We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very modern”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Empire Riverside Hotel
Ranked #24 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very modern”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Nice modern hotel, tastefully decorated. Very good location, easy to move around Hamburg, even by foot (if you're a good walker). Elbe-facing rooms offer a fantastic view through windows reaching to the floor (in November it was very foggy :-( ).
Instead of the breakfast buffet I went to one of the bakeries around the corner. Costs were one fifth compared to the hotel buffet and I got a feel of real Hamburg people, working class and lots of unviersity students.
Clean, well desgined and spacious rooms.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HerthaBSCBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    551
    467
    130
    31
    21
See reviews for
72
458
70
452
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This hotel is in a great location and has some commendable attributes - great decor, attentive staff (particularly those on reception). A couple of quibbles however, no wi-fi or tea coffee making facilities in the room...and intermittent wi-fi in the lobby. One major quibble - the miserable bar staff in the bar on the 20 floor!!! Granted it was a busy Friday night when we visited but these chaps had the customer service skills of Orks with personalities to match. Their adopted mode of communication appeared to be the grunt/growl accompanied by a death stare. Not a pleasant experience - avoid if you don't enjoy buying grudgingly served over priced drinks. All in all, hotel fine, Hamburg great!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbiedk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Just stayed at thie place 4 the 2nd time.....still the same....NO WIFI & when u pay 4 it.....it keeps going down because they dont have latest technology. Small rooms, no irons, no tea,coffee,etc....no sofa,chairs,etc.....Bathroom showerhead does not move & is angeled towards the wall.


SERIOUS SECURITY CONCERNS - any1 can walk n2 this hotel, get on the elevator & go 2 any floor....no key or other security card needed..........taking into account that they promote & market the 20th floor rooftop bar.....this place is always crowded & you have people able to get off at any floor???........This hotel is asking for TROUBLE.........

NO Late Nite Food menu or food items......dispite their is a gourmet restuarant on the property.......Go figure?????

Small Business centre which half of the items dont work.....Charge to receive & send faxes

VERY SNOBBY STAFF from the check in to rooftop bar.......


I completely agree with other reviews......This hotel management team needs 2 decide if they just want a rooftop bar or actually RUN a hotel.........

I certainly wont be re-booking......They had their 2nd chance....U wont get a 3rd on my dime........

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank universeho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

My second time here - my business gets an attractive Corporate rate. However, I would urge reconsideration in returning to this establishment. Firstly, let me say it's a nice hotel overall - beds are comfortable and location is quite central. The rooms are clean and overall, it's not a bad place to stay.

But there are buts. The biggest thing for me is that this place does not know who its main target market is. Is it business people or all focused on their super-cool place-to-be-seen bar? It gets frustrating when you stay here on business. There's no wi-fi; one singular old windows computer in the 'business centre'; no ironing facilities in the room; no facility to make a cup of tea or coffee; and no place to sit and relax - it's the bed or the work chair. There is no concierge or door service - so if you want a taxi in the morning, you'll have to mix it with the people checking in or checking out. The taxi queue is chaotic, not knowing who ordered which taxi. Surely this is a simple thing I should be able to take for granted?

Come the weekends - from Friday, all the limited seating in the lobby is removed to make room for the queue to the skybar. This clientele seem to bring kudos to this hotel but if you're actually staying as a guest, you'll get short shrift at reception.

Other small but significant things then begin to annoy disproportionately like their shower heads that cannot deliver a consistent temperature, oscillating between extremely hot and stone cold no matter what you try to do. I found this was not unique to my room, nor are the knocking pipes.

I would reconsider this place after my last experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

It is a nice hotel and some rooms have a nice view down to Landungsbrücken - but unfortunately the roof-top bar was closed for an event when we have been there. Staff is correct but not too friendly. The rooms are nice and have a good working area but nothing where you just can sit and relax. You have to pay for wifi (I don´t really understand why so many hotels in Germany still charge for that service!). The breakfast buffet is good, but some parts are hidden behind a wall - and one morning I just had breakfast on my own: when I was grabbing some fruit salad my coffee and my muesli had gone and there was only a small "sorry" from the staff. I had the impression that their boss said: get the guests out as soon as possible! If I had the choice I would not check into that hotel a 2nd time!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mudhoney5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, CA
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

When my employer decided I needed to be in Hamburg from the sates with 40 hours notice, I had a few quick choices to make.

First, how will I find a flight that costs over $5k so they can use the end-of quarter budget (ok, that wasn't difficult).
Second, how many pairs of shoes to pack? (5, which turned out to be one too many, as I never wore the heels.)
Third, where to stay? Well, that was tougher, but I settled on "a walk from the office, even if it's freezing out". And lo, the Empire Riverside was found.

A lovely, sleek hotel overlooking the river, my room had a lovely view of the Elbe. There was a deep tub that I never got to use, a tiny vertically slim window that opened just enough to ensure that the blaring of the Queen Mary fog horn rattled me awake and set off car alarms for blocks around. A bar with a still more fantastic view on the top floor clinched it - this hotel was everything I needed within walking distance. The service was lovely but I had few needs. Update the hallways and elevator areas to match the rooms and offer breakfast room service and you're golden.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the elevator with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phreddiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

The hotel room was nice with great views over the harbour and it has two great bars. I would expect a hotel at this price level to have wifi.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMilkMan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#72 of 319 in Hamburg
1,044 reviews
St. Pauli
ARCOTEL Onyx
ARCOTEL Onyx
#18 of 319 in Hamburg
832 reviews
St. Pauli
east Design Hotel Hamburg
east Design Hotel Hamburg
#21 of 319 in Hamburg
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#8 of 319 in Hamburg
1,434 reviews
Le Meridien Hamburg
#27 of 319 in Hamburg
1,452 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#1 of 319 in Hamburg
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Riverside Hotel

Property: Empire Riverside Hotel
Address: Bernhard-Nocht-Strasse 97, 20359 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#20 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#27 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#35 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#41 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Empire Riverside Hotel towers 90 meters above the River Elbe and dominates the skyline of Hamburg harbour. The hotel is located in a unique position high above the St Pauli Landungsbrücken in a triangle between the Hafen City, Elbchaussee and downtown Hamburg. Guests have immediate access to the city center and the port, and can watch ships entering and leaving the harbour from their beds. The Empire Riverside Hotel has 327 rooms starting from the fourth floor up to the twentieth floor. Most of the rooms are offering floor-to-ceiling panorama windows, extra-large beds, air conditioning, flat screen television, wireless internet, minibar and safe. The hotel restaurant waterkant serves international maritime cuisine and guests are welcome to watch chefs preparing the food in the show kitchen. There are two hotel bars: DAVID'S Bar & Lounge looking out onto Davidstrasse and the nightlife passing by, and the Skyline Bar 20up, offering an unrivaled panorama view overlooking the River Elbe and the Port of Hamburg. The RIVERstyle fitness& spa features cardio training machines, sauna, steam bath and Kneipp basin on a total of 200 square meters. The Empire Riverside Hotel is located in St. Pauli with acces to Underground and S-Bahn train in only 5-minutes-walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Empire Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Riverside Hamburg
Hotel Empire Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing