We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad smell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lindner Hotel & Sports Academy
Ranked #109 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Reviewed 15 March 2016

After a few hours I finally figured out that the covering on the couch and chair were giving off a strange chemical smell. I asked to be changed to another room but was told none were available even though I never saw many other guests? I complained again about the smell on check out and was told "sorry about that".
The staff was not the least bit friendly or helpful.
This could be a nice place under different management.

Room Tip: Check elsewhere first
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindnerSportsAcademy, Manager at Lindner Hotel & Sports Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2016

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While we wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We are sorry about the inconvenience you had but we assure, that we are not able to change the room. Our Hotel was definetely fully booked yesterday. We deeply regret the reaction of our reception-employees. Please be sure, that we've already spoken with them. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, we can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of - under the same management. With Kind regards, Stefanie Mack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 12 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2016

The organisers of an international meeting selected this hotel, unfortunately this was a serious mistake. After arrival we were told go to another hotel for one or two nights, due to overbooking!!! From Wednesday till Sunday they were not able provide wifi connection in the conference rooms and in the rooms!!! The only answer we got for days: "We know that there is a problem with internet, and we called the service provider". Constant problems with the microphones, and other conference equipment.
We had the lunch in the hotel during the event, and we got three times turkey (Puten).
The sound-proofing is far from perfect, you can hear and know where your upper neighbour is in his/her the room.
In a so called Sport Hotel there was only a Schwitzenkasten (sweating box) in the basement with a single rowing bench.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank I S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindnerSportsAcademy, General Manager at Lindner Hotel & Sports Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2016

Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.
With very Kind regards,
Stefanie Mack/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2015

as it should be... nice room/good meal/excellent breakfast/very friendly staff. oh and good beer!!!!
It's right next door to the Eintract Frankfurt stadium and only a few minutes walk to the station to go into town.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lizcowlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindnerSportsAcademy, Manager at Lindner Hotel & Sports Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2016

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your great review of our hotel. We hope to welcome you again! With kind regards, Stefanie Mack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2015 via mobile

Nice room on 4th floor. Good service and taxi always a call away. Bit of a walk to station. Bar was fun and food was nice. Bathroom has ghost creaks but facilities maintained well. Would stay here a second time if needed when in FRA again due to the great rate.

Stayed: December 2015
Thank Chicka E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindnerSportsAcademy, Manager at Lindner Hotel & Sports Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2016

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your review. We hope to welcome you again in our hotel. With kind regards, Stefanie Mack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2015

Was in Frankfurt on business, hotel was conveniently locatedo for office. comfortable well appointed room with sports theme. Unfortunately the building was evacuated in the night due to fire alarge which reduced my restful feeling somewhat, staff were fine. Didn't try the breakfast

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebekkavandenBos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindnerSportsAcademy, Manager at Lindner Hotel & Sports Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2015

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to share your Feedback with us. We are very sorry about the inconveniences you had due to the fire alarm during your stay. We hope, that you give us a second chance? With kind regards, Stefanie Mack/Direktorin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2015

Since it was my last night after 3 weeks of traveling in crowded cities and tourist areas, I wanted to have a quiet, comfortable place near the airport and I got it, along with an excellent price. Nestled in a wooded area, except for the occasional plane overhead starting early, this hotel is indeed very quiet. It is a 10-minute walk to the train station so if you want to head back to Frankfurt for some evening fun, the trains run fairly frequently and late. The breakfast is a bit pricey if not included in the room (E20), but it is a nice one, and there isn't really anything else nearby. The restaurant serves lunch and dinner (and drinks) as well. The rooms are fairly large, and the toilet is separated from the room by an actual door. Oddly, no tea/coffee in the room and you have to pay for the WiFi.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindnerSportsAcademy, Director of Sales at Lindner Hotel & Sports Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2015

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope we will see you very soon again.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Best regards
Isabell Ketteler
Junior Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2015

I was pleased by the relaxed location in the woods, close proximity to the Airport, and the great room and overall architecture, but given the claim of being a "Sports Academy" expected at least an on site pool and workout facility. Nothing (well, a little poorly ventilated room in the basement with some big balls and over sized rubber bands for kids and teens does not really) seemingly of what a Sports Academy should offer--really expected to work out but the price value ratio was still very good and while the front desk staff was a bit chilly the restaurant staff was very nice--just don't order a to go lunch in a box-- 6 Euros of value and they charge 32 Euros for it!

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Alexander am Zoo
#54 of 269 in Frankfurt
290 reviews
Sachsenhausen-Süd
Leonardo Royal Hotel Frankfurt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sachsenhausen-Nord
Lindner Hotel & Residence Main Plaza
Innenstadt
Hotel Europa Life
Hotel Europa Life
#39 of 269 in Frankfurt
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindner Hotel & Sports Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindner Hotel & Sports Academy

Address: Otto-Fleck-Schneise 8, 60528 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Sachsenhausen-Süd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range: $114 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lindner Hotel & Sports Academy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sports, luxury, top events! Even if the Lindner Hotel & Sports Academy more than lives up to its name, you are not obligated to partake in any sports courses. On the contrary. Relax in the original, cheerful design and enjoy nature in the Frankfurt city forest. The short distances to the GYMAKADEMIE and the Commerzbank Arena make every concert, football match, party event etc. an easy stroll there and back. An unsusual three-star hotel with creative details that scores with any guest – leisure or business, as well as conference or event organizers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lindner Hotel & Sports Academy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing