We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise
873

Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Niederwald Monument (Niederwalddenkmal)
Reviews (1,381)
Filter reviews
1,381 results
Traveller rating
735
545
92
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
735
545
92
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river the cable car ride kaiser wilhelm historical significance beautiful view glass of wine monument germany rhine town rudesheim imposing forest century
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,381 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2023 via mobile

Great monument celebrating the unification of Germany by Prussians in the 1870s following the Franco-Prussian War. Recommend the walk up through the vineyards and the tram down after. Great vantage point of Rhine valley.

Date of experience: October 2023
Thank ScotAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 19, 2023

There is a nice ride up to the hill the monument is on. Most go from Ruedesheim on the Seilbahn, but you can also go from Assmannhausen on the sessellift. It's a nice statue, but it's for Germans. Nothing important for Americams. Nice view and there are nice descriptive panels about it also in English.

Date of experience: September 2023
Thank bigtyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 30, 2023

Set in its own parklands,this monument has historical significance to German people as it signifies the reunification of Germany,the first stone laid by Kaiser Wilhelm I in the late 19th century.
It's over 150 feet high and can be seen for many miles. Looks in good condition for its age and is very ornate.
The views you get from the terracing around the monument,over the River Rhine make the trek to this giant well worth the effort!

Date of experience: May 2023
Thank IAN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 4, 2022

Whilst I do undertand the historical significance of this monument and the great views from it I did not find it very special.

This monument was established in the wake of the German defeat of France in the Franco-PrussianWar in 1871.

The monument is high and imposing i and located on a pedestal and visible from some distance the statue is raising the Holy Roman crown in her right hand, and holding the Imperial Sword in her left.

Of greater enjoyment was the cable car ride from the town.

Date of experience: September 2022
Thank tommomelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 3, 2022 via mobile

A beautiful monument, a stunning view, and picturesque scenery. You could spend an afternoon exploring the trails in the forest at the top. It was very hot when we visited so we rode the tram to the top which was fun and convenient. It would be a beautiful hike through the vineyards as well.

Date of experience: June 2022
1  Thank Malissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews