We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise
865

Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Niederwald Monument (Niederwalddenkmal)
Reviews (1,381)
Filter reviews
1,381 results
Traveller rating
735
545
92
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
735
545
92
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river the cable car ride kaiser wilhelm historical significance beautiful view glass of wine monument germany rhine town rudesheim imposing forest century
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 1,381 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2019 via mobile

Combine with the gondola, this is a great activity. Beautiful views. Nice to walk around and there is a small cafe at the top.

Date of experience: November 2019
2  Thank Woman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 19, 2019

Such a beautiful monument. On the top is the Germania which is a female figure symbolizing the unification of alll german tribes.

Date of experience: October 2019
3  Thank SANDRA503790
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 8, 2019

Nothing says “We Won” like a whopping great monument on top of a hill. It can be seen for miles up and down the river so it was a constant reminder of German strength and victory.
Impressive as the monument is, the views from here are absolutely outstanding. Immediately below the monument is a walking path and a large viewing platform that looks out across the Rhine. You couldn't hope for more spectacular views.
The monument itself celebrates the defeat of France in the Franco-Prussian War and the unification of Germany. The great significance of the victory over the French was that the previously separate German states were able to be unified into one country in 1871.
The female figure is Germania representing the whole of Germany. As you’d expect, she is quite a fearsome, military figure. She stands high up on her pedestal holding the Holy Roman crown aloft in her right hand and the Imperial Sword in her left hand. The eagle with the giant talons directly below her represents Prussia.
The two angels flanking Germania appealed to me, particularly the one on the left whose cheeks are near bursting point as he blows his trumpet.
Beneath her, the relief shows a scene of Kaiser Wilhelm I. He is the one on horseback with the massive lamb-chop sideburns. The others are mainly military leaders, soldiers and members of the nobility.
The words on the monument are the lyrics to the “Wacht am Rhein” (Guard on the Rhine) which was a popular and patriotic song from the mid-19th century.
I particularly liked the colouring of the monument. The bronze figures have turned a beautiful green in the weather so it is quite a dramatic piece against a blue sky.

GETTING THERE: Cable car is quickest and easiest way up (although the line can be long). Once you get to the top, the monument is not immediately visible but it is only about 2 minutes away. Just follow the path and the people.
The best thing we did was to get the cable car up then walk back down. The views from the cable car are magnificent and it takes you right over the top of the rows and rows of grape vine. We walked back to town later through these same vineyards.
We allowed an hour for the cable car ride up, the Niederwald Monument, a walk along the flat looped path at the top and walking back down through vineyards.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank Mairwen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 6, 2019 via mobile

If you have the time, I would definitely put this on the must-see list. Getting there was more than half of the fun. We drove to the town, took a car ferry, walked, rode the gondolas, and then walked some more. The views of the town and the Rhine River are just outstanding! The site itself is clean, not crowded and very informative.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank rasrec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 3, 2019 via mobile

If you are in Rüdesheim, this is a not miss. High atop a hill, it is best accessed by cable car. The views from the top of the Rhine Valley are spectacular.

Date of experience: October 2019
2  Thank EatOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews