We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good small hotel in a convenient location.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Topas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Topas Hotel
Ranked #80 of 268 Hotels in Frankfurt
aberdeen
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good small hotel in a convenient location.”
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Just returned from trip to Frankfurt, which we booked with Expedia, flying direct from Aberdeen and staying at The Topas Hotel. Took train from Frankfurt Airport into city centre (10 minutes - E3.90 each way). Topas Hotel only few minutes walk from Frankfurt Railway Station. Stayed 4 nights B/B. We had decent sized room on 4th floor with twin beds, sofa, fridge, safe,TV. plenty storage space. Bathroom with bath/shower above, sink and toilet. Rooms were being decorated while we were there. Cold buffet breakfast was adequate - juice, cereals, cold meat, cheese, eggs, yoghurt, rolls,jams, tea/coffee. Staff friendly and helpful especially Kemal Okutan on Reception. Hotel within walking distance of many sights including Romerberg (old part of city) where they were preparing Christmas Market due to open on 23 November, several large shopping areas easily accessible, financial area - many skyscrapers - and Main Tower where we took elevator to Viewing Platform on 55th Floor. Lovely walk along River Main. Hope to return to Topas Hotel sometime.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank harcus65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    93
    50
    9
    2
See reviews for
10
60
39
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2011

The hotel is very close to the main railway station which is perfect for an overnight stay between flights etc. The rooms are clean, simple and relatively recently furnished. The bathroom is small and the street is noisy and you need to close the window to sleep which would be challenging during summer given there is no aircon. Today was 26 degress C in Frankfurt and we had to have the window open with a fan for as long as possible (before going to bed) as the room was too warm. The receptionist is helpful and her English is excellent. The one issue that needs to be considered is that the hotel is only a few blocks from a very dodgy red light district that we didn't feel safe walking through during the day! The red light district seems avoidable, by walking around it, but it's worth noting that the general area does not seem all that good (even though the hotel is also close to the financial/business district) and the immediate area around the hotel seems OK.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sayhi2katrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

The hotel is located nicely near the Hbf, only a few hundred meters walk. Area is nice and tidy, which is not the case everywhere in the Hbf surroundings. Street outside the hotel is quiet, so no too much traffic noise from there. Breakfast was ok, and staff were ok, not too friendly but not rude either. They seemed to be rather stressed as the Hotel was full booked during trade fairs.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Hotel Topas is really a great value near Frankfurt main train station. I stayed here for two nights on a huge room at the last floor (accessible only by stairs, one floor above the last one served by the elevator). The breakfast was quite complete. WiFi worked fine and there was cable TV (for those who like it). I just missed the mini-bar they say there is in all rooms in their website. Overall, I definetely recommend it, specially if you intend to use the train for day trips around Frankfurt.

Room Tip: I got room #5. Huge, located at the very top of the building (there is only 1 more room at this floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rodsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We arrived at 9am and the hotel was happy to check us in - greatly appreciated because check-in doesn't start until 2pm and we'd just arrived in Frankfurt after a 24 hour flight.

We stayed in room #31. It was clean and quiet (in our reservation I had asked for a quiet room and the hotel obliged). The view from the window was residential but that was no issue for us.

The area felt a little dubious but we kept our wits about us and were fine.

All in all, I think this hotel is good value (at around €75 per night). It's clean, breakfast was included, as was free wi-fi.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arbitrarydoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We were looking for a clean hotel near the main train station and this did the trick. The neighborhood is not the nicest and it didn't have a warm, fuzzy feeling, but the desk clerk was helpful and the room was clean. Breakfast was OK.

No air conditioning.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rstrauss60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2011

The staff was very helpful and friendly did everything to make us comfortable and the rooms are comfortable with high standard but the best part was the good atmosphere made by the friendly and helpful staff.The location of the hotel was beautiful and we loved the quiet and relaxing.Overall value for money.All of the meals we had were excellent, truly some of the best food we've had anywhere. Stay here we feel pleasant and we will come back next year. Bravo! Excellent!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stallen04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Cristall
Hotel Cristall
#88 of 268 in Frankfurt
117 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Hamburger Hof
Hotel Hamburger Hof
#18 of 268 in Frankfurt
667 reviews
0.0 km away
The Pure
The Pure
#39 of 268 in Frankfurt
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Star Inn Hotel Frankfurt Centrum
0.0 km away
Bristol Hotel Frankfurt
Bristol Hotel Frankfurt
#44 of 268 in Frankfurt
753 reviews
0.2 km away
The Corner Hotel
The Corner Hotel
#55 of 268 in Frankfurt
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topas Hotel

Property: Topas Hotel
Address: Niddastr. 88, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Topas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Topas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topas Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing