We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for plane spotting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
IntercityHotel Frankfurt Airport
Ranked #106 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Reviewed 24 October 2010

I liked the hotel very much. The breakfast was very good but it was very expensive (16 Euro) unless it was included in the room price. We came there for plane spotting at Frankfurt Airport. The location was the most important for us. We needed to get up early, get to the spotting location quickly and be able to return to the hotel on foot during the day, when we needed to. This hotel is by far the best for it. But not only for it. It's very good for passengers also because it's very close to the airport. Hotel bus runs every 30 minutes to the terminals. If you miss it you can walk to Terminal 2 - it's about a 30 minutes walk. From there you can take a train to Terminal 1.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcin737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (909)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

437 - 443 of 909 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2010

My flight got cancelled and the airline gave me a voucher for an overnight stay at the Intercity Hotel. I picked up a hotel shuttle from the terminal and arrived in the hotel after 10 minutes or so. The bus was packed – must have been 40 people or so, all of them from the variety of cancelled flights. With that number of people the check-in process was surprisingly swift. The hotel restaurant offered a buffet dinner – definitely not a gourmet experience but quite acceptable in the circumstances.

The room was fairly large and clean, with all the necessary amenities. I had to get up at 5 a.m. in order to catch my flight. The breakfast was not served yet but the hotel offers coffee and croissants for early risers like me.

The hotel seems to be the prime choice for airlines to accommodate stranded passengers. Subsequently, the hotel atmosphere of the hotel is busy, a bit hectic, with people continuously coming and going, some of them confused or distressed. The atmosphere resembles a bit an intercity bus terminal (hence the name?).

Altogether, it was not a bad experience. The hotel did the job in the circumstances but I am sure I would not like to return there voluntarily.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrincePolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

After 38 passengers were bumped from a flight to the U.S. due to Lufthansa's poor management and no new flight was offered for a full day, we were sent to the Intercity Hotel. The hotel staff were subjected to three dozen very grumpy clients, but they were helpful and friendly. They provided information on a good jogging route. The hotel is also a short walk to an outdoor site with two planes from the Berlin airlift, but nothing else. The rooms were clean and of a reasonable size. A dinner buffet was also included and it offered plenty of decent (but definitely not gourmet) food. It is close to the airport (my location rating is based on proximity to the airport but it is not close to other activities), but we did not hear the planes in our room. Although they offer WiFi service and two computers in the lobby, it is expensive at about 5 Euros for an hour or 15 Euros per day. P.S. The hotel rents the land on which it sits from Lufthansa.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newengland50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

The Intercity hotel is very close to Frankfurt airport, and offering a convenient airport shuttle service (5 euro). For a 4 star hotel, this hotel is pretty basic and overpriced.
Accommodation is basic, nothing special.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fitchy_gent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

The hotel is situated directly next to Frankfurt international airport, my room was very basic. An uncomfortable bed with very basic bedding meant I had a couple of poor nights sleep. The hotel is also very noisy with many loud banging doors.

The room was vastly over-priced at almost £100 per night and to not even have a kettle in the room for tea/coffee making facilities seemed bizarre.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingSaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

We were setup at the hotel by Lufthansa after an overbooking and were so disappointed with the hotel. On our way to the room, my boyfriend and I joked that it looked similar to a college dorm. When we got to the room, along with the poor lighting we noticed how dirty the hotel room looked. Both kind of shocked since typically German hotels are known for their cleanliness, we noticed that stains all over our comforter and also hair on our sheets. The bathroom hadn't looked like it had been cleaned from the last 2 or 3 guest. Overall, we were hugely grossed out by the place and probably will not ever consider the hotel chain in any future visits to Europe.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luliu08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

For a night this place is fine, they had an easy to find bus pick you up every 30 min. It was on time both in and out. The hotel clean and modern, a little bit of a ride from the airport with a bit of Autobahn driving. Although you can hear the planes landing from the Hotel, must be other side of the port?? I would stay here again, service was nice as well, quick to check in and help, certainly they spoke great English.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adriatic_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankfurt
2.6 km away
MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport
2.7 km away
Hilton Frankfurt Airport Hotel
3.9 km away
NH Frankfurt Airport
NH Frankfurt Airport
#1 of 9 in Kelsterbach
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Frankfurt Airport
2.6 km away
Holiday Inn Frankfurt Airport
Holiday Inn Frankfurt Airport
#43 of 269 in Frankfurt
209 reviews
2.5 km away
MOXY Frankfurt Airport
MOXY Frankfurt Airport
#58 of 269 in Frankfurt
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IntercityHotel Frankfurt Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IntercityHotel Frankfurt Airport

Address: Am Luftbrueckendenkmal 1, 60549 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range: $91 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — IntercityHotel Frankfurt Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start your holiday or business travel comfortably from Europe's second largest airport, or have a meeting in a relaxing atmosphere. The modern design and impressive facilities of the InterCityHotel Frankfurt Airport offer the perfect conditions. Ask at the front desk for the "FreeCityTicket" and enjoy local public transport for free throughout your stay, making it easy for you to explore Frankfurt at no extra travel costs. Efficient and successful meetings - the IntercityHotel Frankfurt Airport with 14 meeting rooms and two auditoriums with a capacity of up to 180 people offers the best solution for every meeting, conference or event. Natural daylight and air-conditioning go without saying, as well as high tech conference and communication equipment. Our attentive and individual service makes a substantial contribution to an atmosphere which will make your participants feel comfortable. For all IntercityHotels concerned the usage of the WLAN is free of charge up to 256 KB/s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your IntercityHotel Frankfurt Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercityhotel Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing