We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, bad equipement”
Review of Hotel Stella Maris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Stella Maris
Ranked #83 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Düsseldorf
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good location, bad equipement”
Reviewed 22 November 2010

The good: the hotel is nicely situated close to the Speicherstadt and the Landungsbrücken. The service is okay. Now the bad: the room can be very small, the walls thin. You can easily here the night activities of your neighbour, like snorring. There is no telephone in the rooms! and the wifi coverage is poor. So, for one night okay, for business trip it s not enough.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    101
    23
    5
    2
See reviews for
28
89
8
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level Contributor
190 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

I stayed here with friends and got a free upgrade to an en-suite room. We where going on a weekend drinking jolly so just booked what we could at the time. The room we got was nice clean and a decent size. large flat screen on the wall and decent bathroom. We didnt make the breakfast as we went to the Fischmarkt and then straight to the airport but it was there if we wanted it. this place is in a great location just near the Landungsbruken pier and a two minute walk from the train/tube station.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veneto
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

I stayed in the Stella Maris hotel for 2 nights, just to see the city. I've got to say Hamburg is VERY expensive; so, I wasn't astonished for the price of the hotel. It is a medium price, but in another city you would probably have more! Anyway: the hotel is very clean, the people at desk were very, very kind, explaining what to see, were to go to eat...I loved the position: not in the very centre of Hamburg, but just on the harbour (WOW), 10 minutes walk from the Rathaus, 10 from Sankt Pauli, in the nice portuguese district, full of restaurants and tapas bar, and very lively, but no dangerous at hall, even when coming back during the night. We had a superior class room because the cheapest ones were booked off: there was a hi fi, a large tv, phon, a walk-in closet. Three large windows. The bathroom was nice, very clean and well-kept. There was a wireless internet connection too. Ah, there is free internet for everyone in the hall (very useful, I used it several times to check timetables, restaurants and so on). Nice common space in the hall. The silence was the thing I appreciated most: I had a room on the street, but the road is very small, and almost no cars passed there. I had a wondreful sleeping. I didn't try breakfast because it is very expensive (9 euros) and you can get it in every lovely bar in the centre, normally for the half of the price! I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viabadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aguascalientes
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2009

I just spent one night in the hotel and it was quite convenient for me to stay at the Stella Maris.

The front desk staff was really nice and polite, the rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. There was no bathroom inside the room, the bathrooms and showers were clean and private.

It is located in a safe area, close to many elegant restaurants and shops and to 2 of the metro stations. They provide you an electronic card to access the rooms area, it has an elevator and a restaurant.

Really convenience for a budget staying.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aguascalentense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2009

Around 40 euro for a double room in a decent hotel in Hamburg - if you can accept that the bathroom's in the corridor. That's what you can get at Hotel Stella Maris in Hamburg. The only bad thing about this hotel is that it's often fully booked a long time in advance - at least if you want the above mentioned cheap rates (the zimmers mit Etagenbad). If you're lucky to get a room there (tjek out hamburg-erleben.de), you'll stay in a nice and clean hotel - in a cosy (but quiet in the night) area with a lot of Portugese and Spanish restaurants and cafees just around the corner. We've stayed at Hotel Stella Maris twice and will surely return next time, we need a hotel in Hamburg.

  • Liked — The cheap rate - 43 euro for a double room
  • Disliked — No dislikes
  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank morregard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights in February with my 10 year old and have absolutely no complaints. We booked a basic room with WC/Shower and were pleasantly suprised that it even had a gigantic balcony. This is the exception however, as we could see outside that only rooms on the first floor have balconies. Beds were comfortable, small TV with cable, bathroom and shower were fine. We never tried breakfast. There was a single internet terminal in the lobby with free access, which almost always had a small queu of people waiting to use it.

The location is really great. It's a 5 minute walk to the "Landungsbruecken" S and U-Bahn stop, which is directly down in the harbor. A great place to take walks and explore. We walked to Minatur Wunderland in the Speicherstadt and it only took us about 20 minutes. Also, the ferryboats over to the musical "Lion King" are almost right across the street. There are several restaurants on the surrounding streets which offer mostly Spanish and Portugeuse cuisine, although we did also see a few Italian restaurants. Had some great tapas right across the street from the hotel.



Nice little hotel. Would recommend it and definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorganOBrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2008

Stayed at the Stella Maris whilst attending a friend's wedding - in an ensuite double (room only).

The rooms are clean if a little basic (great powerful shower though, and lots of hot water). Definitely somewhere to use as a base rather than to spend a great deal of time in. However the location is great - right next to the harbour, a short walk to the underground and tour buses etc. Its only a 5 min underground journey to the main shopping area.

There are a number of bars/cafes near the hotel, most of them with outside seating areas - very nice on a warm summer evening. Having said that, we didn't really notice any great amount of noise (and we were there at the weekend) so it would be a good location if you prefer early nights to late ones!

All in all, slightly expensive for what it is, but the great location makes up for it.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Vel30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
Hanse Clipper Haus
Hanse Clipper Haus
#17 of 318 in Hamburg
385 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 318 in Hamburg
997 reviews
Neustadt
Feuerschiff Ship Hotel
Feuerschiff Ship Hotel
#214 of 318 in Hamburg
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Pauli
Jugendherberge Auf dem Stintfang
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#64 of 318 in Hamburg
1,010 reviews
Lindner Hotel Am Michel
#21 of 318 in Hamburg
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stella Maris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stella Maris

Property: Hotel Stella Maris
Address: Reimarusstr. 12, 20459 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stella Maris 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Stella Maris is located at the port of Hamburg, close to the Landungsbrucken underground and "S-Bahn" train station, in the middle of the lively Portuguese quarter. Here you will find the typical Hamburg charm, with numerous quaint pubs and cosy restaurants: maritime and trendy at the same time. The furnishings of this modern hotel with its 49 bright, friendly rooms are based on a maritime theme. The salon with library and the recreation room with tabletop football provide different options for relaxation. The public areas in the hotel provide free WiFi, and the lobby has two Internet terminals that are free to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Stella Maris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing