We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice low-budget hotel”
Review of Topas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Topas Hotel
Ranked #83 of 270 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2011

If you're about to stay in Frankfurt for only one or two nights (and don't expect too much) this hotel is a good place to stay. It's only a 5 minutes walk from the main railway station. However, make sure you don't walk alone there at night. Rooms seem to differ in quality and grade of renovation so by all means ask for a quiet and (if you wish so) non-smoking room. With red carpets and a small but nicely decorated bathroom, the rooms create a friendly atmosphere - as long as you don't look too close. Don't expect too much for breakfast either - nevertheless this place is a good choice for a short low-budget stay in Frankfurt.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinaAnna4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2011

Just returned from trip to Frankfurt, which we booked with Expedia, flying direct from Aberdeen and staying at The Topas Hotel. Took train from Frankfurt Airport into city centre (10 minutes - E3.90 each way). Topas Hotel only few minutes walk from Frankfurt Railway Station. Stayed 4 nights B/B. We had decent sized room on 4th floor with twin beds, sofa, fridge, safe,TV. plenty storage space. Bathroom with bath/shower above, sink and toilet. Rooms were being decorated while we were there. Cold buffet breakfast was adequate - juice, cereals, cold meat, cheese, eggs, yoghurt, rolls,jams, tea/coffee. Staff friendly and helpful especially Kemal Okutan on Reception. Hotel within walking distance of many sights including Romerberg (old part of city) where they were preparing Christmas Market due to open on 23 November, several large shopping areas easily accessible, financial area - many skyscrapers - and Main Tower where we took elevator to Viewing Platform on 55th Floor. Lovely walk along River Main. Hope to return to Topas Hotel sometime.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank harcus65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

The hotel is very close to the main railway station which is perfect for an overnight stay between flights etc. The rooms are clean, simple and relatively recently furnished. The bathroom is small and the street is noisy and you need to close the window to sleep which would be challenging during summer given there is no aircon. Today was 26 degress C in Frankfurt and we had to have the window open with a fan for as long as possible (before going to bed) as the room was too warm. The receptionist is helpful and her English is excellent. The one issue that needs to be considered is that the hotel is only a few blocks from a very dodgy red light district that we didn't feel safe walking through during the day! The red light district seems avoidable, by walking around it, but it's worth noting that the general area does not seem all that good (even though the hotel is also close to the financial/business district) and the immediate area around the hotel seems OK.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sayhi2katrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

The hotel is located nicely near the Hbf, only a few hundred meters walk. Area is nice and tidy, which is not the case everywhere in the Hbf surroundings. Street outside the hotel is quiet, so no too much traffic noise from there. Breakfast was ok, and staff were ok, not too friendly but not rude either. They seemed to be rather stressed as the Hotel was full booked during trade fairs.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank etl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Hotel Topas is really a great value near Frankfurt main train station. I stayed here for two nights on a huge room at the last floor (accessible only by stairs, one floor above the last one served by the elevator). The breakfast was quite complete. WiFi worked fine and there was cable TV (for those who like it). I just missed the mini-bar they say there is in all rooms in their website. Overall, I definetely recommend it, specially if you intend to use the train for day trips around Frankfurt.

Room Tip: I got room #5. Huge, located at the very top of the building (there is only 1 more room at this floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We arrived at 9am and the hotel was happy to check us in - greatly appreciated because check-in doesn't start until 2pm and we'd just arrived in Frankfurt after a 24 hour flight.

We stayed in room #31. It was clean and quiet (in our reservation I had asked for a quiet room and the hotel obliged). The view from the window was residential but that was no issue for us.

The area felt a little dubious but we kept our wits about us and were fine.

All in all, I think this hotel is good value (at around €75 per night). It's clean, breakfast was included, as was free wi-fi.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arbitrarydoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We were looking for a clean hotel near the main train station and this did the trick. The neighborhood is not the nicest and it didn't have a warm, fuzzy feeling, but the desk clerk was helpful and the room was clean. Breakfast was OK.

No air conditioning.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rstrauss60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
The Frankfurt Hotel
The Frankfurt Hotel
#51 of 270 in Frankfurt
133 reviews
Hotel Cristall
#69 of 270 in Frankfurt
132 reviews
The Corner Hotel
#50 of 270 in Frankfurt
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bristol Hotel Frankfurt
#56 of 270 in Frankfurt
798 reviews
Hotel Excelsior
#68 of 270 in Frankfurt
1,552 reviews
Bahnhofsviertel
Memphis Hotel
Memphis Hotel
#137 of 270 in Frankfurt
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topas Hotel

Address: Niddastr. 88, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range: $78 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Topas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Topas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topas Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing