We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise
862

Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Niederwald Monument (Niederwalddenkmal)
Reviews (1,381)
Filter reviews
1,381 results
Traveller rating
735
545
92
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
735
545
92
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river the cable car ride kaiser wilhelm historical significance beautiful view glass of wine monument germany rhine town rudesheim imposing forest century
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 1,381 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2019

Spectacular views from the monument. We did the trip on a cable car then walked through the Niederwald woods, took chairlift down to Assmannhausen and got boat back to Rudesheim. Well worth 15 euros each. Great day out.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 5, 2019

Rudesheim, located between Koblenz and Lorelei's Rock, is a pint-sized village that lays claim to a rich historical and cultural heritage. A mini, vintage 'Choo-choo' train runs through it, in an effort to provide free transportation to centre town for visitors. One of the spotlight attractions here is the cable car, which was a great way to start my trek of Rudesheim as it provides a relaxing overview of the region. It provides tourists a conduit to the multiplicity of attractions, castles, monuments, vineyards, wine tasting and as well, its base station spouts right out into the shopping/pedestrianized area of Oberstrasse.

Although the cable car has varied utility, the primary use is to reach the Niederwald Monument and Temple located in a landscaped park, of the same name, overlooking the scenic Rhine Valley. The cable ride provided me with awe-inspiring views over Old Town Rudesheim, of the meandering waters of the Rhine dotted with green mini isles and top-views as well as panoramic views of the vineyards. It was smooth sailing and picturesque all the way.

At the summit, I mulled around the Niederwald Monument which is comprised of a group of bronze statues. On the top of this imposing structure stands the stern maid, Germania, who generally speaking, is said to watch over the Rhine to warn off any potential invaders.

Germania is crowned with an oak wreathing and she is positioned in front of a throne decorated with eagles. In one hand she holds a passive sword (truce) and the other a crown raised above her head. Below her are 2 sculptures, one signifying peace, the other war. Overall the Monument identifies with the unification of Germany; Hitler (1933) however, used this site as a kick off for a propaganda rally. Presently the Monument is used for architectural appreciation and relishing views. An adjunct to the Monument is the Temple which provided a meeting abode for famous personalities the likes of Beethoven and others. From the Monument and Temple posItion, the views over the vineyards and the Rhine are inspiring.

I decided to exit the Monument by the Temple and trot down a 2K vineyard path to the base of the Cable Car. I took a road less travelled and it proved to be meandering and maze-like. I brought a flask of wine with me to drink in the vineyard....and I did (just a whim of mine). The foliage was just on the verge of turning yellow so the colour mismatch was quite dramatic. One hour later, I exited on to Oberstrasse.

Here I ran smack dab into Kathe Wohlfahrt's Christmas Store. Dubbed 'Queen of Christmas' her stores are piled with all manner of beautiful Xmas ornaments. Her trees are called 'Treeless Xmas Trees' as they so loaded with decorations that you cannot see any branches. Her xmas tree displays dwarf the ones exhibited in Macy's at Xmas, and besides, it's xmas all year round at Kathe's.

So, if you would like to visit a story-book burg with a multiplicity of unique and differentiating attractions all embraced by panoramic countryside views..........try...
Niederwald.....Perfect Postcard Picture Place.

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank Room-in-my-suitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 28, 2019

We took the lift up the mountain to see this place. Beautiful weather brought the people out in droves. Walked down from here thru the vineyards.

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank NormG732
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 27, 2019 via mobile

Great monument and a great ride up in the cable car with great view over the Rhine, cafe at the top for lunch

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank DingDongBells
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 21, 2019

If it weren't for our guide I wouldn't have rated this as excellent. The monument itself is beautiful and having it explained by him made it all the more beautiful. The view of the city and Rhine from here is gorgeous.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews