We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,082)
Filter reviews
2,082 results
Traveller rating
1,065
629
267
83
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,065
629
267
83
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice hotel spa area modern style steam room central location rooms are spacious location is great breakfast buffet is nice breakfast coffee machine public transport meatery basement bathrobes messe alster duvet
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 2,082 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2017

Spend your money on another hotel unless you are not visiting the Opera House,around the corner.
Good welcome at the arrival, personal recommended fine rum at the top. Moved in 721: coffee machine broken, reported - took 4 hours to replace it.
Door to bathroom and toilets: broken slide on the floor, dangerous as heavy glass can fall any time. Decided not to claim new room. Went to bed at 22.30 - impossible to sleep, party at your balcony at the sky bar. Reported to reception and got another room 418, moved at midnight.
418 was not clean, dust on the floor, doors broken too and impossible to close the door to the toilet.
Bed articles at both rooms, pillows and blankets, are of a very low quality.
Spa - steam sauna not working both days of stay, people on a line to get some time at one sauna. One shower department closed during another day.
Breakfast is OK but It would be nice if one could change its cutlery after fish to begin with cheese.
Complained about all this at check out to reception personal and offered them to get free parking for 2 days (56€). Got reply from manager Novac or Kovack (do not remember) that it is not possible and got 2!!!€ in discount, she offered some advantages during our next stay but I explained that it will not be any next stay.
Overall impression - not any 5 star hotel at all.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank alexenderm2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2017

The hotel is perfectly situated. It’s only about a 2 minute walk to Jungfernsteig / Innen-Alster. The staff are very helpful. There’s a nice outdoor terrasse at the 8th floor.
Parking is in a Parkhouse around the corner and Euro 25.- / per day. There’s no water boiler / no possibility of making a cup of coffee in the room. The view from 801 is nothing special. The water in the spa is the same temperature as in the pool / the spa should be warmer.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 881pietn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2017 via mobile

I have mixed feelings about my 2 night stay at Side Hotel. I think they are trying to market themselves as a boutique and exclusive hotel, but don’t quite get there. The rooms are heavy on the ‘design’ but not so functional. I didn’t like the bathroom or floorplan and felt the bed
(while not terrible) was not worthy of a five star hotel, nor was my view out the window into a carpark. As a solo traveller, I found the hotel way too quiet for my tastes, but for a couple or group, it would be fine. The best thing about my stay were the breakfasts. An amazing assortment and delicious food at the buffet. However at €28 per person, it doesn’t represent value for money, especially on top of the very expensive room rates. On the positive side, the location is great for walking around the city and there are two train stations close by.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2017

Super delicius breakfast buffet where it also was possible to ordre from menucard. Nice rooms and super service all over. Only minus was the view from the bedroom window to a parking garageder. Bars, shops and restaurants in walkingdistance .
the view from the bedroom window to a parking garage
Super hotel that we will definitely come back to

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ukyndb_963090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2017

Well, this hotel has a very kind staff. They are very accommodating, but the hotel itself is just a little weird. The first room we were given was run down and had some rust. The toilet was an entire shelf from wall to wall. Design wise the hotel is unique, but it goes for much more form than function. I am very grateful they changed our room to a newly renovated one, but I hope they may match the future upgrade of the hotel to the incredible staff. They just need to decide if they are a budget hotel or a high class hotel. The in between is just too confusing and bizarre.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LaciAnnmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews