We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$170
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-05-02
Hotels.com
US$170
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-05-02
FindHotel
US$176
US$161
View deal
SAVE US$15
Booking.comUS$170
PricelineUS$170
ZenHotels.comUS$176
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,157)
Filter reviews
3,157 results
Traveller rating
1,726
931
328
115
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,726
931
328
115
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews luxury room canal view nespresso machine five star hotel very nice hotel breakfast buffet spa concierge city rathaus accor christmas euros germany
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 3,157 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2020

Stayed there for a long weekend in October. Good Covid safety concept. The room is Sofitel standard with a comfortable bed. The marble bathroom adds a nice touch. Good breakfast selection. Check-in in the evening could have been quicker.

Date of stay: October 2020
1  Thank Alpen209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emiel van Dijk, General Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2021

Dear thuynguyen209,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous ones.
Sincerely,
Your Sofitel Team
Hamburg Alter Wall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2020

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sebastian Werner, General Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2020

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 9, 2020

Since many years our preferred hotel in Hamburg. In the heart of Hamburg with nice Restaurants and shops around. Very good service and rooms. Especially with the Fleet view ones.The quality of breakfast very good as well.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Armine05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian Werner, General Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2020

Dear Armine05,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2020

This is not our first time in this hotel. Our room was basically okay, but with too much furniture. The desk blocked access to the small balcony. The breakfast concept, during the current CORONA situation, I would not rate it at a 5 * level. The display of the various dishes was simple and not stimulating. We have stayed in different hotels during this extraordinary time and I think an a la carte service would be better for the overall standard of this SOFITEL Hotel. The hallway to our room had a not very pleasant smell (somehow a combination of air conditioning, humidity and carpet). We know that differently from the SOFITEL in Munich, for example. So it was really just an average stay for us and not exceptional.

Room tip: Be sure to book a room facing the fleet. So you have a really nice view of the water. You can book a romantic package.
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PROTECTHEENVIRONMENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian Werner, General Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2020

Dear PROTECTHEENVIRONMENT,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your experiences during your stay. We are always working on making our guests' experience at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall even better and in order to achieve that we need your feedback.

We don't see this feedback as negative criticism, quite the contrary: we are constantly working on improving our services to ensure that our guests always have an unforgettable stay in Hamburg. Therefore we gratefully accept your suggestions.

We regret that these aspects have negatively affected your stay with us. Due to the hygienic and health safety requirements to contain the Covid 19 pandemic, some services in our house are only available to a limited extent. We always try to offer the best combination of protecting the health of our guests and staff as well as the highest possible quality of service. Sometimes this takes some time to find the optimal solution for all challenges. Thank you for your understanding.

Nevertheless, we would be very happy to see you again in Hamburg soon.
Best regards
Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2020

Originally we had a reservation in April but had to cancel due to travel restrictions. It was a non-refundable booking but Sofitel was nice and pushed it forward to June. Same story and this time they "parked" it in November and then we could call whenever travel was possible. In the end we ended up in Hamburg end of July. Thanks for the good service on our booking. The hotel is really nice and handling the Covid restrictions in a good way. Location couldn't be better. Room was great with beautiful views over the city. So far everything was perfect but the bed was really strange. It was like the top mattress was a duvet stuffed under the sheet. The result was that the doublebed had a small top in the middle which gave you a feeling of rolling out of the bed (exaggerating a little bit but the top was visible looking at the bed!). We realized the problem the first night but since we only had three nights we didn't complain - wanted to keep the room (#7306)! No one asked if we enjoyed the stay a check-out and since there was people waiting in line we didn't mention it. Parking at the hotel was good and at a reasonable price. We would stay here again.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank CopenhagenGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian Werner, General Manager at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2020

Dear CopenhagenGlobe,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback regarding your stay at SOFITEL Hamburg Alter Wall.

Due to the hygienic and health safety requirements to contain the Covid-19 pandemic, some services in our company are only available to a limited extent. We always try to offer the best combination of protecting the health of our guests and staff and the highest possible quality of service. We are pleased to hear that the protective measures we apply meet with the approval of our guests and thus convey a good feeling.

One of our main focus points regarding our room amenities is indeed the bed and bedding set. That is why we regret to hear that the sleeping quality did not meet you expectations. It is possible to adapt our Mybed to the wishes and ideas of our guests. With your next booking we are gladly at your disposal to help you find the perfect sleeping comfort. Please do not hesitate to contact us.

Beside that we are happy that we could meet your expectations and turned your stay with us into an pleasant experience.


We hope we can welcome you very soon in our hotel again.

Best regards
Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews