We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveller rating
82
96
31
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
82
96
31
12
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 225 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2019 via mobile

Hotel selection made on account of relative closeness to Hbf.
It's a standard hotel of its type. Don't let the area bother you, it's of no consequence and as an elderly male I had no problems.
Checkin was a breeze. My room was comfortable and of a reasonable size, as was the bathroom and all the other facilities. I liked the large chandelier in the room!
I didn't breakfast there so can't comment.
The major adverse point is the lack of a lift. People with a mobility issue should not consider this place. Otherwise I was fine with it. 3 stars instead of 4 though.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank TormodMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHouse_Hamburg, Empfangsmitarbeiter at Hotel City House, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2019

Dear TormodMM,

First, we would like to thank you for your booking and your positive rating. We are glad that you felt well during your stay in our house. Our house is characterized by the central location and the charming, cozy interior. We are happy to pass on your words of praise!

We hope you will visit us again in the future.

Best regards
Your team from Hotel City House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2019

Just spent 3 nights in this lovely hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff.
Breakfast had very good choice of hot and cold food.
Very clean and reasonably priced ..short walk to central bus and train station.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Mags C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHouse_Hamburg, Empfang at Hotel City House, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2019

Dear Mags C,

First, we would like to thank you for your booking and your positive rating. We are pleased that you felt comfortable during your stay in our house. Your feedback on the flexibility and friendliness of our staff is very valuable to us. We are always very happy when our guests feel very comfortable with us and enjoy the time at Hotel City House.

Best regards
Your team from Hotel City House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2019

First of all I have to disagree with reviewers who have said this hotel is in a bad/dangerous neighbourhood. The street where City House is located felt perfectly safe to me, and I never felt uncomfortable wandering in the surrounding streets. Personally I don't feel uneasy in a mixed-race area where people are just getting on with their lives and not threatening the visitors. In fact, I felt much less wary here than in the touristy areas the other side of the railway station which are much busier and attract pickpockets.

We chose a standard room for our two night stay. The shower room was small but had an excellent shower, and there was also a dressing room with lots of wardrobe space and room for our large suitcases to be stored out of the way. Our room was on the street side, but we didn't hear a sound at nights.

All staff at City House are friendly and helpful, and the desk is staffed 24 hours a day. I like the old-fashioned décor which give a homely feel, much better than bland chain hotels.

The location is ideal, just a short walk from the railway station. For shopping and eating, Lange Reihe with its interesting shops and wide range of restaurants is just a stroll away.

The only thing I'd ask the hotel to add would be plant milk at breakfast. The world is now full of vegans!

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank IreneSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHouse_Hamburg, Empfang at Hotel City House, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2019

Dear IreneSM,

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your past stay with us and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us. It is nice that you spent two wonderful nights with us. Our house is characterized by the central location and the charming, comfortable furnishings. Also your feedback about the flexibility and friendliness of our staff is very valuable to us.

On your next stay in Hamburg, we would be very happy about your visit.

Best regards
Your team from Hotel City House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 21, 2018 via mobile

Stayed there for 2 nights.
Early check in wasn't feasible since it was fully booked as they said.
The room is small but clean. The furniture is old.
No elevator.
Small bed but comfy.
Very small Front desk open 24/7 and the stuff is helpful.
The lobby is small.
WiFi was good.
Relatively expensive. (Around 100€/night which it doesn't reflects the price).
Luggage room is available.
Close to the city center and public transport.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Rabih-SOUAID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Picker, Manager at Hotel City House, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2018

Dear 214rabihs,
We thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your impressions of our hotel. As we are constantly striving to improve our quality, we are grateful for any constructive criticism.
We would be delighted to welcome you back on another occasion.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2018

No elevator, no help carrying luggage upstairs, incompetent staff that sends you up to your room, only to call you back downstairs because they did not give you the key, poor ventilation in the room that results in unpleasant odors, bad neighborhood: central train station red light district. Staff is totally apathetic, no help at all. Not worth the money I paid, never going back.

Room tip: ground floor to avoid stairs: no elevator, no help carrying luggage up the stairs
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeNikolaou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cityhouse, Leiter Front Office at Hotel City House, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Dear GeorgeNikolaou,

We thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your impressions of our hotel and we regret very much that we could not meet your expectations. As we are constantly striving to improve our quality, we are grateful for any constructive criticism.
We sincerely hope that you will give us another chance to convince you of our quality of service and would be delighted to welcome you back on another occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews