 of 321 in Hamburg
2,302 reviews
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
#18 of 321 in Hamburg
1,663 reviews
Le Meridien Hamburg
#32 of 321 in Hamburg
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Empire Riverside Hotel
#29 of 321 in Hamburg
1,282 reviews
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#67 of 321 in Hamburg
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg

Address: Marseiller Strasse 2, 20355 Hamburg, Germany (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Hamburg
#13 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#13 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#21 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#28 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: $164 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 556
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city center next to the “Planten un Blomen” park you find the Radisson Blu Hotel. Hamburg's biggest and tallest hotel is now, after renovation, also the newest one. Lake Alster, the shopping district and many cultural attractions are within walking distance. The Radisson Blu Hotel offers 556 rooms in 3 different styles: “Natural”, “Urban” and “New York Mansion”. The hotel’s conference area of 2,122 m² offers a multi-functional area for events up to 1000 people. The direct access to the Congress Center Hamburg, CCH, grants additional flexibility if extra space is required. For exclusive events Hamburg´s highest event location “High End” is the place to be: Situated on the 26th and 27th floor breathtaking view over the city is included! The Health & Spa invites guests to workout and relax and two restaurants & bars promise culinary highlights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Radisson Hamburg
Hamburg Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing